Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2010, 05:22 PM   #1
aigomorla
Cases & Cooling
Moderator
 
aigomorla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Out Singing in the Rain~
Posts: 14,890
Default Sneak Peak at Gulftown.

So my sponsor replies with a "meh.. Ok"

Hehe..

Here you guys go on an EOL'd A0 stepping Q3QP.

We start off with this here. *I borrowed this picture, this isnt mine*


Stock settings, Turbo mode on.


Now lets have some fun.


How fast is it?


Chessmark Cyclone xTreme II?


Not interested in synthetics.. show you RL apps?
Want Crunching stats on it... 12 working threads:


Average Completion times:


Max Point Optimized for raw points:


I was pulling close to 50k / day on WCG points.

(10 image Max) <---
__________________
Have a watercooling question?
Newbies Guide to H20 Coolingl

Anandtech Case and Cooling Moderator
Anandtech's Watercooling God err Mod.

Last edited by aigomorla; 01-25-2010 at 05:28 PM.
aigomorla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 05:22 PM   #2
aigomorla
Cases & Cooling
Moderator
 
aigomorla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Out Singing in the Rain~
Posts: 14,890
Default

Using HWInfo64 shows this:


Another HWinfo:


I would of loved to take the chip higher, however, it ran into some problems and has a hard time booting.
Kindly tho, my sponsor has gotten me a i7 980... and it has arrived today.

I will finish this portion on the 980 possibly later today.
__________________
Have a watercooling question?
Newbies Guide to H20 Coolingl

Anandtech Case and Cooling Moderator
Anandtech's Watercooling God err Mod.

Last edited by aigomorla; 01-25-2010 at 05:29 PM.
aigomorla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 05:31 PM   #3
spinejam
Diamond Member
 
spinejam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lumberton, NC
Posts: 3,408
Default

tx for the info / pics. that looks very nice -- maybe i'll skip the i7-920 bandwagon for now!
__________________
Heatware
Asus P67 Sabertooth | 2700k @4.8 Ghz | H80 Cooler |
2x4GB Samsung Green 1600 @2133Mhz | Corsair ForceGT 180GB x2 RAID0 | Seagate 3TB |
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC (1200c 1600m - Hynix) | Samsung SH-S223Q x2 | CoolerMaster HAF-922 | Antec HCG 900W | Shimian QH270-IPSI 2560x1440 Tempered Glass
spinejam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 05:38 PM   #4
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,256
Default

HOLY CRAP that's awesome. It's wayyyy beyond anything I need right now, but good lord it's badass. Thanks for posting this.
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 05:38 PM   #5
Maximilian
Lifer
 
Maximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11,861
Default

That is one huge die.
__________________
>2014
>sig line limit of 90 characters
Maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 05:42 PM   #6
StrangerGuy
Diamond Member
 
StrangerGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7,130
Default

What exactly is the stuff between the die and the IHS?
StrangerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 05:51 PM   #7
Jd007
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StrangerGuy View Post
What exactly is the stuff between the die and the IHS?
TIM to facilitate better heat transfer (in case the IHS doesn't touch parts of the die).
Jd007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:07 PM   #8
PottedMeat
Lifer
 
PottedMeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,470
Default

yeah that's a monster die.

the material on the heat spreader doesn't look like thermal interface material - it looks like solder.
PottedMeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:08 PM   #9
faxon
Platinum Member
 
faxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default

solder
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
I ordered 3 screens from Dell and two of them came packed in dead oompa loompas. The third oompa loompa was alive.
2600k@4.6GHz, 3x Sapphire 7950s, MSI P67A-GD80, 4x4GB GSkill DDR1600, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w, 2x 1Tb F1 RAID1. D5>Apogee XT>MCR320-QP>FrozenQ Res for the CPU.
faxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:10 PM   #10
Hey Zeus
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: All Around You
Posts: 780
Default

Aig,

Who do i need to suck off to get sponsored like you?
Hey Zeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:11 PM   #11
aigomorla
Cases & Cooling
Moderator
 
aigomorla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Out Singing in the Rain~
Posts: 14,890
Default

Its a TIM Solder.

So its both.
__________________
Have a watercooling question?
Newbies Guide to H20 Coolingl

Anandtech Case and Cooling Moderator
Anandtech's Watercooling God err Mod.
aigomorla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:24 PM   #12
Tsavo
Platinum Member
 
Tsavo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,316
Default

Wow...a discovery of a life time!

I opened the image in Photoshop to see if I could make out some manufacturing information, and found this.

This is the fabled CPU of Turin!

