Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2009, 03:00 PM   #1
Deanodarlo
Senior Member
 
Deanodarlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 679
Default Old motherboards still doing you proud :)

Some older motherboards unfortunately died an early death due to issues with bad capacitors, but some made it through to the modern times.

Have you still got a motherboard running today that still finds a use?

I have the once legendary Epox 8KHA+ sat at my parents house with a XP 1500+, 512MB ram and a Geforce 2 GTS.

They use it for internet surfing and emails - and you know what, it still runs like a champ!

Luckily it didn't have bad caps, and of course Epox are now gone.

Last edited by Deanodarlo; 12-24-2009 at 03:30 PM.
Deanodarlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 03:33 PM   #2
her209
No Lifer
 
her209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ::1
Posts: 56,109
Default

I still have computers running Asus CUSL2 motherboards that still work.
__________________
Stop pleasing others and start pleasing yourself.
her209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 05:08 PM   #3
PM650
Senior Member
 
PM650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 476
Default

A7N8X Deluxe - retired it last year, it's now my mom's machine.
Abit KR7A (KT266A) - been my dad's machine since I upgraded to the A7N8X years ago.

Both had bad caps (although neither died as a result), both still working flawlessly to this day after the caps were replaced a year ago
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by yh125d
bookmarked to read tomorrow at work
PM650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 05:14 PM   #4
2March
Member
 
2March's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by her209 View Post
I still have computers running Asus CUSL2 motherboards that still work.
Same here. With a PIII 600E Coppermine at 952 MHz.
Donated it to a youth home a couple of months ago. They just don't die
2March is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 06:38 PM   #5
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

ex gf still has a Abit BM6 and celeron 366@550 running with a IBM Deathstar 10GB HDD, with original PC P&C PSU. Gave ex gf it 7 years ago and its still running today.
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 06:58 PM   #6
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,745
Default

I sell all of my old machines, I don't keep them around. Well, except for this XT computer I still have somewhere.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 11:11 AM   #7
sonoma1993
Diamond Member
 
sonoma1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 3,309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PM650 View Post
A7N8X Deluxe - retired it last year, it's now my mom's machine.
Abit KR7A (KT266A) - been my dad's machine since I upgraded to the A7N8X years ago.

Both had bad caps (although neither died as a result), both still working flawlessly to this day after the caps were replaced a year ago
I have an smoothwall firewall running with a Asus A7N8X motherboard. The two onboard network cards went bad on it. But other than that, no problems with it.
sonoma1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 04:37 PM   #8
Mattster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 333
Default

I had a K8N Neo-F (v2.0, from the Geeks $30 sale a few years ago). The SATA ports stopped working on it for some strange reason, but I think it might just be something wrong with the BIOS chip. So, as a replacement, I found a K8N Neo4 Platinum to replace it. It's running great now and even runs Windows 7 after I updated the Nvidia RAID BIOS with a newer module.
Mattster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 05:09 PM   #9
Rubycon
Madame President
 
Rubycon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,879
Default

Six Supermicro X5DAE dual Xeon S604 boards with 4GB RAM each. Running flawlessly since 2003!
Rubycon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 06:27 PM   #10
PM650
Senior Member
 
PM650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoma1993 View Post
I have an smoothwall firewall running with a Asus A7N8X motherboard. The two onboard network cards went bad on it. But other than that, no problems with it.
My router & nvidia lan on that board were taken out some years ago from lightning; just enabled the secondary 3Com, been working great ever since PS/2 ports haven't worked for years on it either (too much hot-plugging) - fuses still checked good so I have no idea what died. Even managed to survive a power supply failure from bad caps in it last year. Been the best board I've ever owned, imo.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by yh125d
bookmarked to read tomorrow at work
PM650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 06:54 PM   #11
kranky
Elite Member
 
kranky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Swissvale, PA
Posts: 20,090
Default

Up until 3 weeks ago, I was using a 5-year-old Asus P5GDC-V Deluxe which was working until I built the new rig and retired it.
__________________
Asus P7P55D EVO i7-860 PNY 1GB 9600GT 12GB 2x WD 640GB Black Corsair HX650 PSU Lian Li PC-B10
kranky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 07:24 PM   #12
Yowen
Member
 
Yowen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 116
Default

I have an MSI Nforce 2 based system still running, its a Neo Platinum something. Its currently my main computer as you can see in my sig. I hope to make it a secondary sooooon.
__________________
AMD 3200+ (754), 1GB Ballistix DDR, ATI 9800 Pro, 160GB x2 SATA
I intend to live forever, so far, so good.
Yowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 12:38 AM   #13
Ross Ridge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 830
Default

I have an Asus CUV4X that's still working. Uptil until a year ago it was a hand-me-down in my Mom's PC, but now it only gets occasional use as my legacy gaming PC.

