Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2010, 04:22 PM   #1
996GT2
Diamond Member
 
996GT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,807
Default Flashing Intel X25-V firmware on the Kingston 40GB

The newly released Intel 40GB SSD has the same controller (and persumably internals) as the Kingson 40GB, but it has the added benefit of supporting TRIM.

Since the hardware is essentially the same, is there any way to flash the Intel TRIM firmware onto the Kingston drive?
__________________
Heatware

Core i7-2700K @ 5.0 GHz, 1.38V (HT on) | Maximus IV GENE-Z
4x4GB Samsung 30nm @ DDR3-2133 | Asus GTX 670
Plextor M3 | 2x WD Black 1TB |Xonar DX
Silverstone SG09 | Seasonic X-750
996GT2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 09:34 PM   #2
Teetu
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 226
Default

I was thinking the same thing, but I noticed the performance specs are slightly different so I don't know if the internals are identical. If the firmware isn't compatible, I hope this is an indication that kingston will have a trim firmware out soon.
Teetu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 10:56 PM   #3
her209
No Lifer
 
her209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ::1
Posts: 56,079
Default

Can't be done.
__________________
Stop pleasing others and start pleasing yourself.
her209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:51 AM   #4
gayannr
Junior Member
 
gayannr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sri Lanka
Posts: 7
Default

I don't think the hardware is essentially the same, Write speeds are tad slower than the SSDNow and the MTBF is 1.2Million with the Intel drive where as the SSDNow is 1.0Million
gayannr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 01:45 PM   #5
EarthwormJim
Diamond Member
 
EarthwormJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Socal
Posts: 3,204
Default

Intel's firmware update software looks for Intel device ids. So you'd have to be able to modify the firmware for it to let you flash the Kingston drive. Even then who knows if it would work properly.

This is a good thing, I thought I had remembered reading Kingston was waiting for Intel to release their own version of the 40gb drive before TRIM came out on the SSDNow.
EarthwormJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:53 PM   #6
gayannr
Junior Member
 
gayannr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sri Lanka
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthwormJim View Post
Intel's firmware update software looks for Intel device ids. So you'd have to be able to modify the firmware for it to let you flash the Kingston drive. Even then who knows if it would work properly.

This is a good thing, I thought I had remembered reading Kingston was waiting for Intel to release their own version of the 40gb drive before TRIM came out on the SSDNow.
Year I had read it on Legitreviews SSDNow 40GB review
gayannr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:17 AM   #7
tornad63
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Hi all!
The TRIM support will never come out
I ask to the french (i'm french ) support and their reply was "no"
Is there someone can try to contact the support to confirm that?
tornad63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:33 AM   #8
EarthwormJim
Diamond Member
 
EarthwormJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Socal
Posts: 3,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tornad63 View Post
Hi all!
The TRIM support will never come out
I ask to the french (i'm french ) support and their reply was "no"
Is there someone can try to contact the support to confirm that?
I really wouldn't trust any sort of news about changes to a product from a company's support line. In another thread a Kingston phone rep didn't even know that this drive used an Intel controller.
EarthwormJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:37 AM   #9
tornad63
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default

I hope you are right !
Sorry for my bad english
tornad63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:30 AM   #10
CurseTheSky
Diamond Member
 
CurseTheSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tornad63 View Post
I hope you are right !
Sorry for my bad english
Your English is almost as good as dozens of people that speak it natively on this (and similar) forums. I wouldn't be too concerned.

I sure hope Kingston releases TRIM firmware for the drive. I would hate to see these turn into the "latest" Intel X-25M G1 drives...
__________________
We're all going to die someday, regardless of race, gender, beliefs, or any other differences.

The where, when, and how are things that we can try to control, but in the end, it's the mark that we leave on this world that we truly have power over.
CurseTheSky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 08:46 AM   #11
rivethead
Golden Member
 
rivethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,199
Default

Count me as another who hopes Kingston comes out with a firmware update that gives TRIM to the 40GB SSDNow.

