Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2010, 10:20 PM   #1
WaitingForNehalem
Platinum Member
 
WaitingForNehalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,402
Default Deus Ex Widescreen Utility *June 2012: MAJOR NEW RELEASE V2.2*

This is a widescreen utility I wrote for Deus Ex and Deus Ex: Invisible War.


Change Log


2.2.0

Instructions are clearer

GUI is more refined

Assumptions are no longer made in the .ini files

Auto-"HUD size" detection works again

Finally fixed a spelling error

2.2.0 BETA

Works with international versions

Modifies files in place, no longer replacing them

Automatically detects resolution

Keeps all user modifications

2.0.0

Adjustable FOV

Adjustable HUD size for Deus Ex: Invisible War

Supports Eyefinity/Nvidia Surround

Supports any aspect ratio

No longer need to modify directory permissions

GUI improvements

Recommends FOV and HUD values based on aspect ratio

1.2.0.0

You no longer need to input your aspect ratio

Your last directory is no longer remembered so files won't be stored in your AppData folder, which makes it more portable

Icon and GUI have been improved

1.1.0.0

Now you only need to locate the root directory

The last directory opened is now remembered the next time you run the program

1.0.0.2


GUI enhancements

1.0.0.1


Now when opening a directory or file, the instructions reflect your selection.

Added a message when opening the user.ini, "The Read Only option must be unchecked for the user.ini of both games".

Download 2.2.0
:

Game Front: http://www.gamefront.com/files/21901...lity_2_2_0_zip


__________________
Intel Core i7 920 with Corsair A70 | ASUS Sabertooth X58 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW | Creative Sound Blaster Z | 12GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 | CM Storm Sniper Black Edition | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB | WD Caviar Black 500GB & 1TB | Antec TruePower New 750W

Last edited by WaitingForNehalem; 03-24-2013 at 04:30 PM.
WaitingForNehalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 10:42 PM   #2
thilanliyan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,156
Default

Cool. Would this work with the Steam version?
__________________
Intel 4670k
Asus Z87-Expert
8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
3x7950 3gb (mining)
Corsair HX1050 Gold
thilanliyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 10:48 PM   #3
manimal
Lifer
 
manimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Carmel, Indiana
Posts: 11,126
Default

Nice! will test out when the kids give me 10 seconds to breathe/./
__________________
GA-EX58-UD3R 920 i7 4.2 5870@900/1300
GA-P55-UD3R i5 750 3.8 w/ turbo 280GTX 9600GSO
GA-MA-790FXT UD5P 1090T X6 @ 4.1 24/7 Xfire 4890
M4a79 DLX 805 X4 L3 6MB 3.25 NB 2450 Xfire 4850
58 PZ85U 50G10 52a650 PLV1080HD PJ all calibrated
120 Inch Screen -speakercraft Mzc66 8 zone audio
manimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 10:59 PM   #4
WaitingForNehalem
Platinum Member
 
WaitingForNehalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thilanliyan View Post
Cool. Would this work with the Steam version?
yep
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 with Corsair A70 | ASUS Sabertooth X58 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW | Creative Sound Blaster Z | 12GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 | CM Storm Sniper Black Edition | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB | WD Caviar Black 500GB & 1TB | Antec TruePower New 750W
WaitingForNehalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 11:43 PM   #5
Tristicus
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 8,111
Default

Awesome, I bought these but never got the chance to play them, now I will.
Tristicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 12:00 AM   #6
leeland
Diamond Member
 
leeland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,563
Default

anyone have a link to the latest patch for this game and any texture updates?
leeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 07:49 AM   #7
WaitingForNehalem
Platinum Member
 
WaitingForNehalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,402
Default

Update Released

1.0.0.1 Changes

Now when opening a directory or file, the instructions reflect your selection.

