Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-22-2009, 01:35 PM   #1
larrytucaz
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 167
Default Connect HDMI PC to DVI Monitor

I have researched this somewhat, found this link which I read, but I still don't have clarity--hence my post here.

I have a new PC with VGA and HDMI outputs, no DVI. I am awaiting a new 22" LCD monitor it has VGA and DVI connections. The PC is a Dell Zino, so I don't see where I have the option for a graphics card with a DVI-out port.

You probably have heard it before.

I am guessing that, due to the contect-protection algorithms which HDMI utilized (I just learned of them in my reading), I am thinking that I am SOL with connecting the monitor through the HDMI output even with some sort of adapter, at least if I play DVDs on the player there. It would appear I would either have to get a newer monitor with an HDMI connection or use the VGA with my current setup.

Am I right?

Also, while I realize my Dell Zino HD is as-is, do they sell quality graphics card with DVI-outs anymore to circumvent this?

No, I'm not into copying etc, just getting the low-down. Besides if copying were the thing, I don't see the point with such a setup, as you can copy DVDs all day long using software anyway.

LRH
__________________
Home: Dell Zino w/AMD e3250, 2G DDR2 SDRAM, 250G HD, WD external 500G (x2)
Away: Dell Inspiron 8600, 15" LCD, 1280x800, 120G HD, 1G RAM, XP Professional

Last edited by larrytucaz; 12-22-2009 at 01:40 PM. Reason: Clarification.
larrytucaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 03:16 PM   #2
mpilchfamily
Diamond Member
 
mpilchfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,559
Default

If your monitor isn't HDCP Complient then you can run into a problem playing blueray movies on it. You can use a HDMI to DVI adapter on your monitor that will work fine but without it being HDCP it won't be able to display copy protected video. The Dell Zino HD is meant to be a media center PC that plug into your HD TV.

Yes most every video card now has DVI. Most come with 2 DVIs and no VGA. Many have HDMI as well at 2 DVIs. But i don't think you'll be able to drop another video card into that system.
mpilchfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 06:30 PM   #3
larrytucaz
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 167
Default

I am in luck, I received the monitor (Dell E228WFP) since that posting and the box mentioned that it was HDCP compliant, and the local computer store has a converter for $20, so I'm good-to-go. Meanwhile I got a $10 6ft VGA cable from Radio Shack, and fired it up. And boy is the screen on this thing gorgeous--wow. Bye bye to that old 19" CRT! Heck even the 19" LCD that I got for my wife (she was working off of 15" and 17" before) pails next to this thing. She actually said there was no need to upgrade her from the 15/17" ones, I think she'll change her tune when she gets a look at this thing (hee hee).
__________________
Home: Dell Zino w/AMD e3250, 2G DDR2 SDRAM, 250G HD, WD external 500G (x2)
Away: Dell Inspiron 8600, 15" LCD, 1280x800, 120G HD, 1G RAM, XP Professional
larrytucaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 10:36 PM   #4
RebateMonger
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
RebateMonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Posts: 11,592
Default

I'm curious. Please let me know if you can tell the difference (video-quality-wise) between VGA and DVI on that size monitor.
__________________
MCSE:Security:2003 - MCTS:SBS 2008 - Arizona's 1st Microsoft Small Business Specialist
--- In loving memory of my beautiful Australian Shepherd, Skye. July 2001-January 2010 ---
War on Terror 2000-2010 ~ Terrorist-caused Deaths < 10,000 ~ Bush's Wars > 1,000,000 ~ Winning?
RebateMonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 07:23 PM   #5
mpilchfamily
Diamond Member
 
mpilchfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,559
Default

You shouldn't see a difference. If you do it may be from the quality of anolog to digital converter thats built into the monitor. Thats where the quality difference comes from since the monitor has to take the anolog signal from VGA and convert it to digital so it can use it.
mpilchfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 09:45 PM   #6
wiretap
Senior Member
 
wiretap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 608
Default

Get a DVI-->HDMI cable. http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...02&cp_id=10231
wiretap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dvi, hdmi

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.