Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2010, 12:24 PM   #1
BlahBlahYouToo
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12,050
Default if my speakers crackle and pop when i adjust the volume, what does that mean?

is it on its way out?
logitech z560's - crackle and pop at the slightest turn of the volume knob.
__________________
3429
BlahBlahYouToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 12:26 PM   #2
YOyoYOhowsDAjello
Moderator
A/V & Home Theater
Elite member
 
YOyoYOhowsDAjello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'll tell you guys after the scavenger hunt is done.
Posts: 31,163
Default

Turn the speakers off. Then turn the volume knob all the way up and down 20 times in a row really fast. Then try again.

(To get dust / dirt out of the volume controller)
__________________
Me
YOyoYOhowsDAjello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 02:37 PM   #3
ericlp
Diamond Member
 
ericlp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pahoa Hawaii
Posts: 5,473
Default

dirty pot
ericlp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 10:24 PM   #4
BlahBlahYouToo
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YOyoYOhowsDAjello View Post
Turn the speakers off. Then turn the volume knob all the way up and down 20 times in a row really fast. Then try again.

(To get dust / dirt out of the volume controller)
groovy.
__________________
3429
BlahBlahYouToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 07:28 AM   #5
Tiamat
Lifer
 
Tiamat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 14,017
Default

The volume pot probably has some dust in it. Compressed air while turning the pot clockwise and counterclockwise should help.
Tiamat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 10:27 AM   #6
spinejam
Diamond Member
 
spinejam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lumberton, NC
Posts: 3,386
Default

my z's do the same thing sometimes. do like the others -- blow 'em!
__________________
Heatware
Asus P67 Sabertooth | 2700k @4.8 Ghz | H80 Cooler |
2x4GB Samsung Green 1600 @2133Mhz | Corsair ForceGT 180GB x2 RAID0 | Seagate 3TB |
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC (1200c 1600m - Hynix) | Samsung SH-S223Q x2 | CoolerMaster HAF-922 | Antec HCG 900W | Shimian QH270-IPSI 2560x1440 Tempered Glass
spinejam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 11:31 AM   #7
Rubycon
Madame President
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,838
Default

Get Caig'd.

http://www.caig.com/

Never have a problem with noisy pots again!

Believe me when you have thousands of sliders/pots on a board that get changed daily during performances you CANNOT have crackle!
Rubycon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 12:01 PM   #8
Anarchist420
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,225
Default

logitech seems to make the worst speakers.

edit: What sound card do you have?
Anarchist420 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 05:33 PM   #9
Modelworks
Lifer
 
Modelworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16,237
Default

WD40 works when you can't get anything else.
Modelworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 05:38 PM   #10
0roo0roo
No Lifer
 
0roo0roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 64,096
Default

happens with klipsch/cambridge speakers as well.
pots pots pots...sucky sucky pots.
give the spray a try.
not sure why they are designed to suck that hard, maybe its a cheapness thing.
but even relatively cheap recievers with big old knobs tend not to develop the crackle pop like computer speakers do.
__________________
__________________
0roo0roo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 06:05 PM   #11
BlahBlahYouToo
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarchist420 View Post
logitech seems to make the worst speakers.

edit: What sound card do you have?
sb x-fi, but yoyo's trick already cleaned it out.
thanks fellers.
__________________
3429
BlahBlahYouToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 06:13 PM   #12
Modelworks
Lifer
 
Modelworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16,237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0roo0roo View Post
happens with klipsch/cambridge speakers as well.
pots pots pots...sucky sucky pots.
give the spray a try.
not sure why they are designed to suck that hard, maybe its a cheapness thing.
but even relatively cheap recievers with big old knobs tend not to develop the crackle pop like computer speakers do.
In the old days, back in the 8track era, the stereos had felt with slits cut into it that the shaft or slider would stick through to protect dust from getting into the pots. Now they just stick a plastic knob on the shaft and hope for the best.
Modelworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 07:10 PM   #13
Rubycon
Madame President
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Modelworks View Post
In the old days, back in the 8track era, the stereos had felt with slits cut into it that the shaft or slider would stick through to protect dust from getting into the pots. Now they just stick a plastic knob on the shaft and hope for the best.
Better gear uses conductive plastic pots instead of carbon.