I believe that Legitreviews article quoted a Kingston PR rep. Probably more reliable that customer service reps (the bottom of the corporate foodchain). Hopefully!
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon II x4 620 Propus (OC’d to 3.4 GHz) | Mobo: MSI 785GM-E65
Mem: GSkill 2x2GB 1600 DDR3 | VC: Sapphire ATI Radeon 6850 (1GB)
Boot Drive: Kingston SSDNow 40GB | Data Drive: Seagate 750GB sata drive (32MB buffer 7200rpm)
Case: Coolermaster 912 HAF | PSU: Corsair CX430
OS: W7 Home Premium (64 Bit) | Monitor: ASUS 236H 23” (1920 x1080)
rivethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:04 PM   #12
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gayannr View Post
I don't think the hardware is essentially the same, Write speeds are tad slower than the SSDNow and the MTBF is 1.2Million with the Intel drive where as the SSDNow is 1.0Million
a Mean Time Before Failure of 1 million hours = 114 years (114.1552511415525 to be exact)
You can rest assured that the MTBF figures published by any drive on the market are firmly pulled out of marketing's nether regions. (oh they sometimes loosely "base" them on some experiments and pseudo math done to the results, but it is meaningless).

that being said, just because the specs appear identical doesn't mean that the devices are cross flashable.
Just wait for the kingstone firmware upgrade for it.
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 07:10 AM   #13
tornad63
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default

I can confirm now what kingson reply to me.....
This is an article from a french site ,it's about the CES 2010 and an interview of Louis Kaneshiro, Kingston senior technology manager:
Quote:
Concernant l’affaire des SSD de 40 Go basés sur le X-25V d’Intel, nous avons appris le fin mot de l’histoire sur le retrait de la vente de ce SSD. Kingston a en effet demandé à Intel de pouvoir supporter le TRIM sur son SSD, ce que le géant de Santa Clara a refusé. La raison est probablement qu’Intel voulait se réserver ce support pour son X25-V qui sort ces jours ci. Kingston a estimé que sortir un SSD sans support du TRIM à l’heure de Windows 7 n’était pas une bonne stratégie et a donc décidé de jeter l’éponge.
Use a translate tools
It say that INTEL doesn't allow kingston to use the TRIM firmware...
tornad63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 09:04 AM   #14
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

This is a little better.........

Quote:
Concerning the matter of the SSD of 40 based Go on the X-25V of Intel, we learned the fine word of the history on the collection of the sale of this SSD. Kingston in fact asked Intel to be able to bear the TRIM on his SSD, which the giant of Santa Clara refused. The reason probably is that Intel wanted to reserve itself this support for his X25-V that goes out these days. Kingston considered that go out a SSD without support of the TRIM per hour of Windows 7 was not a good strategy and has therefore decided to throw the sponge.
They're throwin' in the sponge.
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 10:34 PM   #15
jjmIII
Diamond Member
 
jjmIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 8,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Hippie View Post
This is a little better.........

They're throwin' in the sponge.
more here...use Bing translater in your ie8 accelerator

Looks like Intel is unable to supply too..
__________________
Heatware
jjmIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 04:04 AM   #16
996GT2
Diamond Member
 
996GT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,807
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjmIII View Post
more here...use Bing translater in your ie8 accelerator

Looks like Intel is unable to supply too..
So all of us Kingston 40GB owners are essentially out of luck then?
__________________
Heatware

Core i7-2700K @ 5.0 GHz, 1.38V (HT on) | Maximus IV GENE-Z
4x4GB Samsung 30nm @ DDR3-2133 | Asus GTX 670
Plextor M3 | 2x WD Black 1TB |Xonar DX
Silverstone SG09 | Seasonic X-750
996GT2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 10:40 AM   #17
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 996GT2 View Post
So all of us Kingston 40GB owners are essentially out of luck then?
Looks like it to me.
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 07:19 PM   #18
Duffy Moon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default

I am currently complaining about this on the Intel forum
http://communities.intel.com/message/80840#80840

When I complained to Kingston (who told me in November that:
Quote:
Currently the Kingston SSDNow V 40GB SSD does not support TRIM. However we will
have it on our drive as it is on our roadmap"
)

they replied last week with this:

Quote:
OK. Thirst fhings first.

