Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2010, 12:16 PM   #1
Maverick2002
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 4,678
Question Skype - getting it to ring to speakers with headphones plugged in?

I haven't been able to find an answer to this on Google, but is there a way to get Skype to ring to external speakers while you have a headset plugged in? I read about having a switchbox, but that relies on you remembering to switch it every time you take your headphones off.
Maverick2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 02:54 PM   #2
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,975
Default

I believe in the options that you can set different sound devices for ring and voice. I'll check when I get home from work to be sure.

EDIT:

Under audio settings in the ring drop down, there is a "ring on all devices" setting. You should be able to set that. Of course, if your speakers mute when you've got the headset problem, this isn't going to fix it. That's not a Skype problem though.

If you have reassiable jacks (most everything does these days), the just set both the jack that your speakers are plugged into and the jack that your headset audio is plugged into to Line out. That way they will both play all of the time.

Last edited by mfenn; 08-31-2010 at 04:28 PM.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 03:19 PM   #3
BlahBlahYouToo
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12,057
Default

creative sound blaster card with an external drive bay.
__________________
3429
BlahBlahYouToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.