· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Old 01-09-2010, 11:21 PM   #1
weflyhigh

Default BA vs. BS in economics

I have decided that pursuing a degree in economics would be best for me. I am currently a sophomore in college and now I have to choose a major (undecided currently).
My school offers both a bachelor of arts and a bachelor of science in economics. Looking at the course requirements for both, the BS requires a lot more economics classes and also ones specifically quantitative. The BA requires a LOT more general education credits and also pursuing a language for a significant amount of credits. My gut instinct is to go with the BS (which is what my dad has also, but from uPenn) since it seems like it is a more serious degree and also I have no problem working with numbers and do consider myself decent at math.
However, the BA degree would obviously be much less work to receive. Since I am starting the major late (4th semester), that might help me out a lot, though. Another thing is that I will be active duty after graduation. If I get the BA, it seems to be much more broad, which might leave more options available, then?

BA pros: Less work; leaves options more broad after service?; did I mention less work?
BA cons: Not getting as solid of a foundation in economics, it would seems; employers might take into consideration amount of work?; have to take more language courses (not too fond)

BS pros: Get a good foundation in economics; more accepted degree?; might say something about character?; Good amount of computer work (I'd like to say I am pretty knowledgeable with computers, which would put me ahead)
BS cons: More work and especially more work for me because I am joining later than some; while I am good with computers, I do not want a career based around them; More specific (with numbers and all), which might be bad considering a 4-8 year break after schooling; oh yea - more work