Tsavo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:17 PM   #13
Gillbot
Lifer
 
Gillbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Who Cares
Posts: 28,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hey Zeus View Post
Aig,

Who do i need to suck off to get sponsored like you?
Aigo sucks off himself last I heard.
__________________
My Heatware
Gillbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:33 PM   #14
Hey Zeus
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: All Around You
Posts: 780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillbot View Post
Aigo sucks off himself last I heard.
Kinky. I'd watch and help
Hey Zeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:52 PM   #15
faxon
Platinum Member
 
faxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default

ed: nm
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
I ordered 3 screens from Dell and two of them came packed in dead oompa loompas. The third oompa loompa was alive.
2600k@4.6GHz, 3x Sapphire 7950s, MSI P67A-GD80, 4x4GB GSkill DDR1600, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w, 2x 1Tb F1 RAID1. D5>Apogee XT>MCR320-QP>FrozenQ Res for the CPU.
faxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 10:56 PM   #16
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hey Zeus View Post
Kinky. I'd watch and help
Eww Think I just threw up in my mouth alittle.
__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | MSI 7970 Ghz + Kraken G10 & H55 | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 11:10 PM   #17
EnzoLT
Golden Member
 
EnzoLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 1,742
Default

omg drool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11
__________________
Brute

{HEAT}...enzolt
EnzoLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 12:22 AM   #18
Dadofamunky
Platinum Member
 
Dadofamunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,183
Default

Tsavo's one-liner and doctored photo might qualify as the funniest of the year! And we're not even finished with January yet! CPU of Turin indeed. ROTFLMAOPMP.
__________________
i7 2600K@4.35 GHz, Asus Sabertooth Z77, 16 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24-1T 1.5V, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD , 2x1TB Spinpoint F3 Raid 0, Seagate 3TB external USB3 drive, Samsung BluRay, Corsair GS600, CM Hyper 212+ push-pull, EVGA GTX 570, 2x Samsung 2333T PVA panels, Win 7 64-bit

What's that chip you got, a Dorito?
Dadofamunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 02:15 AM   #19
DrMrLordX
Diamond Member
 
DrMrLordX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,073
Default

Impressive overclock. What did you use to cool it, and is the chip shot entirely or just unstable above 4.3 ghz?
__________________
. . .
DrMrLordX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 03:21 AM   #20
Scholzpdx
Diamond Member
 
Scholzpdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,183
Default

12 threads total? Wow.

If it is priced decently, this will last longer and remain more competitive than the Q6600 was for it's time. And we all know, that's saying a lot.
__________________
Desktop: FX-8350 @ 4.2Ghz - 8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC-14900 - Radeon 6870 1GB - 2x 1680x1050 22" - X-Fi Xtreme Gamer SB0770 - 80GB OCZ SSD - 2.6TB on 3x HDD

Official Member of the ATOT Night Crew
Scholzpdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 03:33 AM   #21
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: my chair
Posts: 12,492
Default

why is Intel focusing on six core and dual core cpus with 32nm yet no desktop quads? we dont really need a six core cpu with HT and a dual core isnt enough for many games now. bring on some 32nm desktop quads please.

oh is there any more info on the Xeon 32nm quads and will they be able to work in regular desktop motherboards???
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | Asus reference GTX 980 | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS

Last edited by toyota; 01-26-2010 at 03:39 AM.
toyota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 05:37 AM   #22
Borealis7
Platinum Member
 
Borealis7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,141
Default

for any task that would require a quad core, 6 cores will be better.
for games, fast dual cores are still better than quad cores.

this makes sense IMO.
__________________
Jesus Saves. The rest of you take 2d10 Fire Damage.

Rig:
i5 2500K @ 4.4GHz / Noctua NH-C14 | GA-Z77X-D3H | ZOTAC GTX680 | 8GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill | Samsung S23A700D 120Hz | SeaSonic 650W PSU
Borealis7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 05:40 AM   #23
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: my chair
Posts: 12,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borealis7 View Post
for any task that would require a quad core, 6 cores will be better.
for games, fast dual cores are still better than quad cores.

this makes sense IMO.
no that doesnt make sense to me though. for the vast majority of gamers and multi taskers a fast quad would be better from a price/performance stand point than a dual or six core cpu. what I mean is that the quads(i5) are not much more than the 32nm dual cores so there is very little reason to sacrifice any performance just to save 50-75 bucks up front. then the six core cpus will be VERY expensive so again it just doesnt make any sense not to have some desktop 32nm quads.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | Asus reference GTX 980 | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS

Last edited by toyota; 01-26-2010 at 05:43 AM.
toyota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 05:58 AM   #24
A554SS1N
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
Wow...a discovery of a life time!

I opened the image in Photoshop to see if I could make out some manufacturing information, and found this.

This is the fabled CPU of Turin!
Heh, I see what you did there - nice photoshop
A554SS1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 07:46 AM   #25
aclim
Senior Member
 
aclim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 475
Default

wow very nice. Me wants
__________________
Heat

Steam- aclim
aclim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.