While I'm not using them at all any more, I recently verified that my '386 (??? 386L), '486 (PC Chips? 80486 Deep Green) and Pentium (Houston Tech M550) motherboards are all still in working condition. Fortunately, they were all made before cheap faulty capacitors became a problem.
Ross Ridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 01:23 AM   #14
CraigRT
Lifer
 
CraigRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: London, ON, Canada
Posts: 31,443
Default

Got an Asus A7V880 still running 24/7 in the house.. I know I have some older ones that friends inherited that last I heard were still running. Also have an Abit BE6 based computer here too, doesnt see much use, its for experiments
__________________
My Cannondale
My Specialized
CraigRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:19 AM   #15
faxon
Platinum Member
 
faxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default

i got some shady emachine board in the original case with only the CPU and HDD as original parts, with a 2600+ Athlon. other than that i have a 2-3 years and bust record with mobos so far. my original board i had with a 755mhz duron fused to the chip, then i got an Abit IS7 with a northwood P4 W/HT and i had to RMA it like 4 times cause the chipset fan kept dying. finally sold it off to a buddy in 06 and after lasting ages with the replacement aftermarket fan i put on, that fan died and the chipset overheated, killing the board. then there was my S939 NF4 Ultra board from EVGA which the caps went bad on. sent it in for an RMA and loaned it off to the guy whose IS7 board died, but it died again and i didnt feel like dealing with it again. then the 680i i got to replace my athlon64 rig was plagued with southbridge related issues (bad SATA port, PCI slot, sound, all dead now). currently i have 2 working boxes based on gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P boards, lets see how long these last eh!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
I ordered 3 screens from Dell and two of them came packed in dead oompa loompas. The third oompa loompa was alive.
2600k@4.6GHz, 3x Sapphire 7950s, MSI P67A-GD80, 4x4GB GSkill DDR1600, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w, 2x 1Tb F1 RAID1. D5>Apogee XT>MCR320-QP>FrozenQ Res for the CPU.
faxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 09:26 AM   #16
her209
No Lifer
 
her209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ::1
Posts: 56,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2March View Post
Same here. With a PIII 600E Coppermine at 952 MHz.
Donated it to a youth home a couple of months ago. They just don't die
The only downer with these old mobos is that they only have USB 1.1.
__________________
Stop pleasing others and start pleasing yourself.
her209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 04:27 PM   #17
Deanodarlo
Senior Member
 
Deanodarlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by her209 View Post
The only downer with these old mobos is that they only have USB 1.1.
Yeah, so does my parent's Epox 8KHA+. But a USB2 card can be added for very little.
Deanodarlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 10:01 PM   #18
11427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 411
Default

I have a number of old rigs still running, the oldest utilizes a DFI K6BV3+/66. Also an ASUS A7N8X and A7N8X Deluxe R2, MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum and a DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR.
__________________
:beer: Nova :beer:
My Rigs
11427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 09:12 AM   #19
ahenkel
Diamond Member
 
ahenkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: BFE, Oregon
Posts: 5,167
Default

Can't recall the exact model but i've got an Epox board with Sdram and an old thunderbird logging temps for my grandpas hvac.
ahenkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 10:11 AM   #20
Rafael
Senior Member
 
Rafael's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 868
Default

I still have a Abit NF7-S rev. 2.0 that works, and a DFI NF4 Athlon 64 3200+ and 1 Gb ram still running.
__________________
My CPU
Rafael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 10:30 AM   #21
Replay
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,147
Default

FIC 503+ with AMD K6-3+ 450 @ 600 Mhz. Still in service after 10 years, for occasional duty, thanks to an ISA slot eeprom burner.

Some 6502, 8088, Z80, 8086, NEC V20, and 68000 stuff around here, either working in old arcade games, or languishing in boxes.
Replay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 01:07 PM   #22
In2Photos
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Default

Oldest I am still using is an MSI K8NGM2-FID Scoket 939, but I have an ASUS Socket A A7V that still works. The hard drive is toast in that machine though and I haven't done anything with it.
__________________
MSI X58 Pro
i7 920 Stock
XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V
G.SKILL 6GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 640GB
WD 500GB
ASUS 3450
COOLER MASTER RC-590
CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX
In2Photos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 04:37 PM   #23
Oyeve
Lifer
 
Oyeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,938
Default

Believe it or not but my mother still runs my old Compaq Deskpro 386/25 with windows 3.1 on it. Thing takes up her whole table in her room and she uses it to, no kidding, play solitare. I gave her a nice laptop a couple of years ago but she doesnt even turn it on. She only uses the Compaq. Going on well over 22 years now.
__________________
My Heat
Oyeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 05:07 AM   #24
JonathanYoung
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 377
Default

ECS K7VTA3 bought October 2004 for a file server at home. It's been running with an underclocked Sempron 24/7 and running Seti@home ever since. Unbelievable deal for $49 from Fry's.
JonathanYoung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 02:25 PM   #25
johnnydrinkawater
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PM650 View Post
My router & nvidia lan on that board were taken out some years ago from lightning; just enabled the secondary 3Com, been working great ever since PS/2 ports haven't worked for years on it either (too much hot-plugging) - fuses still checked good so I have no idea what died. Even managed to survive a power supply failure from bad caps in it last year. Been the best board I've ever owned, imo.
Same board here, current machine. Mine also survived the death of a cheap 550W Ultra PSU that fried my first gen iPod Nano.
johnnydrinkawater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.