Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2009, 03:49 PM   #1
her209
No Lifer
 
her209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ::1
Posts: 56,075
Default Alternative to using a Cisco access server to manage Cisco equipment

Instead of getting a Cisco 2509 (8 terminal lines) or 2511 (16 terminal lines) access server, what do you guys think about using this unit to get console access into Cisco equiment?

http://www.digital-loggers.com/ss20.html
__________________
Stop pleasing others and start pleasing yourself.
her209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 04:13 PM   #2
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,476
Default

Any terminal server will do. Which is what that looks like.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 03:16 PM   #3
her209
No Lifer
 
her209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ::1
Posts: 56,075
Default

My only main concern is that I won't be able to telnet/ssh when I'm away like I could with an access server.
__________________
Stop pleasing others and start pleasing yourself.
her209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 03:56 PM   #4
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,476
Default

Just use a console or aux port on a router and connect that to the console port of this device. They make other terminal servers that have an ethernet port and you just telnet/ssh to them and then select what serial port you want. check out blackbox.com, might have something.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 10:20 PM   #5
Pheran
Diamond Member
 
Pheran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 5,376
Default

I use Digi CM or Digi Passport console servers. They are particularly convenient since they have RJ-45 jacks that are wired such that you can use a straight through RJ-45 cable to connect the Cisco console ports.
__________________
Main PC: Antec Solo II | Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H | Core i5 3450 | Crucial Ballistix 16GB DDR3 1600 | HIS IceQ 7870
Intel SSD 330 240G | 2x500GB HD RAID1 | Corsair TX650 Power Supply | Dell U2312HM


Heatware: Pheran
Pheran is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 03:03 PM   #6
DisgruntledVirus
Lifer
 
DisgruntledVirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 11,790
Default

OP, we basically use that in my company. The difference is that they use RJ45's instead of serial ports, but outside of that they are the exact same thing. They work well, and are pretty simple to use once you learn how to use them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by her209 View Post
My only main concern is that I won't be able to telnet/ssh when I'm away like I could with an access server.
That's definitely do-able. It's how our IT staff does a chunk of their config work (they can do about ~20% work from home per week). VPN to the corporate network, and you should be fine.
__________________
My FS/WTB thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texashiker View Post
So dont hate on me for jumping to conclusions without the reading the whole story.
DisgruntledVirus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.