Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2010, 02:28 PM   #1
SaoFeng
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 516
Default Wireless Router recommedations for my home

i just got a new home, about 3000 sq ft, 2 stories.

i will be running 2 xbox's, ps3, wii, and several laptops off the router.

i do lots of gaming and bit torrent.....

my wife does a lot of netflix streaming...

so...what do you guys recommend?

i was reading the forums and it seems people recommend the:
BUFFALO WZR-HP-G300NH

thanks in advance!
SaoFeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 02:55 PM   #2
Jhatfie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaoFeng View Post
i just got a new home, about 3000 sq ft, 2 stories.

i will be running 2 xbox's, ps3, wii, and several laptops off the router.

i do lots of gaming and bit torrent.....

my wife does a lot of netflix streaming...

so...what do you guys recommend?

i was reading the forums and it seems people recommend the:
BUFFALO WZR-HP-G300NH

thanks in advance!
My home setup:
Wireless: Wii, Xbox 360, PS3, HTPC, Son's computer (E8400), Toshiba Satellite laptop
Gigabit: Windows Home Server, My Gaming computer

I had the BUFFALO WZR-HP-G300NH and I had lots of issues with it, range being one of them, among several other things. I sold it and purchased the Netgear WNDR3700 which I like a lot more. Far better range and great signal in every room of my 2500 sq/ft, 3 story home. With the Buffalo I would barely get any signal in my son's bedroom on the third floor, now with the Netgear he can stream HD video with no issues. Often my son will be gaming/streaming, daughter streaming HD video and wife surfing/downloading and almost never have any issues.

I also tried the D-Link DIR-825, which I liked okay feature wise, but like the Buffalo it had poor signal to portions of my house, so based on the size of your home I'd be skeptical of it.
__________________
System 1: i7-5820k (4.4Ghz), Cooler Master Glacer 240L, ASRock X99X Killer Fatal1ty, 16GB Gskill Ripjaw 4, 2x MSI GTX 970 Gaming (SLI), 256GB Adata SX900, 1TB Samsung F3 w/Crucial M4 64GB (cache), Lepa G900-MA, Corsair AIR 540, HP ZR30w + ZR24w
HTPC: i5-2500k (4.5Ghz), CM GeminII M4, EVGA Z68 SLIMicro, 8GB Gskill Ripjaw, Sapphire HD 7850 (1200/1425), Kingston HyperX 240GB, 1TB Samsung F3, Ceton InfiniTV 4, Rosewill CAPSTONE 550-M, Denon AVR-1910, Silverstone GD04B, Panasonic 55" ST30

Last edited by Jhatfie; 08-08-2010 at 03:02 PM.
Jhatfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 08:23 PM   #3
boomhower
Diamond Member
 
boomhower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6,658
Default

I would suggest a dual band router. Use MS N adapters for the 360's and a 5Ghz bridge for the PS3 to handle the streaming. Then use the 2.4Ghz for the rest of the equipment. This is the set-up I use and love it. Even if you aren't streaming off a server 5Ghz really benefits you just by getting out of the crowded 2.4Ghz band. I use a server to stream off of so I benefit a bit more but I really do think the added bandwidth and less crowded band are worth it.
__________________
heat
boomhower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 09:26 PM   #4
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,555
Default

There is no one unit that will sustain all of you activities, you will have to use as much as possible wire and leave the lite work for the Wireless.

Thus the Wireless Router should be decided upon after you design the total topology


.
__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 03:08 AM   #5
SaoFeng
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 516
Default

well my fiancee will not allow any wires to be run around in the house....and i can't run wires in the walls...so my xbox 360's and ps3, and wii, will all be on my wireless network.

the computers can be wired in....just my laptop would be on wireless.
SaoFeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 03:09 AM   #6
ecom
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaoFeng View Post
i just got a new home, about 3000 sq ft, 2 stories.

i will be running 2 xbox's, ps3, wii, and several laptops off the router.

i do lots of gaming and bit torrent.....

my wife does a lot of netflix streaming...
All this at the same time? In the same room? How many people are in thehouse?

If you have multiple devices in the same room running at the same time, you may considered using additional home wifi router appliances as client bridges to reduce the number of devices directly on wireless.

Heck, for 1000sq ft, I'm running two APs and both are connected via 100Mbps Ethernet. They have the same SSID and clients can hop between them but it's not true seamless roaming but the client can still hop between APs.

I find that P2P has a tendency to slow down my 802.11g wireless significantly even though it is bound by the much slower 6Mbps internet connection.

Last edited by ecom; 08-09-2010 at 03:14 AM.
ecom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 03:10 AM   #7
ecom
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 479
Default

Do you have unfinished basement or attic in which wires can be run?
ecom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 10:58 AM   #8
SaoFeng
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 516
Default

no basement here -- i'm in california.

the most i would run at the same time is some light bittorrent, and an xbox streaming netflix. maybe my woman's laptop surfing facebook. haha
SaoFeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 02:12 PM   #9
boomhower
Diamond Member
 
boomhower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6,658
Default

If your going to be torrenting and streaming at the same time you are going to need good QoS whichdd-wry is very good at.
__________________
heat
boomhower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 10:20 PM   #10
IndyColtsFan
Lifer
 
IndyColtsFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 29,743
Default

My house is roughly the same size as yours, and I have a D-Link DIR-655 that covers the entire house and well into my back yard as well. I have it located in my man cave on the second floor, next to a wall in the interior of the home. I have a DAP-1522 AP/bridge operating in bridge mode in my entertainment center downstairs, and there is an Xbox hardwired into it. In addition to that, we have a Wii and a couple of laptops that connect wirelessly. Everything else is hardwired.

I'd go for a dual band router if I were you. I think the DIR-665 is the dual band model of the DIR-655.
__________________
MAIN: i7-2600K @ 4.5 Ghz | Asus P8Z68-V Pro | G.Skill 16 GB DDR3-1600 | Seagate 600 series 240 GB SSD (boot) | Samsung Evo 500 GB | 2 TB (data) | MSI Lightning GTX780 | Cosmos S | Dell U2410 and 2001fp | Seasonic Platinum 760 | Windows 8.1 x64 Enterprise
IndyColtsFan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.