Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2010, 11:18 PM   #1
joe_H
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 83
Default How to migrate data from old WHS to new WHS

This is just a hypothetical question for now, as I just built a brand new WHS...but I got to thinking what happens to the TB's of data I'm moving over when I decide I want to upgrade the hardware? Can I just move the drives over the new box and re-install WHS?

Just wondered if anyone has run into this issue yet.
joe_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 12:39 AM   #2
RebateMonger
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
RebateMonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Posts: 11,592
Default

I'll skip over the part that says that Windows Home Server is "OEM" software and moving it to a new motherboard is contrary to Microsoft's End User License Agreement. The EULA does, however, allow replacement of the motherboard if the original has failed.

You should be able to move all the disks to the new motherboard (being sure that the old "System" disk is listed as the first hard disk in the BIOS boot order). At that point, if you boot to the WHS Install DVD, the WHS installer should see the old WHS installation and allow for a "Reinstallation" of WHS.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...59(WS.10).aspx

That'll be a complete re-install of WHS on top of the old installation and it will keep all your shared data folders as-is. I don't recall what it does to your client PC backups. If you absolutely don't want to risk losing previous backups, you can back up the client PC backup database to another disk(s). There are complete instructions for this available. I've done it a couple of times without incident.

You can find complete instructions for these operations in the Microsoft WHS whitepapers and on http://wegotserved.com.
__________________
MCSE:Security:2003 - MCTS:SBS 2008 - Arizona's 1st Microsoft Small Business Specialist
--- In loving memory of my beautiful Australian Shepherd, Skye. July 2001-January 2010 ---
War on Terror 2000-2010 ~ Terrorist-caused Deaths < 10,000 ~ Bush's Wars > 1,000,000 ~ Winning?
RebateMonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 05:10 PM   #3
joe_H
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 83
Default

Thanks for the response. I really wasn't thinking about circumnavigating the EULA (another copy of WHS could be purchased, Vail could be installed...etc). I was just more concerned if one would have to migrate all of the pooled data to another location and then migrate it back to a new box or not. Good to see that a OS re-install should work.
joe_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 02:44 AM   #4
RebateMonger
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
RebateMonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Posts: 11,592
Default

At this time, it appears that a migration from WHS v1 to WHS v2 (Vail) might require backup/restore of the old WHS shared folders. But it's kinda' early to know because MS says that Vail and its storage system are in active development.
__________________
MCSE:Security:2003 - MCTS:SBS 2008 - Arizona's 1st Microsoft Small Business Specialist
--- In loving memory of my beautiful Australian Shepherd, Skye. July 2001-January 2010 ---
War on Terror 2000-2010 ~ Terrorist-caused Deaths < 10,000 ~ Bush's Wars > 1,000,000 ~ Winning?
RebateMonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 10:56 AM   #5
Homerboy
Lifer
 
Homerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: MKE, WI
Posts: 19,447
Default

I have done this migration in the past... and this is how I did it:

#0 remove all HDDs from old WHS
#1 Get a new C: drive.
#2 Install WHS on new machine with JUST that new C installed
#3 plug in 1 of the old HDDs... DO NOT ADD TO POOL (yet)
#4 copy over files to new install of WHS
#5 when copying is complete, then add that drive to the pool
#6 goto #3 until all old data is copied over and all old HDDs are added to the pool

I did it this way (twice) as quite honestly I didn't want to trust WHS install to do the "reinstallation" properly, recognize all the old tombsotnes etc etc.
__________________
"Ah... In a time of such ugliness, the only true protest is to be beautiful." - Refused
Homerboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.