Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2010, 02:51 PM   #1
California Roll
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 515
Default New Uverse customer, MTU, TCP Optimizer?

I recently had 24/3 Uverse installed and everything seems to work great. Tech said I'm only 700 feet away and had only 2% signal loss when they tested the line. Multiple speedtest.net tests confirmed 23/2.9, so I'm ecstatic.

I used TCP optimizer previously for my old 1.5mpbs connection. Do I optimize again or just leave it? I've used the great guide at ezlan.net to optimize my previous internet connections but I'm not sure which values to use for Uverse.
__________________
Q9550@3.8 1.19v | AC Freezer 7 | GA-EP45-UD3R | G.Skill 4GB DDR2-800 | Radeon 4850@700/1083 | 6TB | Antec 300 | NeoPower 550W
WHS | Atom 330 | D945GCLF2 | 2GB DDR2-667 | 3TB | Apex MI-100BK
Asus U35JC

Photo/Video: EOS 40D | Lumix ZS7
California Roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 03:11 PM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,445
Default

Instead of Dr.TCP that is mentioned in ezlan.net use this one.

http://www.speedguide.net/files/TCPOptimizer.exe

You can try MTU 1492 or 1400 and see which one works better on your connection.

As for RCwin use 1027840

Check the box that says Modify all Network Adapters.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 03:14 PM   #3
California Roll
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMDS View Post
Instead of Dr.TCP that is mentioned in ezlan.net use this one.

http://www.speedguide.net/files/TCPOptimizer.exe

You can try MTU 1492 or 1400 and see which one works better on your connection.

As for RCwin use 1027840

Check the box that says Modify all Network Adapters.


Awesome, thanks again Jack I was looking forward to your reply.

edit: one more note, I have a gigabit switch hooked up to the router with 3 gigabit enabled pc's connected. Does this change any of the values you mentioned?
__________________
Q9550@3.8 1.19v | AC Freezer 7 | GA-EP45-UD3R | G.Skill 4GB DDR2-800 | Radeon 4850@700/1083 | 6TB | Antec 300 | NeoPower 550W
WHS | Atom 330 | D945GCLF2 | 2GB DDR2-667 | 3TB | Apex MI-100BK
Asus U35JC

Photo/Video: EOS 40D | Lumix ZS7

Last edited by California Roll; 06-02-2010 at 03:22 PM.
California Roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 04:30 PM   #4
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,445
Default

The high RCwin probably will improve the Giga traffic too.

If your Giga switch is Jumbo Frames capable you can try MTU of 9000 too.

In each case measure carefully local and internet transfer, and choose the combo that is best for your network.

__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 04:34 PM   #5
California Roll
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMDS View Post
The high RCwin probably will improve the Giga traffic too.

If your Giga switch is Jumbo Frames capable you can try MTU of 9000 too.

In each case measure carefully local and internet transfer, and choose the combo that is best for your network.

Thanks again. Yes, switch and all pc's are jumbo frames capable.

I'll use RCwin 1027840. MTU 1492, 1400, 9000 and test all 3.
__________________
Q9550@3.8 1.19v | AC Freezer 7 | GA-EP45-UD3R | G.Skill 4GB DDR2-800 | Radeon 4850@700/1083 | 6TB | Antec 300 | NeoPower 550W
WHS | Atom 330 | D945GCLF2 | 2GB DDR2-667 | 3TB | Apex MI-100BK
Asus U35JC

Photo/Video: EOS 40D | Lumix ZS7
California Roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 08:27 PM   #6
ScottMac
Moderator
Networking
Elite member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5,471
Default

U-Verse is straight Ethernet and supports a full MTU of 1500 bytes.

If you are using a VPN, or some other encrypted-enabled schemes, then you might want to drop the MTU ... otherwise, you should do best at 1500.

Where most xDSL is ATM based, and use a 1492 MAX MTU, U-Verse (and the newer IPDSLAM services) are full Ethernet frames (1500).
__________________
Eschew Obfuscation! Espouse Elucidation!

Optimists are never pleasantly surprised.

Nov 4th, 2008: History is made: - Richie Daley becomes the first Mayor in history with his own pet President.
ScottMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 03:53 AM   #7
California Roll
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 515
Default

I was fiddling around in the router/modem settings and I noticed "Upstream MTU = 1500".

I don't use VPN at all.
__________________
Q9550@3.8 1.19v | AC Freezer 7 | GA-EP45-UD3R | G.Skill 4GB DDR2-800 | Radeon 4850@700/1083 | 6TB | Antec 300 | NeoPower 550W
WHS | Atom 330 | D945GCLF2 | 2GB DDR2-667 | 3TB | Apex MI-100BK
Asus U35JC

Photo/Video: EOS 40D | Lumix ZS7
California Roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 05:39 PM   #8
California Roll
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 515
Default

Just to update my thread, I settled on MTU 1500, RCwin 1027840. To be honest, there was do discernible difference in my previous 1.5mbps internet settings and my current one.
__________________
Q9550@3.8 1.19v | AC Freezer 7 | GA-EP45-UD3R | G.Skill 4GB DDR2-800 | Radeon 4850@700/1083 | 6TB | Antec 300 | NeoPower 550W
WHS | Atom 330 | D945GCLF2 | 2GB DDR2-667 | 3TB | Apex MI-100BK
Asus U35JC

Photo/Video: EOS 40D | Lumix ZS7
California Roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 07:42 PM   #9
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,450
Default

There shouldn't be. The window size is what affects it the most on high bandwidth, high latency network (consumer broadband). At 1 meg window you only need to ACK every 1 MB of data. TCP will scale down the window if there is any packet loss anyway so much better to start off high. Use lower if you have much packet loss, which is rare even for consumer broadband networks.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 11:26 AM   #10
wlee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 577
Default

I think it would also depend on what OS you are using. I thought that Win Vista and 7 have auto-scaling rwin. I have found that dropping the MTU to 1472 on cable and 1454 on DSL seems to clear up any probs with failed POP and SMTP sessions.
wlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 11:29 AM   #11
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wlee View Post
I think it would also depend on what OS you are using. I thought that Win Vista and 7 have auto-scaling rwin. I have found that dropping the MTU to 1472 on cable and 1454 on DSL seems to clear up any probs with failed POP and SMTP sessions.
The minute tuning is a matter of the specific Network/Hardware/OS.

That is why people have to try few settings, and Not just copy from someone else.



__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.