Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2010, 09:02 AM   #1
WC Annihilus
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 156
Default SSD Secure Erase Freeze Lock

Is there any easy way to bypass the BIOS freeze lock to run secure erase besides hotplugging the drives? And if not, is there any reasonable alternative to secure erase? I just want to be able to clean and rebuild my RAID array without dealing with going into my case and fiddling in there. Motherboard is MSI P55-GD65 BIOS 1.6 set to IDE and drives are 3x Kingston X25-V's. I've tried both Parted Magic and hdparm in GPart. Both HDDErase 3.3 and 4.0 freeze on the screen past the agreements without showing any drives
__________________
Core i5 750 3.8GHz@1.3v under OCZ Vendetta 2
MSI P55-GD65
3x Kingston X25-V RAID0
2x Evga 9600GT SSC SLI
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3-1600
Corsair VX550w, Ghettoed Antec Super Lanboy

Heat: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=48663
WC Annihilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 11:56 AM   #2
razel
Golden Member
 
razel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sunny Los Angeles
Posts: 1,158
Default

Check your BIOS and enable IDE mode or disable ACHI, remember to enable ACHI again after you're done. Otherwise, only way I got it done was to hot swap (plug and unplug) the drive just before executing hdparm.

However I did run into some situations where the after the secure-erase in hdparm, the drive did not reset the password back to blank. So make sure you remember the password.
razel is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.