Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Mobile Devices & Gadgets

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2010, 06:39 AM   #1
MacFatty
Member
 
MacFatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Heart Of It All
Posts: 72
Default How to remove Skype Mobile & City ID on Android (HTC Incredible) Operating System

My phone updated this morning and now I have Skype Mobile. I'd be fine with this except it is always running. I use Adanced Task Killer and see Skype Mobile everytime I use ATK to shut off apps. The battery life isn't great to begin with and I don't need anything else running all the time as I have apps that run all the time already. Does anyone know how to remove or shut off Skype Mobile?

Also, City ID is a pay app (I refuse to pay for apps) that came on the phone and is always running but does nothing since I didn't pay for the app. Is there some way to remove or shut off this app?

Last edited by MacFatty; 09-02-2010 at 01:01 PM. Reason: Gave wrong task killer name.
MacFatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 07:45 AM   #2
rudeguy
Lifer
 
rudeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: GR, MI
Posts: 42,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFatty View Post
My phone updated this morning and now I have Skype Mobile. I'd be fine with this except it is always running. I use Adanced App Killer and see Skype Mobile everytime I use AAK to shut off apps. The battery life isn't great to begin with and I don't need anything else running all the time as I have apps that run all the time already. Does anyone know how to remove or shut off Skype Mobile?

Also, City ID is a pay app (I refuse to pay for apps) that came on the phone and is always running but does nothing since I didn't pay for the app. Is there some way to remove or shut off this app?
root that beast

otherwise, no. Add it to your ignore list and it will be all better
__________________
The above post is not intended for public display.
rudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 08:01 AM   #3
bucwylde23
Diamond Member
 
bucwylde23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cupertino
Posts: 4,180
Default

Have you already upgraded to 2.2? If so, you'll have to wait until they get root working on 2.2.

I think there is a way to root and then upgrade to 2.2 without losing root. I haven't done it though, but I've seen the instructions.
__________________
XBL/PSN: bucwylde23
bucwylde23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 08:56 AM   #4
MacFatty
Member
 
MacFatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Heart Of It All
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudeguy View Post
otherwise, no. Add it to your ignore list and it will be all better
Now I get to show my stupidity, ignore list?
MacFatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 10:52 AM   #5
rudeguy
Lifer
 
rudeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: GR, MI
Posts: 42,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFatty View Post
Now I get to show my stupidity, ignore list?
most task killers have an ignore list.

But IMHO, Froyo does this on its own. Every task manager I have tried has actually bogged my phone down.
__________________
The above post is not intended for public display.
rudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 01:04 PM   #6
MacFatty
Member
 
MacFatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Heart Of It All
Posts: 72
Default

So I'm basically f'ed, unless I want to root my phone. I'm still under factory warranty and as my good friend DisgruntledVirus told me when he rooted his, that I will void my warranty by doing so. Guess I'll deal with the crap until I run out of warranty. Who knows what will happen in the next nine months. As far as ATK bogging down my phone, not that I've noticed. Phone runs fast and smoothly. Battery life is the only downside. Thanks for all of your help.
MacFatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 01:37 PM   #7
vshah
Lifer
 
vshah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,737
Default

several ppl on xda forums have had no trouble getting HTC to honor hardware warranties even though the phone was rooted. This was with the nexus one though...not sure about the incredible
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 || Asus P6T Deluxe V2 || Noctua NH-U12P|| 12GB DDR3-1600
GTX 670 || Intel x-25m 80gb || 1TB Caviar Black || Antec 902 ||Antec 550w
HEAT
XBL: the4ner85
vshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 01:50 PM   #8
MacFatty
Member
 
MacFatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Heart Of It All
Posts: 72
Default

It has been suggested to me use Autostarts and just prevent the programs from ever actually running in the first place.
MacFatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 03:23 PM   #9
rudeguy
Lifer
 
rudeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: GR, MI
Posts: 42,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vshah View Post
several ppl on xda forums have had no trouble getting HTC to honor hardware warranties even though the phone was rooted. This was with the nexus one though...not sure about the incredible
I swapped my rooted mytouch under warranty. I swapped my vibrant that I borked trying to root it.

They have never asked, so I have never told them.
__________________
The above post is not intended for public display.
rudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 03:33 PM   #10
Binky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 3,632
Default

These apps arent really "running," they're just loaded into (unused) memory. I was annoyed that they were always there too, but there is no harm. There's actually more harm in an active app (taskkiller) using battery and cpu power to kill them, repeatedly. They just come back anyway -again, and again, and...

Leave them alone and root the phone if you're really annoyed with them.
Binky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
"city id", "skype mobile", android, apps, remove

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.