Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2010, 02:30 AM   #1
compguy786
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,057
Default Digital Audio out to Analog - 3.5mm ? - Adapter

So...my TV unlike my other, does not have audio out with RCA 3.5mm cable (headphone jack).

My TV does have digital audio out, can you buy an adapter that converts from Digital audio out to 3.5mm jack ? I have a 2.1 set that id like to use on the TV, since the speakers sorta suck.

Is there such a device ?

Thanks !
__________________
Can
compguy786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:31 AM   #2
darkswordsman17
Lifer
 
darkswordsman17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,862
Default

Yes, but its not exactly an adapter, it'd be a DAC. Your TV should have analog out, so just get something like this:
http://www.ramelectronics.net/audio-...prod35558.html
or this:
http://www.ramelectronics.net/audio-...rod35586G.html
You should be able to find them at RadioShack or other places. Check around, they should be cheap (or you can order them from some place online, but shipping might make it not worthwhile).
darkswordsman17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 11:36 AM   #3
kalrith
Diamond Member
 
kalrith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 6,585
Default

What TV do you have? Also, does your speakers have 1 or 2 3.5mm plugs?

darkswordsman, I don't think those will work. It sounds like a digital output (I'm guessing TOSLINK) is the only audio output from the TV. However, he could be wrong, which is why we need the model number of the TV.
__________________
Heatware 24+ eBay 22+
kalrith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 11:58 AM   #4
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 52,658
Default

I find it hard to believe the tv doesn't have audio out. Which tv is it?
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 02:55 PM   #5
darkswordsman17
Lifer
 
darkswordsman17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalrith View Post
What TV do you have? Also, does your speakers have 1 or 2 3.5mm plugs?

darkswordsman, I don't think those will work. It sounds like a digital output (I'm guessing TOSLINK) is the only audio output from the TV. However, he could be wrong, which is why we need the model number of the TV.
I'm fairly sure the TV will also have analog outputs (via RCA outs), which will make this much cheaper and easier than sourcing a DAC. I'm reading it as his other TV had a headphone jack that he plugged the speakers 3.5mm jack into. There isn't one on the new TV. I suppose its possible that it only has digital out, but I'd find it doubtful.

Last edited by darkswordsman17; 06-04-2010 at 02:57 PM.
darkswordsman17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:32 PM   #6
kalrith
Diamond Member
 
kalrith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 6,585
Default

Yeah, I agree that the most likely scenario is that it has RCA jacks, and he can use one of the cables you linked.
__________________
Heatware 24+ eBay 22+
kalrith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:49 PM   #7
CubanlB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint Paul MN
Posts: 518
Default

A lot of the new entry level Panasonics only have toslink out and a lot of smaller tvs like 22" Toshibas, etc... only have digital audio out.

It might even be cheaper to get a used receiver that had digital audio in and a rec out that picking up a dac, and more useful.

If you are in the Minneapolis area I could give you a receiver for this purpose.

anyway, good luck with this.
__________________
Denon 4306ci Denon DVD-3910 Playstation3 CHEAP HTPC w/ radeon 4350
Polk RTi8 Fronts Polk CSi3 Center Polk R50 Surrounds Kef PSW 4000 Sub
Panasonic 58V10
CubanlB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 11:16 PM   #8
compguy786
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,057
Default

Thanks for the input.

TV is a 32 inch panasonic. Model number - TC-L32C22

my 42 inch has analog out....which would allow for such a thing...
__________________
Can
compguy786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 08:15 AM   #9
kalrith
Diamond Member
 
kalrith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 6,585
Default

Well, that TV definitely doesn't have analog outputs. I'm not really sure what would work. Here's a TOSLINK-to-3.5mm adapter, but I kind of doubt that would work. You need something that will convert digital to analog (unless you have digital headphones), so my guess is that you'll need some sort of converter box rather than a simple cable adapter.

