Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-22-2009, 03:43 PM   #1
johnh123
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 57
Default computer restarts same time every day

About a week ago, my computer began to shutdown and reboot on its own every day at 11:49 am. I can't figure out why- there is nothing in my scheduled tasks that would do it. Any ideas as to what may be going on?
johnh123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 03:59 PM   #2
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 23,874
Default

It is possible that some recently installed app may have set that up. Go to Control Panel and check out your Power Options.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 04:23 PM   #3
TJCS
Senior Member
 
TJCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 859
Default

After you checked your power options and plan settings, the next thing you need to do is a full virus & spyware scan. We are assuming that you haven't installed any "intelligent" energy management software. But it looks like someone got their hands into your computer.
TJCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 10:48 PM   #4
NesuD
Diamond Member
 
NesuD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest
Posts: 4,338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnh123 View Post
About a week ago, my computer began to shutdown and reboot on its own every day at 11:49 am. I can't figure out why- there is nothing in my scheduled tasks that would do it. Any ideas as to what may be going on?
Are you present when it happens? or is there no one around when it happens.
__________________
Fractal Design Define R4
NZXT Kraken X60 Front mounted
Intel i7-3770K O.C. 4.5 Ghz 16 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series DDR3 1600
2 X ASUS R9 280X DirectCU II TOP Crossfire, Asrock Z77 Extreme4 Motherboard
1 Samsung 840 250 GiG SSD Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
3 1TB WD Caviar Black HDD's RAID5
NesuD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 11:41 PM   #5
RebateMonger
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
RebateMonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Posts: 11,592
Default

Is this an "normal" shutdown (where the applications and services shut down properly), or is this a "pull-the-plug" type shutdown. Look at the Windows System Event and Application Event Logs for what's happening at that time each day.
__________________
MCSE:Security:2003 - MCTS:SBS 2008 - Arizona's 1st Microsoft Small Business Specialist
--- In loving memory of my beautiful Australian Shepherd, Skye. July 2001-January 2010 ---
War on Terror 2000-2010 ~ Terrorist-caused Deaths < 10,000 ~ Bush's Wars > 1,000,000 ~ Winning?
RebateMonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 11:56 PM   #6
TJCS
Senior Member
 
TJCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NesuD View Post
Are you present when it happens? or is there no one around when it happens.
He's got a point. Make sure you don't have young children with itchy hands around your pc
TJCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 09:57 AM   #7
johnh123
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 57
Default

I am present when it happens. Nothing in the power settings. Here is what the event log says:

The process winlogon.exe has initiated the restart of xxx for the following reason: No title for the reason could be found
Minor reason: 0xff
Shutdown type: reboot
johnh123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:26 AM   #8
RebateMonger
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
RebateMonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Posts: 11,592
Default

Any idea what happened a week ago? Hardware or software install? Windows Update? Change in antivirus?
__________________
MCSE:Security:2003 - MCTS:SBS 2008 - Arizona's 1st Microsoft Small Business Specialist
--- In loving memory of my beautiful Australian Shepherd, Skye. July 2001-January 2010 ---
War on Terror 2000-2010 ~ Terrorist-caused Deaths < 10,000 ~ Bush's Wars > 1,000,000 ~ Winning?
RebateMonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:30 AM   #9
Zargon
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 11,718
Default

nothing in scheduled tasks?
__________________
heatware | steam | ebay
Reaumur(Gamer): Silverstone Raven02, Antec HCG900, Z77 Fata1ity/3770K, 16GB DDR3-1833, 2x7950@1Ghz, 27" IPS
Kelvin(3D-HTPC):Q9550 w/H50, P5G41, 4GB DDR2-1066, 5870 w accellero xtreme
Chill(Server): Thuban x6@3.3 wH50 8gb ddr3 4x1.5tb ESXi
Zargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 03:27 PM   #10
RadiclDreamer
Diamond Member
 
RadiclDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,027
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zargon View Post
nothing in scheduled tasks?
OP said nothing in scheduled tasks.

On to the issue, have you disabled all apps from startup to make sure it isnt an app calling for the reboot.
__________________
CCENT, CCNA, A+, Net+
RadiclDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 03:34 PM   #11
Zargon
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 11,718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadiclDreamer View Post
OP said nothing in scheduled tasks.

On to the issue, have you disabled all apps from startup to make sure it isnt an app calling for the reboot.

dur my bad.
__________________
heatware | steam | ebay
Reaumur(Gamer): Silverstone Raven02, Antec HCG900, Z77 Fata1ity/3770K, 16GB DDR3-1833, 2x7950@1Ghz, 27" IPS
Kelvin(3D-HTPC):Q9550 w/H50, P5G41, 4GB DDR2-1066, 5870 w accellero xtreme
Chill(Server): Thuban x6@3.3 wH50 8gb ddr3 4x1.5tb ESXi
Zargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 04:02 PM   #12
RadiclDreamer
Diamond Member
 
RadiclDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,027
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zargon View Post
dur my bad.
Happens to everyone from time to time
__________________
CCENT, CCNA, A+, Net+
RadiclDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 12:38 PM   #13
johnh123
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RebateMonger View Post
Any idea what happened a week ago? Hardware or software install? Windows Update? Change in antivirus?
No, there were no changes that i'm aware of. Where else could windows be forcing a shutdown if not in scheduled tasks?
johnh123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 12:57 PM   #14
RebateMonger
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
RebateMonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Posts: 11,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnh123 View Post
Where else could windows be forcing a shutdown if not in scheduled tasks?
Have you tried temporarily disabling Windows Update to make sure it's not doing it?
__________________
MCSE:Security:2003 - MCTS:SBS 2008 - Arizona's 1st Microsoft Small Business Specialist
--- In loving memory of my beautiful Australian Shepherd, Skye. July 2001-January 2010 ---
War on Terror 2000-2010 ~ Terrorist-caused Deaths < 10,000 ~ Bush's Wars > 1,000,000 ~ Winning?
RebateMonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 01:22 PM   #15
Zargon
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 11,718
Default

oddly enough, my brothers PC is doing something similar

except it wakes up and makes a god awful noise for 5 minutes then stops and goes back to doing nothing

no notifications nothing, I know this, because I slept in his office on a futon over xmas and it did it to me, and I couldnt figure out why

just like yours, nothing odd in task scheduler
__________________
heatware | steam | ebay
Reaumur(Gamer): Silverstone Raven02, Antec HCG900, Z77 Fata1ity/3770K, 16GB DDR3-1833, 2x7950@1Ghz, 27" IPS
Kelvin(3D-HTPC):Q9550 w/H50, P5G41, 4GB DDR2-1066, 5870 w accellero xtreme
Chill(Server): Thuban x6@3.3 wH50 8gb ddr3 4x1.5tb ESXi
Zargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 04:36 PM   #16
bruceb
Diamond Member
 
bruceb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wayne, New Jersey
Posts: 7,150
Default

Check to see if you have the Blaster Virus / Worm on your computer.
Instructions at this link for how to deal with it.

http://www.symantec.com/security_res...081119-5051-99
bruceb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 04:40 PM   #17
TJCS
Senior Member
 
TJCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 859
Default

If your computer has never done this before, and you understand what software you have installed on your PC then it can only be one of these three things.:

***1. You Got A Virus.
2. Hardware Failure
3. Someone else using your pc and tampering with settings behind your back.
TJCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 06:20 PM   #18
railman
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Mexico USA
Posts: 82
Default

ditto with TJCS
railman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 07:58 AM   #19
KGB
Diamond Member
 
KGB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,042
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJCS View Post
If your computer has never done this before, and you understand what software you have installed on your PC then it can only be one of these three things.:

***1. You Got A Virus.
2. Hardware Failure
3. Someone else using your pc and tampering with settings behind your back.
Is this PC on a UPS? Check your AC lines.
__________________
**** - The Home of Dumpster Sex!
KGB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:20 AM   #20
johnh123
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 57
Default

Checked for blaster and full virus scan; nothing found. But, it IS on a UPS- what do you mean, check my AC lines?
johnh123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 12:02 PM   #21
RebateMonger
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
RebateMonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Posts: 11,592
Default

Didn't know you have a UPS.

Uninstall the UPS software and completely disconnect the UPS from the computer, reboot the computer, and wait for 11:49.
__________________
MCSE:Security:2003 - MCTS:SBS 2008 - Arizona's 1st Microsoft Small Business Specialist
--- In loving memory of my beautiful Australian Shepherd, Skye. July 2001-January 2010 ---
War on Terror 2000-2010 ~ Terrorist-caused Deaths < 10,000 ~ Bush's Wars > 1,000,000 ~ Winning?

Last edited by RebateMonger; 01-07-2010 at 12:10 PM.
RebateMonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 11:49 AM   #22
johnh123
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RebateMonger View Post
Uninstall the UPS software and completely disconnect the UPS from the computer, reboot the computer, and wait for 11:49.
Ok, wow, that did the trick. The question is, why did it start doing that, and is it safe to reinstall the software?
johnh123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 01:28 PM   #23
RebateMonger
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
RebateMonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Posts: 11,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnh123 View Post
Ok, wow, that did the trick. The question is, why did it start doing that, and is it safe to reinstall the software?
Glad it worked for you. I HATE UPS software. It causes more trouble than it prevents. The UPS software is sensing a power glitch and is shutting down the PC.

The problem could either be the UPS or the software or the AC line. Check the Application Event Log for any errors related to the UPS software. You can try installing the very latest version of the software and see if that works.

If it still shuts down, you may need a new UPS battery or a new UPS.
__________________
MCSE:Security:2003 - MCTS:SBS 2008 - Arizona's 1st Microsoft Small Business Specialist
--- In loving memory of my beautiful Australian Shepherd, Skye. July 2001-January 2010 ---
War on Terror 2000-2010 ~ Terrorist-caused Deaths < 10,000 ~ Bush's Wars > 1,000,000 ~ Winning?

Last edited by RebateMonger; 01-13-2010 at 01:55 PM.
RebateMonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 02:19 PM   #24
Zargon
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 11,718
Default

nice one dude
__________________
heatware | steam | ebay
Reaumur(Gamer): Silverstone Raven02, Antec HCG900, Z77 Fata1ity/3770K, 16GB DDR3-1833, 2x7950@1Ghz, 27" IPS
Kelvin(3D-HTPC):Q9550 w/H50, P5G41, 4GB DDR2-1066, 5870 w accellero xtreme
Chill(Server): Thuban x6@3.3 wH50 8gb ddr3 4x1.5tb ESXi
Zargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.