Added a message when opening the user.ini, "The Read Only option must be unchecked for the user.ini of both games".
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 with Corsair A70 | ASUS Sabertooth X58 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW | Creative Sound Blaster Z | 12GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 | CM Storm Sniper Black Edition | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB | WD Caviar Black 500GB & 1TB | Antec TruePower New 750W
WaitingForNehalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 08:04 AM   #8
aclim
Senior Member
 
aclim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 475
Default

nice! just got em off steam. Thanks
__________________
Heat

Steam- aclim
aclim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 05:24 PM   #9
WaitingForNehalem
Platinum Member
 
WaitingForNehalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,402
Default

Update Released
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 with Corsair A70 | ASUS Sabertooth X58 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW | Creative Sound Blaster Z | 12GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 | CM Storm Sniper Black Edition | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB | WD Caviar Black 500GB & 1TB | Antec TruePower New 750W
WaitingForNehalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 07:29 PM   #10
postmortemIA
Diamond Member
 
postmortemIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 6,511
Default

if you give it root directory of installation, .ini file can be located without user input
__________________
D1. Win7 x64 i7-3770 on Z77, HD7850, 2707WFP, 840, X-Fi D2. Win7 x64 E8400 on P35
L1. OSX 10.9 rMBP 13 L2. Vista x86 E1505
M. Galaxy S4

postmortemIA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 07:34 PM   #11
Schadenfroh
Elite Member
 
Schadenfroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 38,418
Default

Good work, would help you test it, but I do not have Deus Ex installed.
__________________
"how we live is so far removed from how we ought to live, that he who abandons what is done for what ought to be done, will rather bring about his own ruin than his preservation"
- Niccolò Machiavelli
Schadenfroh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 07:41 PM   #12
WaitingForNehalem
Platinum Member
 
WaitingForNehalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by postmortemIA View Post
if you give it root directory of installation, .ini file can be located without user input
The Invisble War user.ini is located in My Documents, at least for the Steam version. Also, the reason I let the user specify the files instead of having defined file paths in the program is if the user decided to install either game on a flashdrive. I wanted the program to work no matter where the game was installed.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 with Corsair A70 | ASUS Sabertooth X58 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW | Creative Sound Blaster Z | 12GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 | CM Storm Sniper Black Edition | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB | WD Caviar Black 500GB & 1TB | Antec TruePower New 750W

Last edited by WaitingForNehalem; 07-10-2010 at 07:51 PM.
WaitingForNehalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 07:48 PM   #13
Schadenfroh
Elite Member
 
Schadenfroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 38,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaitingForNehalem View Post
The Invisble War user.ini is located in My Documents, at least for the Steam version.
Might be a good idea to check the default install locations automatically when the application starts up and populate the two text boxes if they are found. I did something similar with GNag to find the base directories of the applications.
__________________
"how we live is so far removed from how we ought to live, that he who abandons what is done for what ought to be done, will rather bring about his own ruin than his preservation"
- Niccolò Machiavelli
Schadenfroh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 08:07 PM   #14
WaitingForNehalem
Platinum Member
 
WaitingForNehalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,402
Default

I could add a "Retail", "Steam", and "Custom" option. The "Custom" option would unlock the text boxes. Should I even bother adding a custom option? Where else would somebody have the files? Although I already have it there...
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 with Corsair A70 | ASUS Sabertooth X58 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW | Creative Sound Blaster Z | 12GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 | CM Storm Sniper Black Edition | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB | WD Caviar Black 500GB & 1TB | Antec TruePower New 750W
WaitingForNehalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 08:49 PM   #15
Schadenfroh
Elite Member
 
Schadenfroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 38,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaitingForNehalem View Post
I could add a "Retail", "Steam", and "Custom" option. The "Custom" option would unlock the text boxes. Should I even bother adding a custom option? Where else would somebody have the files? Although I already have it there...
No need to add a combo box for that, just brute force it (check all of them (steam, retail, etc.) to see if files exist in those default paths), no performance hit with that small of an operation
__________________
"how we live is so far removed from how we ought to live, that he who abandons what is done for what ought to be done, will rather bring about his own ruin than his preservation"
- Niccolò Machiavelli
Schadenfroh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 09:10 PM   #16
WaitingForNehalem
Platinum Member
 
WaitingForNehalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schadenfroh View Post
No need to add a combo box for that, just brute force it (check all of them (steam, retail, etc.) to see if files exist in those default paths), no performance hit with that small of an operation
There are too many possible locations. Deus Ex GOTY defaulted to C when I was installing it. I think I'll just add a steam radiobutton and if the user has a retail copy, I'll let them specify where it is.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 with Corsair A70 | ASUS Sabertooth X58 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW | Creative Sound Blaster Z | 12GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 | CM Storm Sniper Black Edition | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB | WD Caviar Black 500GB & 1TB | Antec TruePower New 750W
WaitingForNehalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 09:54 PM   #17
thedosbox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canuckistan
Posts: 961
Default

How does this differ from the tool that's been available here for awhile?

http://kentie.net/article/dxguide/index.htm
__________________
My days of not taking you seriously are coming to a middle
thedosbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 10:22 PM   #18
WaitingForNehalem
Platinum Member
 
WaitingForNehalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thedosbox View Post
How does this differ from the tool that's been available here for awhile?

http://kentie.net/article/dxguide/index.htm
Mine does Invisible War as well which requires quite a lengthy process to make it widescreen involving hex editing. I have not seen that program though.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 with Corsair A70 | ASUS Sabertooth X58 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW | Creative Sound Blaster Z | 12GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 | CM Storm Sniper Black Edition | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB | WD Caviar Black 500GB & 1TB | Antec TruePower New 750W
WaitingForNehalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 10:26 PM   #19
Schadenfroh
Elite Member
 
Schadenfroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 38,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaitingForNehalem View Post
Mine does Invisible War as well which requires quite a lengthy process to make it widescreen involving hex editing. I have not seen that program though.
Yeh, IW was a pain when I went through adding WS support to my install when I played through it six months ago, I can vouch that having a program do it for me in one button press is MUCH better than dealing with hex editors.
__________________
"how we live is so far removed from how we ought to live, that he who abandons what is done for what ought to be done, will rather bring about his own ruin than his preservation"
- Niccolò Machiavelli
Schadenfroh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 10:31 PM   #20
thedosbox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canuckistan
Posts: 961
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaitingForNehalem View Post
Mine does Invisible War as well which requires quite a lengthy process to make it widescreen involving hex editing. I have not seen that program though.
People still play Invisible War?

My bad, didn't spot the IW radio button. The kentie.net program is still useful for DX1 as it fixes the speed problem on modern CPU's, and configures settings to maximize IQ.
__________________
My days of not taking you seriously are coming to a middle
thedosbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 10:37 PM   #21
Schadenfroh
Elite Member
 
Schadenfroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 38,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thedosbox View Post
The kentie.net program is still useful for DX1 as it fixes the speed problem on modern CPU's, and configures settings to maximize IQ.
Hard core users will install the new OpenGL renderer for their maximum IQ benefits
__________________
"how we live is so far removed from how we ought to live, that he who abandons what is done for what ought to be done, will rather bring about his own ruin than his preservation"
- Niccolò Machiavelli
Schadenfroh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 10:56 PM   #22
thedosbox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canuckistan
Posts: 961
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schadenfroh View Post
Hard core users will install the new OpenGL renderer for their maximum IQ benefits
The last time I looked, the OpenGL renderer doesn't ensure 32-bit color is used, nor that detail textures are enabled by default. That can be fixed by hand of course, but it's hardly a "all-in-one" solution.
__________________
My days of not taking you seriously are coming to a middle
thedosbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 07:05 AM   #23
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 55,033
Default

YAAAAYYYY!!
Winsauce.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommo123 View Post
what? you came from your fathers balls but he didn't stop existing once he dropped his load
shortylickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 07:52 PM   #24
WaitingForNehalem
Platinum Member
 
WaitingForNehalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,402
Default

Update Released!
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 with Corsair A70 | ASUS Sabertooth X58 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW | Creative Sound Blaster Z | 12GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 | CM Storm Sniper Black Edition | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB | WD Caviar Black 500GB & 1TB | Antec TruePower New 750W
WaitingForNehalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 06:01 PM   #25
WaitingForNehalem
Platinum Member
 
WaitingForNehalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,402
Default

Final Update Released!
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 with Corsair A70 | ASUS Sabertooth X58 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW | Creative Sound Blaster Z | 12GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 | CM Storm Sniper Black Edition | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB | WD Caviar Black 500GB & 1TB | Antec TruePower New 750W
WaitingForNehalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.