Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2010, 12:10 PM   #1
TmBlackFlag
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 308
Default Annoyances minimizing Team Fortress 2

Whenever I'm in TF2 and i minimize out there is about a 10% chance i can get back in without the goddamn game crashing. And that is only if i wait literally like 5 minutes. Does anyone else experience this? It's nice to be able to tab out of a game, or if I have AIM running and a message pulls me out I can get back in.

Yes I could use my away message so I don't get pulled out but I have no issues minimizing out of other games, even L4D2 which also uses steam.
TmBlackFlag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 02:46 PM   #2
coldmeat
Diamond Member
 
coldmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ON, CA
Posts: 9,178
Default

I haven't had the game crash but sometimes when I go back in to the game, some of the textures will be a purple/black checkerboard, but alt-tabbing out and back in fixes it.
__________________

coldmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 02:54 PM   #3
TmBlackFlag
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 308
Default

Yeah i can't even get back into the game after an alt+tab
TmBlackFlag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 03:44 PM   #4
YoungGun21
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 2,547
Default

Same problem here with any Source game I play. I think it is the engine.
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by: jimmyjam
Lie. You're an athiest, it's not like you're going to hell.
YoungGun21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 04:27 PM   #5
pcslookout
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TmBlackFlag View Post
Whenever I'm in TF2 and i minimize out there is about a 10% chance i can get back in without the goddamn game crashing. And that is only if i wait literally like 5 minutes. Does anyone else experience this? It's nice to be able to tab out of a game, or if I have AIM running and a message pulls me out I can get back in.

Yes I could use my away message so I don't get pulled out but I have no issues minimizing out of other games, even L4D2 which also uses steam.
Try running TF2 in windowed mode then exit out of it and add -noborder to the launch options. Should fix your problem.
pcslookout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 04:30 PM   #6
pcslookout
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,469
Default

If you can't get TF2 in the game to be playable in a window instead of just full screen, not sure, then use this in launch options.

-window -noborder
pcslookout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 06:58 PM   #7
pcslookout
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,469
Default

Glad to see it worked for you!
pcslookout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 11:16 PM   #8
TmBlackFlag
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 308
Default

it works but then i'm at the mercy of my desktop brightness which is too dark. It then becomes an inconvenience to raise/lower my brightness whenever I TF2.
TmBlackFlag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 10:57 AM   #9
SpatiallyAware
Lifer
 
SpatiallyAware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12,917
Default

TF2 and other source games don't do well at all with alt-tab.

I've had TF2 textures get screwed up and have to do the steam file check crap to get it working again..
SpatiallyAware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 11:33 AM   #10
Mutilator
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: NC
Posts: 3,393
Default

Use alt-esc instead of alt-tab. Once I found that out it's all I use in every game now... much more likely to get back into the game that way.
Mutilator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 12:11 PM   #11
videogames101
Diamond Member
 
videogames101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 52375
Posts: 6,146
Default

-window -noborder
__________________
3570K
HD7870 (Tahiti LE)
videogames101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 05:40 PM   #12
Malak
Lifer
 
Malak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14,624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmeat View Post
I haven't had the game crash but sometimes when I go back in to the game, some of the textures will be a purple/black checkerboard, but alt-tabbing out and back in fixes it.
The purple/black is actually a lack of textures.

And why not just turn your AIM off if you are playing a game? If you can't focus on the game, why bother running it at all? I've never understood this. I can multitask a lot of things, but when I run a game everything else goes. If I can't focus on the game, I turn it off.
__________________
"I can see the end because I've been where you've begun"
"Sort of like two-face, my fight is with me man. One side is Skeletor, the other side is He-man."
"Few people like to hear about your faith. Most feel threatened that you are trying to convert them even if you aren't. Although they will work hard to convert you just the same." -Moshquerade
Malak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 07:30 PM   #13
0roo0roo
No Lifer
 
0roo0roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 64,104
Default

long term annoyance here as well, it behaves extremely poorly. cs source, left4dead2 minimize and restore back without too much of an issue. tf2 takes forever..then if you wait too long it seems unable to handle and loses server connection or simply doesn't restore at all. they shoulda fixed this kinda stuff before adding ever more bloat to the game.
__________________
__________________
0roo0roo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 07:34 PM   #14
Molondo
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,529
Default

going to menu, then shift+tab helps when alt tabbing, at least in my case.
__________________
/Signed
Molondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 04:53 AM   #15
Rezident
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 252
Default

Never had that exact problem but when I do minimise out it always takes a while - like nearly ten full seconds - to get back into the game. Seems a bit slow alright but always goes back in alright here.
__________________
Minion, what have you DONE?! These were human beings with lives and families and... Iím totally kidding, SCREW those guys!
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
i7-2600K ~ P8Z68-V ~ 290X Windforce 4GB ~ 8GB HyperX
160GB X25-M ~ Crucial 128Gb M4 ~ Win7 64-bit
OCZ 850W ~ Antec P182 ~ @1920 x 1200
Rezident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 11:17 PM   #16
Boobs McGee
Senior Member
 
Boobs McGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 404
Default

Its been said a few times, but full details:

In your Steam Library
Right Click Team Fortress 2 and select "Properties"
In the General tab click the button labeled "Launch Options..."
In the popup box type in the following (substitute your own resolution)
-windowed -noborder -novid -w 1920 -h 1200
The -windowed option makes the game run in a window rather than full screen.
The -noborder option removes the border.
The -novid is for the startup vids.
The -w and -h are your screen size the keep everything at the correct resolution and make it look full screen.

I have not had a single problem with alt+tab since I set these options.
Boobs McGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.