Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2007, 01:14 PM   #1
kt
Diamond Member
 
kt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,702
Default Locked out of Cisco router

So my boss made a little mistake and locked us out of our Cisco 2821 router. Basically, he was trying to remove the default Cisco login for the router and in the process locked himself out of it too. Is there anyway to get back into the router without having to power cycle the router. He didn't write the config to memory yet, so reloading the router will get us back again. But we don't want to do that since it is currently live right now.

Any ideas?
__________________
Beer: Helping ugly people get laid since 3000 B.C.
kt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 01:57 PM   #2
dphantom
Diamond Member
 
dphantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,294
Default Locked out of Cisco router

Cisco password recovery procedures Here should help you out.
__________________
http://www.orbat.com/
"War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The ugliest is the man who thinks nothing is worth fighting and dying for and lets men better and braver than himself protect him." - John Stuart Mill, 1859
"To lodge all power in one party and keep it there is to insure bad government." - Mark Twain
dphantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 02:00 PM   #3
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,450
Default Locked out of Cisco router

The only way to recover is to reboot.

Try a console cable on the router itself. But if you changed the enable password then you must reboot to get it back.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 07:06 AM   #4
Cooky
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,400
Default Locked out of Cisco router

I ran into the same problem w/ those new 2800/3800 too...they come preconfigured w/ a local user account.
If you don't disable authentication against local account before removing that account, a reload is the only way to get back in. (unless you change it before it times out on you)

Time to schedule an outage.
Cooky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 12:47 AM   #5
kt
Diamond Member
 
kt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,702
Default Locked out of Cisco router

Quote:
Originally posted by: dphantom
Cisco password recovery procedures Here should help you out.
I already know how to do the Cisco password recovery procedure.. that's not what we want since that involves power cycling the router.

I guess we just have to schedule a down time.
__________________
Beer: Helping ugly people get laid since 3000 B.C.
kt is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.