Stuff these days is so cheaply made, however.
Rubycon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 11:16 AM   #14
tk149
Diamond Member
 
tk149's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubycon View Post
Get Caig'd.

http://www.caig.com/

Never have a problem with noisy pots again!

Believe me when you have thousands of sliders/pots on a board that get changed daily during performances you CANNOT have crackle!
Thanks, I'm going to try this on my old stereo receiver.
__________________
Heatware

(\__/)
(='.'=) = Bunny loves pancakes!
(")_(")
tk149 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 12:33 PM   #15
Billb2
Platinum Member
 
Billb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 2,543
Default

Spray contact cleaner into the pot, twist the heck out of it, WIN.
__________________
I want my Old Guy avatar back
Billb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 02:45 PM   #16
Oyeve
Lifer
 
Oyeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Modelworks View Post
WD40 works when you can't get anything else.
NAY! WD40 leaves a crappy residue that will, over time, make pots even worse.
__________________
My Heat
Oyeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 04:26 PM   #17
conorvansmack
Diamond Member
 
conorvansmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Muskego, WI
Posts: 4,801
Default

My z560s do the same thing. I'll give it a try this weekend and post my results.
__________________
Actions speak louder than ink.
Heat
conorvansmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 06:27 PM   #18
0roo0roo
No Lifer
 
0roo0roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 64,096
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubycon View Post
Better gear uses conductive plastic pots instead of carbon.

Stuff these days is so cheaply made, however.
yea found this
http://sound.westhost.com/pots.htm
no guides online on how to...
probably not worth the effort.
cheapo ones at radio shack are probably carbon, they don't specify, the other types are kinda hard to buy online apparently.
__________________
__________________
0roo0roo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 11:53 PM   #19
conorvansmack
Diamond Member
 
conorvansmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Muskego, WI
Posts: 4,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YOyoYOhowsDAjello View Post
Turn the speakers off. Then turn the volume knob all the way up and down 20 times in a row really fast. Then try again.
(To get dust / dirt out of the volume controller)
Worked like a charm on my z560s too. Thanks for the tip!
__________________
Actions speak louder than ink.
Heat
conorvansmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 09:52 PM   #20
highernrg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Wow. I just gave away a perfectly good pair of Klipsch 2.1 computer speakers for doing this very same thing. I thought it was Klipsch so I replaced them with Axiom Audiobytes which were/are great until they started doing the same damn thing when I turned the volume. I just used air to clean the volume knob as recommended and it totally eliminated the popping.

I had to sign up just to say thank you for this no brainer (now that I know) solution.
And thanks for the caig.com link too, looks cool.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiamat View Post
The volume pot probably has some dust in it. Compressed air while turning the pot clockwise and counterclockwise should help.
highernrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 10:11 PM   #21
Tristicus
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 8,111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarchist420 View Post
logitech seems to make the worst speakers.

edit: What sound card do you have?
Stick to trolling P&N...kthx.
Tristicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 01:59 PM   #22
BurnItDwn
Lifer
 
BurnItDwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Wauconda, IL
Posts: 18,633
Default

Hah wow ... I have an old stereo reliever from the 80s hooked up to my main PC with some 70s era Epiphone speakers... I rarely adjust the volume, as usually the volume adjustments built into windows or winamp usually take care of my needs, but I'll have to try shutting it off and maxing/minning the volume a bunch of times .... would be nice if I could adjust the volume properly!
BurnItDwn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 02:30 PM   #23
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
alkemyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 78,967
Default

DeoxIt and FaderLube.
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 04:24 PM   #24
TapWater
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YOyoYOhowsDAjello View Post
Turn the speakers off. Then turn the volume knob all the way up and down 20 times in a row really fast. Then try again.

(To get dust / dirt out of the volume controller)
I can't believe this worked. Thanks. All this time almost from new. Then I did it and it worked. I thought you were gee-ing up lol
TapWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 06:01 PM   #25
NutBucket
Lifer
 
NutBucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: West SFV
Posts: 21,854
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alkemyst View Post
DeoxIt and FaderLube.
Yep. My two best friends when dealing with old stereo gear. By old, I mean from the 70s or earlier. Kids these days....
NutBucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.