Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2007, 04:58 PM   #1
Soybomb
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 9,505
Default 2620XM IOS upgrade

Hey guys tomorrow I'm going to update the IOS on a neglected 2620XM and wanted to be sure I had process down.

Currently the router:
sho ver
Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
IOS (tm) C2600 Software (C2600-IPBASE-M), Version 12.3(6c), RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
Copyright (c) 1986-2004 by cisco Systems, Inc.
Compiled Tue 20-Jul-04 05:24 by kellythw
Image text-base: 0x80008098, data-base: 0x80ED06CC

ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 12.2(8r) [cmong 8r], RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)

bob uptime is 25 weeks, 1 day, 23 hours, 55 minutes
System returned to ROM by power-on
System image file is "flash:c2600-ipbase-mz.123-6c.bin"

cisco 2620XM (MPC860P) processor (revision 0x400) with 126976K/4096K bytes of memory.
Processor board ID JMX0848L0MX (2066694574)
M860 processor: part number 5, mask 2
Bridging software.
X.25 software, Version 3.0.0.
1 FastEthernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)
2 Serial network interface(s)
32K bytes of non-volatile configuration memory.
32768K bytes of processor board System flash (Read/Write)

Configuration register is 0x2102


#dir all
Directory of nvram:/

25 -rw- 3295 <no date> startup-config
26 ---- 27 <no date> private-config
1 -rw- 0 <no date> ifIndex-table
2 ---- 12 <no date> persistent-data

29688 bytes total (24266 bytes free)
Directory of system:/

3 dr-x 0 <no date> memory
1 -rw- 3295 <no date> running-config
2 dr-x 0 <no date> vfiles

No space information available
Directory of flash:/

1 -rw- 9282016 <no date> c2600-ipbase-mz.123-6c.bin

33030144 bytes total (23748064 bytes free)


sho conf
Using 3295 out of 29688 bytes
!
version 12.3
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname bob
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!

My plan:
copy tftp flash blah blah blah
verfiy flash:c2600-ipbase-mz.123-6c.bin (and verify md5)
conf t
!
boot system flash flash:c2600-ipbase-mz.123-22.bin
boot system flash flash: c2600-ipbase-mz.123-6c.bin
!
end
!
write
reload

This should give me both IOS's in flash and will fall back to the older one if the new one fails to load. Look right?
__________________
"I may disagree with what you have to say, but I shall defend, to the death, your right to say it. -Voltaire"
Soybomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 08:24 PM   #2
jlazzaro
Golden Member
 
jlazzaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,741
Default 2620XM IOS upgrade

you really only need the 123-22.bin boot system flash command. if this file fails, it will find an alternate image file in flash and load it instead. it really doesnt hurt by having both in there though.

ios also verifys the bin after transfer, just to make it was successful. like the dual boot command, the verify cant hurt either
__________________
"There is nothing constant in this world but inconsistency."

Main Rig
Intel i7 930 @ 4.0GHz | eVGA X58 E758 | OCZ Platinum 12GB | Gigabyte GTX 670
CM 690 II Advanced | Corsair 850HX | Intel X25-M SSD + 3x1TB R5 | W7 64 Pro
jlazzaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 10:01 PM   #3
Soybomb
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 9,505
Default 2620XM IOS upgrade

Cool, thanks! Just didn't want to botch something up and wind up starting at rommon
__________________
"I may disagree with what you have to say, but I shall defend, to the death, your right to say it. -Voltaire"
Soybomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 01:42 PM   #4
Soybomb
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 9,505
Default 2620XM IOS upgrade

Whats actually the proper syntax for the boot commands, if any. I've seen people use:
boot system flash flash:file.bin
boot system flash:file.bin
boot system flash file.bin
and a few other ways
__________________
"I may disagree with what you have to say, but I shall defend, to the death, your right to say it. -Voltaire"
Soybomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 03:13 PM   #5
jlazzaro
Golden Member
 
jlazzaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,741
Default 2620XM IOS upgrade

officially, it's boot system flash [device:][filename]

boot system flash [filename] will work though.

boot system flash:[filename] will not work.
__________________
"There is nothing constant in this world but inconsistency."

Main Rig
Intel i7 930 @ 4.0GHz | eVGA X58 E758 | OCZ Platinum 12GB | Gigabyte GTX 670
CM 690 II Advanced | Corsair 850HX | Intel X25-M SSD + 3x1TB R5 | W7 64 Pro
jlazzaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 05:34 PM   #6
Cooky
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,396
Default 2620XM IOS upgrade

guys keep in mind that this is for routers only.
For switches you actually need the colon
boot system flash:fileName
Cooky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 06:53 PM   #7
Soybomb
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 9,505
Default 2620XM IOS upgrade

Quote:
Originally posted by: Cooky
guys keep in mind that this is for routers only.
For switches you actually need the colon
boot system flash:fileName
According to jlazzaro that syntax will not work, but you're saying thats whats necessary for switches?

It won't matter on my 2620, but its something good to know.

Thanks guys
__________________
"I may disagree with what you have to say, but I shall defend, to the death, your right to say it. -Voltaire"
Soybomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 07:09 PM   #8
jlazzaro
Golden Member
 
jlazzaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,741
Default 2620XM IOS upgrade

Quote:
Originally posted by: Cooky
guys keep in mind that this is for routers only.
For switches you actually need the colon
boot system flash:fileName
good call
__________________
"There is nothing constant in this world but inconsistency."

Main Rig
Intel i7 930 @ 4.0GHz | eVGA X58 E758 | OCZ Platinum 12GB | Gigabyte GTX 670
CM 690 II Advanced | Corsair 850HX | Intel X25-M SSD + 3x1TB R5 | W7 64 Pro
jlazzaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.