Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2009, 09:45 PM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 823
Default Is eSATA 'plug and play' under windows 7?

I am running Windows XP on a E6600 with an ASUS P5B Deluxe. I was never able to figure out how to make eSATA 'plug and play' on this platform. I wonder if it's an OS or hardware limitation. I am looking to build a new computer but I haven't figured out if I have to stick with an extra 1394b add-on card if eSATA is not 'plug and play'.

Is eSATA 'plug and play' under windows 7?

Also, can you fit a PCIe 1x into a 4x or 8x slot?
deanx0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:59 PM   #2
Platinum Member
WaitingForNehalem's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,493

You must turn on AHCI which might require you to reformat.

Also, can you fit a PCIe 1x into a 4x or 8x slot
AMD FX-8320E | ASUS M5A97 R2.0 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW | Creative Sound Blaster Z | 12GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 | CM Storm Sniper Black Edition | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB | WD Caviar Black 500GB & 1TB | Corsair HX650
WaitingForNehalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 10:24 PM   #3
Elite Member
Super Moderator
corkyg's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 25,390

It is in my Win 7 system - provided it is a genuine eSATA port and not merely an external connection to an internal SATA port.
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

"Ineptocracy- a system of government where the least capable to lead are elected by the least capable of producing, and where the members of society least likely to sustain themselves or succeed, are rewarded with goods and services paid for by the confiscated wealth of a diminishing number of producers." - Merritt Man, 2011
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.