Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2009, 01:34 PM   #1
her209
No Lifer
 
her209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ::1
Posts: 55,908
Default Synergy: Shift key is constantly getting "stuck" on Synergy client

It seems to only happen in an already open Windows Explorer. If I open another Explorer window (but leave the current one running), the problem isn't there on the new one, but when I switch back to the original one, its there. I usually have to perform some task like create a shortcut and delete the newly created shortcut in the window and then it goes back to normal. Either that or close the window. I've tried pressing and letting go of the left and right Shift keys (not simultaneously) and it doesn't fix the problem. I thought maybe it was due to moving the mouse between the two screens, however, I've had it happen when the mouse never leaves the client screen. Its never happened on the server screen.

The Synergy server is Windows XP x64. The Synergy client is Windows XP.

Grrr...
__________________
Stop pleasing others and start pleasing yourself.
her209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 02:46 PM   #2
jjsole
Lifer
 
jjsole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Aug 2000
Posts: 27,387
Default

I get occassional things like this too using xp 32bit for the server and client. Sometimes going back to the client screen and clicking on the desktop, and coming back to the server screen fixes it. Other times I get quirks are when the server program gets terminated (intentionally) and then restarted. It will reestablish a connection with the client, but the shift or ctrl key is effectively pressed. The only way I can solve this is by rebooting the computer that runs the server.
jjsole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 04:09 PM   #3
gsaldivar
Diamond Member
 
gsaldivar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8,635
Default

I remember finding bugs like that in Synergy, it's almost 4 years now without a major update from them. Last I heard, they were thinking about a complete re-write...

I switched from Synergy to Input Director months ago, and have been much happier with it. It's free, regularly updated, Win7 friendly, and includes features that Synergy users are still waiting for (encryption, etc.). I would highly recommend giving it a try. I think you'll find that it provides the same functionality, but is significantly more stable.

http://www.inputdirector.com/

Good luck!

Last edited by gsaldivar; 12-01-2009 at 04:12 PM.
gsaldivar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 03:05 PM   #4
jjsole
Lifer
 
jjsole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Aug 2000
Posts: 27,387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsaldivar View Post
I remember finding bugs like that in Synergy, it's almost 4 years now without a major update from them. Last I heard, they were thinking about a complete re-write...

I switched from Synergy to Input Director months ago, and have been much happier with it. It's free, regularly updated, Win7 friendly, and includes features that Synergy users are still waiting for (encryption, etc.). I would highly recommend giving it a try. I think you'll find that it provides the same functionality, but is significantly more stable.

http://www.inputdirector.com/

Good luck!
Thanks for the tip. I've been interested in a free synergy alternative for a long time.
jjsole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 03:11 PM   #5
her209
No Lifer
 
her209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ::1
Posts: 55,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjsole View Post
Thanks for the tip. I've been interested in a free synergy alternative for a long time.
Yeah, I'm going to give it a try as well.

As for Synergy, I found out that it is being maintained by someone else under the name Synergy+. It still has the same problem. I also noticed that the problem seems to happen after I do a drag and select operation. Not all the time though.
__________________
Stop pleasing others and start pleasing yourself.
her209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 04:43 PM   #6
jjsole
Lifer
 
jjsole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Aug 2000
Posts: 27,387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by her209 View Post
Yeah, I'm going to give it a try as well.

As for Synergy, I found out that it is being maintained by someone else under the name Synergy+. It still has the same problem. I also noticed that the problem seems to happen after I do a drag and select operation. Not all the time though.
Sweet, I'm testing Synergy+ now. So far it seems to work properly when its shutdown/restarted between reboots...if this works then I'm satisfied.

Input Director didn't work well for me. It doesn't translate my full mouse speed when running, which is very fast in order to cover dual 1600x1200 monitors. But probably even more of a hindrance, it doesn't maintain all my mouse button configs.

My normal right-click button is programmed to be a double-click instead (on both the master and slave computers), and it unfortunately refuses to apply this button as anything other than a right-click.
jjsole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 06:59 PM   #7
sundev
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,092
Default

Switched from Synergy to Input Director a few weeks ago after upgrading to Win7. Works great and is easier to set up, haven't looked back.
__________________
Heat
sundev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.