Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2010, 08:04 PM   #1
BigLar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina, Y'all
Posts: 646
Question D-Link DNS-321 with RAID 1 Rebuild

I was running a NAS using a D-Link DNS-321 with 2X Hitachi 2TB hard drives in a RAID 1 configuration when the NAS died. I returned the DNS-321 to D-Link and they have sent me a new one.

Now the questions is, "How do I go about configuring the new one without putting the data on the drives in jeopardy?" I called D-Link technical support but the tech could not seem to grasp what I was asking him.

Do I:

1. Try to configure the DNS-321 as a RAID 1 without the drives in the box, finish the set up, and as a final step put the two drives in? (Not too sure this would work...)

2. Put both drives in and run the D-Link utility to reconfigure the NAS. (Gasp, what about my data? I wasn't running a RAID 1 for nothing!)

3. Something else???


Any help with this one would be much appreciated.
__________________
When you can measure what you are speaking about, and express it in numbers, you know something about it; but when you cannot measure it, when you cannot express it in numbers, your knowledge is of a meagre and unsatisfactory kind. - Lord Kelvin

Isaiah 16:11
BigLar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 04:37 AM   #2
yhelothar
Lifer
 
yhelothar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,026
Default

You mean that when you reset up the RAID, it makes you format?
I hate it when that happens. I'm not sure of an easy way out, but you should be able to read any one of your drives just by plugging it into any computer, and make a clone image onto a third drive and get it set up again with a succession of clones. I recommend easus todo backup.
__________________
My Heatware
yhelothar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dns-321, nas, raid

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.