Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2006, 09:49 PM   #1
sekser
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 395
Default How to extend desktop across 4 monitors?

I want to setup a new shuttle, maybe the core 2 (SD37P2) model. main purpose will be to extend my desktop across 4 monitors. It won?t be a gaming machine? can you recommend how to set this up? what kind of video cards do i need?

Thanks
sekser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 10:08 PM   #2
essasin
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,777
Default How to extend desktop across 4 monitors?

Two on mone agp/pcie video card and two more on a pci video card. I have heard good things about the mattrox pci cards as an alternative to nvida and ati. There is software that will allow you to "extended" your desktop to 4 screens but I a can't remember what it is called.
essasin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2006, 01:08 AM   #3
n7
Elite Member
 
n7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 21,080
Default How to extend desktop across 4 monitors?

Quote:
Originally posted by: essasin
There is software that will allow you to "extended" your desktop to 4 screens but I a can't remember what it is called.
Ultramon.

As for PCI-e + PCI or AGP + PCI, good luck with that.

Though neither nV or ATi officially supports what you want to do, i was able to run my X1900 XT + 7000 Pro on my A8N32-SLI Deluxe.

On my current P5B Deluxe, it's not possible.

Seems some mobos can...others cannot.
__________________
Steam
Xfire
n7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2006, 09:56 AM   #4
rbV5
Lifer
 
rbV5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Forest Grove, Oregon
Posts: 12,631
Default How to extend desktop across 4 monitors?

ATI FireMV can handle 4 displays off of a single card. They're for the financial and corporate uses so if its just 2D applications, they may wrk for you. Link
rbV5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 12:19 PM   #5
sekser
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 395
Default How to extend desktop across 4 monitors?

wow that ATI card costs $2400 to do quad monitor...

I think i'm going to try just getting 2 - nvidia 7600 cards and plug them in and try it.

the shuttle has 2 - pciexpress x8 slots in it..

sekser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 09:58 PM   #6
HGC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 605
Default How to extend desktop across 4 monitors?

Until recently I was running three monitors, and it could have been four, with an AGP Radeon 9200 and a PCI Radeon 7500. Worked fine , no problems at all.
__________________
Phenom II 720 X3 BE at 3500, Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 64, Asus M4A78T-E, 4GB OCZ DDR3
WD Black 640GB SATA II, Thermaltake BlackX ext dock and 2 WD 320 GB
Gigabyte Radeon 5750, 2 Samsung 22" LCDs, Samsung SATA DVDR, Corsair 650TX, Antec Sonata III
HGC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 10:13 AM   #7
rbV5
Lifer
 
rbV5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Forest Grove, Oregon
Posts: 12,631
Default How to extend desktop across 4 monitors?

Quote:
Originally posted by: sekser
wow that ATI card costs $2400 to do quad monitor...

I think i'm going to try just getting 2 - nvidia 7600 cards and plug them in and try it.

the shuttle has 2 - pciexpress x8 slots in it..

More like ~$400 Link a bit less for PCI, a bit more for PCIe. Probably not bad for a 4xDVI single card solution. The half height bracket makes it good for SFF. I see bundles of 5 for <$2000, probably a decent deal for a financial house.


rbV5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.