Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2007, 02:45 PM   #1
aphex
Moderator
All Things Apple
 
aphex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 38,548
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

Flying tomorrow from Venice -> Zurich (layover) -> Miami

First time having an international layover.. Will we have to get the bags, go through customs, then recheck the bags again?
__________________
Heatware (149-0-0) | eBay (363-0-0)
aphex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 02:48 PM   #2
Looney
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 21,943
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

I believe you do. You have to grab your baggage and recheck them (i didn't realize i had to do that one time and almost missed my connecting flight).
__________________
"I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours." -Stephen Roberts

"We give dogs time we can spare, space we can spare and love we can spare. And in return, dogs give us their all. It's the best deal man has ever made." - M. Facklam
Looney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 02:54 PM   #3
TheCrackedJack
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 309
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

As long as it's on the same ticket and airline, I see no reason why you can just have it sent to your final destination.
TheCrackedJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 02:57 PM   #4
imported_Mike
Lifer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,213
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

You should reheck them. I was told I would not have to reheck my luggage and that everything would be taken care of. When I returned to LAX, I learned my luggage was in London.

They overnighted it to me 27 hours later.
imported_Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:02 PM   #5
kami333
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 5,110
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

Depends on the airport, the airline and your flights. Check and double check when you check in. Most of the time you are not even allowed out of the waiting area if you aren't staying in that country. Though since it is Europe you can probably go out.
kami333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:02 PM   #6
The Stigenator
Lifer
 
The Stigenator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 15,123
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

well normally the checked in luggage will transfer from one aircraft to another just have to go with your handbaggage.. that's how i have done it in the past, even if i changed airlines. The only time you got to recheck the checked luggage is if you are changing airlines / crossing customs at some point. Otherwise you dont.
__________________
blah * blah = blah blah
The Stigenator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:04 PM   #7
FoBoT
Super Moderator
 
FoBoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Holden MO
Posts: 63,088
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

whatever you do, do NOT call your airline and ask them about this

post on some more boards and average out the answers

chubwallter, ars, newegg, dotslash, just keep asking on the internets
__________________
“Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple.”
― Dr. Seuss
FoBoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:06 PM   #8
Looney
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 21,943
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

Quote:
Originally posted by: TheGoodGuy
well normally the checked in luggage will transfer from one aircraft to another just have to go with your handbaggage.. that's how i have done it in the past, even if i changed airlines. The only time you got to recheck the checked luggage is if you are changing airlines / crossing customs at some point. Otherwise you dont.
He is 'crossing customs' because it's international.

__________________
"I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours." -Stephen Roberts

"We give dogs time we can spare, space we can spare and love we can spare. And in return, dogs give us their all. It's the best deal man has ever made." - M. Facklam
Looney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:10 PM   #9
aphex
Moderator
All Things Apple
 
aphex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 38,548
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

Quote:
Originally posted by: FoBoT
whatever you do, do NOT call your airline and ask them about this

post on some more boards and average out the answers

chubwallter, ars, newegg, dotslash, just keep asking on the internets
Calls are $1/minute on my cell here, I'll take my chances with the general consensus. BTW, thanks for the helpful response.
__________________
Heatware (149-0-0) | eBay (363-0-0)
aphex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:13 PM   #10
aphex
Moderator
All Things Apple
 
aphex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 38,548
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

Quote:
Originally posted by: kami333
Depends on the airport, the airline and your flights. Check and double check when you check in. Most of the time you are not even allowed out of the waiting area if you aren't staying in that country. Though since it is Europe you can probably go out.
Well, its Italy (EU) -> Switzerland -> US
__________________
Heatware (149-0-0) | eBay (363-0-0)
aphex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:14 PM   #11
Fern
Elite Member
Super Moderator
 
Fern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Great Smoky Mountains
Posts: 24,011
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

Quote:
Originally posted by: FoBoT
whatever you do, do NOT call your airline and ask them about this

post on some more boards and average out the answers

chubwallter, ars, newegg, dotslash, just keep asking on the internets
rofl :laugh:
__________________
Politics is the art of looking for trouble, finding it whether it exists or not, diagnosing it incorrectly, and applying the wrong remedy.
Fern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:44 PM   #12
kami333
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 5,110
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Looney
Quote:
Originally posted by: TheGoodGuy
well normally the checked in luggage will transfer from one aircraft to another just have to go with your handbaggage.. that's how i have done it in the past, even if i changed airlines. The only time you got to recheck the checked luggage is if you are changing airlines / crossing customs at some point. Otherwise you dont.
He is 'crossing customs' because it's international.
The international terminals of airports are treated a bit differently, depends on the country but it's not exactly the same as entering a country (think The Terminal)
kami333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 04:00 PM   #13
ElFenix
Elite Member
Super Moderator
Off Topic
 
ElFenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 94,082
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

Quote:
Originally posted by: aphex
Quote:
Originally posted by: kami333
Depends on the airport, the airline and your flights. Check and double check when you check in. Most of the time you are not even allowed out of the waiting area if you aren't staying in that country. Though since it is Europe you can probably go out.
Well, its Italy (EU) -> Switzerland -> US
i can't imagine your airline doesn't have a local number for italy.

if you're not leaving the terminal in Switzerland you probably won't have to recheck your luggage.
__________________
I killed and ate the Fun Mod with some jellybeans and a little Chianti.

AnandTech Mean Moderator
ElFenix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 05:00 PM   #14
Mill
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 28,561
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

No, you will not have to recheck until you get to Miami -- unless Miami is your final destination. Inside Schengen areas you should not have to recheck on a layover. All passengers coming into the US must claim their baggage to go through Customs. If MIA is your final destination you will then clear Customs and exit the airport. If you are flying on to MCO or TPA you will have to recheck your bags after you clear Customs.

Hope this helps.

Mill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 05:03 PM   #15
LS20
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5,859
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

sometimes ive had to , sometimes i dont
LS20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 08:05 PM   #16
AndrewR
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 11,159
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

Highly doubtful. The only time you have to do that is if you are transferring from an international flight to a domestic one. Last year, I flew from Kuwait City -> Amsterdam -> Chicago and didn't touch my bags until O'Hare, when I had to pick them up to recheck for the flight home to Ohio (ie., domestic). I just flew from Seoul -> Chicago -> Dayton and had to pick up the bags in Chicago for the same reason.

Come to think of it, we flew Hong Kong -> Taipei -> Okinawa, Japan and didn't touch our bags on that layover either.
AndrewR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 08:22 PM   #17
jadinolf
Lifer
 
jadinolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ojai, CA
Posts: 20,952
Default Customs during an international layover - Do we have to recheck the luggage?

Quote:
Originally posted by: FoBoT
whatever you do, do NOT call your airline and ask them about this

post on some more boards and average out the answers

chubwallter, ars, newegg, dotslash, just keep asking on the internets
Darned right.
__________________
This post printed on 100% recycled bytes
jadinolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.