Kingston has never promised that we shall have TRIMM on V40 so it could not have been the only condition for you purchasing the drive.

Secondly, we still have no answer from Intel as to the future.

I have submitted a new query with management on what is the newest on TRIMM.

I will be writing to you whenever I have a definite answer.
I am awaiting answers from both companies before I get angry.
Duffy Moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:03 AM   #19
rivethead
Golden Member
 
rivethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,199
Default

Maybe I'm interpreting this incorrectly, but it sounds to me like Intel won't allow Kingston to use their firmware (TRIM supporting) on the the Kingston drive.

Fine. So be it. Couldn't Kingston just write their own proprietary firmware that would provide TRIM support?
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon II x4 620 Propus (OC’d to 3.4 GHz) | Mobo: MSI 785GM-E65
Mem: GSkill 2x2GB 1600 DDR3 | VC: Sapphire ATI Radeon 6850 (1GB)
Boot Drive: Kingston SSDNow 40GB | Data Drive: Seagate 750GB sata drive (32MB buffer 7200rpm)
Case: Coolermaster 912 HAF | PSU: Corsair CX430
OS: W7 Home Premium (64 Bit) | Monitor: ASUS 236H 23” (1920 x1080)
rivethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:18 AM   #20
Duffy Moon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rivethead View Post
Fine. So be it. Couldn't Kingston just write their own proprietary firmware that would provide TRIM support?
Since the Kingston 40GB drive uses an Intel controller, it would probably be very difficult and possibly illegal for them to write firmware for it if Intel were unwilling to let them have the necessary code (I'm just guessing here).
I suppose a clever programmer could modify the Intel firmware to work on the Kingston drive, but Intel wouldn't be happy!
Duffy Moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 04:42 PM   #21
Lewy
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 32
Default I want trim!

The only reason I bought the 40 GB Kingston was the promise of trim support in the future.
I'm sure there are many of us in the same boat on that? I wouldn't have it on my newly built W7 system now if I didn't think that trim support was coming. How can Intel openly sell both a control chip and memory to a vender and not support it properly. I am very disappointed; they are crazy if they think that improper support for their products will translate to any kind of good business practice. To me it simply translates to cutthroat business practice. It's like selling a chipset to a company like Gigabyte and not supporting new drivers for it. To put it bluntly this is ridiculous. IMHO
__________________
LEWY
Lewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:37 PM   #22
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

Quote:
The only reason I bought the 40 GB Kingston was the promise of trim support in the future.
I see this alot. Could you link me to an official statement that promises TRIM?
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:55 PM   #23
Duffy Moon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Hippie View Post
I see this alot. Could you link me to an official statement that promises TRIM?
Scroll up. The quote I posted was from a Kingston support staff member. The same statement had been seen elsewhere, so was obviously from some internal Kingston memo. If they now say they never promised it, that would be stretching credibility.
Most reviews of the drive said TRIM was forthcoming, and since the G2 controller is known to be capable of it, a company would be crazy not to implement it wouldn't they?
Maybe Kingston are just crazy.
Duffy Moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 06:20 PM   #24
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

Quote:
The quote I posted was from a Kingston support staff member. The same statement had been seen elsewhere, so was obviously from some internal Kingston memo. If they now say they never promised it, that would be stretching credibility.
It may be stretching credibility but I doubt a quote from support is the final word on anything.

It seems to be widely believed that TRIM was set in stone and Kingston is now saying it was never promised.

Seems the TRIM rumor got started by them but was never etched in stone.

If there's anything in writing/advertising/verifiable comment from someone in authority you may have a chance for a resolution.

But other than that you could put Kingston and Intel on the no-buy shit list.

I've got Gigabyte and Creative on mine.
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 08:40 PM   #25
Teetu
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 226
Default

I only purchased the kingston because I thought it would eventually support trim. If I would have known that intel was releasing a 40GB drive with trim I definitely would have waited. I'm thinking of selling my kingston and getting the intel.
Teetu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.