Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2010, 08:25 AM   #1
Diamond Member
DougK62's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,940
Default Safe to give out passport number?

I'm going on vacation later this month and staying in some hostels. I've had a few of the hostels ask for my passport number when I attempt to make reservations with them. If it was just one place I'd move on to the next, but with several places asking it seems that this is a common practice. Should I be worried about giving out my passport number? Anyone have experience with this?
DougK62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:28 AM   #2
NikolaeVarius's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,815

No. I've given passport numbers a ton of times while staying in hostels and hotels. I've never had a problem with it.
Boom, phrasing.
NikolaeVarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:37 AM   #3
Diamond Member
zerogear's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,507

It's pretty normal, especially if you're in Europe. I don't believe in US they ask for them.
My Heatware
zerogear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:38 AM   #4
ViviTheMage's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 35,500

It's normal
Mad Genius Hosting -Web hosting, Cloud VPS, and Dedicated solutions...
30% off ALL services : AT30-vivi

vivi's blog

ViviTheMage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:45 AM   #5
No Lifer
JulesMaximus's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 69,721

They're going to make a copy of it or scan it anyway when you get there. No big deal.
JulesMaximus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:56 AM   #6
Diamond Member
RavenSEAL's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mejico
Posts: 8,671

I think it's mostly meant to help your own country track you incase something happens.
AMD X6 1090T @ 3.8GHz Cooled by CM Hyper212+ P/P | Sapphire AMD HD6870 Vapor-X Crossfire @ 930/1150 | Gigabyte 990XA-UD3 | 8GBs Patriot G2 DDR3-1600Mhz | Corsair FORCE 3 90GB SSD | 1TB WD RAID0 | Antec HCG-750 | CM HAF 932

Lonely HeatWare

RavenSEAL is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.