Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-2010, 04:00 PM   #1
IamDavid
Diamond Member
 
IamDavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 5,655
Default Hanging TV's on wall... Where to put cable box??

I always see these great pics flat screens on the walls and nothing else around them. No receivers, no cableboxes/DVR's.. What am I missing? I currently have Uverse so I have to have a box.. Seems odd to have it on the opposite side of the room.
IamDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 04:40 PM   #2
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,040
Default

They are people that just have a tv hanging on the wall. They watch SD cable on it

I call those glamour shot setups. Not liveable spaces, just look cool in a magazine, same with those wide open kitchens.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 05:42 PM   #3
Booty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 946
Default

Most likely have all the gear hidden and are just using IR repeaters (and, of course, running AV cables through the walls).
Booty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 07:28 PM   #4
IamDavid
Diamond Member
 
IamDavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 5,655
Default

I found ATT offers a RF remote and adapter.. $60!!! WTF?? Doesn't Direct TV add it for free? Looks like the best option I guess..

IR repeaters look interesting although it sounds like most if not all don't work with the Uverse boxes.
IamDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 07:53 PM   #5
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,844
Default

I helped my parents wire a 90' HDMI cable from a near by closet which housed the Dish HD box

oh and they use a rf remote... clean install
__________________
.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 10:24 PM   #6
yuppiejr
Golden Member
 
yuppiejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,315
Default

Guessing a combo of fortunate (or planned) room configuration allowing components in a separate space and an IR repeater to make the remote work.

I'm going through one such "glamor-shots" makeover in my AV space - dumping the old fashioned side towers + bridge and TV stand entertainment center and wall mounting my setup including a 50" plasma and JBL LC2 center + L820 mains. Everything else is going in the storage space behind the wall on which I'm mounting the TV and speakers. Only problem I'm trying to figure out is where to park the subwoofer (and it's future twin) plus providing convenient access to the blu-ray player (loading/unloading discs and all). Details..

http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Go-4043...7090716&sr=8-1
yuppiejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 09:09 AM   #7
Modelworks
Lifer
 
Modelworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16,237
Default

RF remotes.
Here is a unique solution to the problem. It turns any IR remote into an RF remote by just installing a special battery in place of the normal battery.
http://www.amazon.com/Next-Generatio...ef=cm_cmu_pg_t


Quote:

Still the greatest thing to happen since IR remote control. The award-winning NextGen Remote Extender is now improved and we call it Remote Extender Plus. Simply install our battery transmitter in place of one of the AA or AAA batteries inside your remote control, then point the receiver or attach the bright eye emitter to the components you wish to control. Now you’ve converted your existing IR Remote to Digital RF, giving you the freedom to go from room-to-room and control your components anywhere in the house.

The Remote extender plus gives you the ability to control two same brand components independently.

• Works with most AA and AAA remotes
• Receiver has built in charger and comes with
(2) 2/3 AA specially sized rechargeable batteries.
• Available in 433 MHz or 418 MHz frequencies
• Single-Eye IR Emitter included
Modelworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 02:13 PM   #8
weadjust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 637
Default

Directv remotes are RF capable. Just go into the menu and change the default setting to RF.
weadjust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 05:59 PM   #9
sivart
Golden Member
 
sivart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 1,787
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IamDavid View Post
I found ATT offers a RF remote and adapter.. $60!!! WTF?? Doesn't Direct TV add it for free? Looks like the best option I guess..

IR repeaters look interesting although it sounds like most if not all don't work with the Uverse boxes.
I had a friend complain (legitimate) of the bad response of the IR remote and received the $60 RF remote for free. AT&T has good customer service.
__________________
Heatware | eBay
sivart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.