BTW, what sources are you wanting to hear through your headphones?
__________________
Heatware 24+ eBay 22+
kalrith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 08:53 AM   #10
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 52,658
Default

That's retarded...
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 08:56 AM   #11
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 52,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalrith View Post
Well, that TV definitely doesn't have analog outputs. I'm not really sure what would work. Here's a TOSLINK-to-3.5mm adapter, but I kind of doubt that would work. You need something that will convert digital to analog (unless you have digital headphones), so my guess is that you'll need some sort of converter box rather than a simple cable adapter.

BTW, what sources are you wanting to hear through your headphones?
lol that is just a piece of plastic
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 01:32 PM   #12
bobdole369
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,504
Default

http://www.gefen.com/gefentv/gtvprod...p?prod_id=5980

Theres a cheaper one thats stereo only, but it won't downmix.
__________________
Things that make you smile.

Administration of a drug to an addict will cause re-establishment of chemical dependence upon the addictive substance. Quit smoking and using nicotine in ***all*** its forms today.
bobdole369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 09:50 PM   #13
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

yeah you need a DAC, they range in price from 100 - 5000+. whats your budget?
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 05:47 AM   #14
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 52,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rifterut View Post
yeah you need a DAC, they range in price from 100 - 5000+. whats your budget?
lol, cheaper to pick up a used receiver.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 08:08 AM   #15
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdifox View Post
lol, cheaper to pick up a used receiver.
This is very true, as long as it has digital inputs. However the quality of a stand alone dac would most likely be higher than a old reciever, and if he already has a amp for the 2.1 setup he wont need the amp in the reciever and it would be a waste, not to mention the space it would take up compared to a DAC which is very small in most cases. You can get a quality DAC for a couple hundred bucks.
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 08:31 AM   #16
kalrith
Diamond Member
 
kalrith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 6,585
Default

Depending on what 2.1 set he has, he might see a better quality boost with a HTIB or receiver plus $100 pair of bookshelves rather than spending that same amount on a DAC.
__________________
Heatware 24+ eBay 22+
kalrith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 02:07 PM   #17
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 52,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rifterut View Post
This is very true, as long as it has digital inputs. However the quality of a stand alone dac would most likely be higher than a old reciever, and if he already has a amp for the 2.1 setup he wont need the amp in the reciever and it would be a waste, not to mention the space it would take up compared to a DAC which is very small in most cases. You can get a quality DAC for a couple hundred bucks.
err, the source is tv... I don't care how good your DAC is, it is not going to improve tv sound.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 12:16 AM   #18
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

I agree with kalrith that depending on the 2.1 system he has he might be better served with a receiver and bookshelves. Need more info from OP, what system do you have, and do you plan on going 5.1 or 7.1 in the future.

Also a DAC can improve any sound, yeah cable TV not so much but the problem isnt improving sound its getting any sound, as right now he has NO analog outputs, so its not like the DAC is optional he needs something to convert his digital signal to analog.

Also if his cable box is a crappy as mine using a digital output and a external DAC/Reciever could help alot, my cable box had alot of noise on its analog outs(must have really poor shielding) and switching it to digital using my HK 3490's DAC improved the sound noticably for me, i do however have it hooked up to 2 Polk Monitor 70's. It would be hard to tell the differnce on some cheap 2.1 system which is why it would be helpful to know what the OP has. He might be fine buying the cheapest $20 ebay DAC/receiver he can find if he is using some cheap $40 logitec speakers.

Edit for failed spelling.
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 01:44 AM   #19
compguy786
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,057
Default

i wish i had room for a reciever. This is in my tiny room...so the 2.1 would be better compared to having the standard stereo speakers.

I dont want a reciever because its bulky,and am not looking for awesome high performance stuff. i wish i had the outputs, that would have been cool.
__________________
Can
compguy786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 05:17 AM   #20
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 52,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by compguy786 View Post
i wish i had room for a reciever. This is in my tiny room...so the 2.1 would be better compared to having the standard stereo speakers.

I dont want a reciever because its bulky,and am not looking for awesome high performance stuff. i wish i had the outputs, that would have been cool.
So an external dac is your best choice. There are small class D receivers.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 01:26 PM   #21
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

this might help:

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/digit...der-450-a.html
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.