Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2006, 11:41 AM   #1
thereds
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,888
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Now I've got a washing machine with clothes fully soaked in soapy water.

I can turn the cycle knob back around, wait a bit, pull the knob to start the cycle from where it left off and it starts back up only to stop a while later.

What the hell could be the problem?
__________________
thereds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:42 AM   #2
KLin
Lifer
 
KLin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Phreaznaux
Posts: 28,660
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Sounds like it's broken.
__________________
'L_'
KLin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:45 AM   #3
spaceman
Lifer
 
spaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: The Berkshires
Posts: 17,196
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

ugh, otbs...home depot is doing 0%apr and zero payments for a year upon signing up for a card.
if that doesnt work.,look on your local craigslist.ask around(family,friends)..washing machines are fairly easy to score 2nd hand on the cheap.

washing machine, arent they mostly a chuck away affair today?
spaceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:46 AM   #4
Ausm
Lifer
 
Ausm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Madison,Wi
Posts: 25,152
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Quote:
Originally posted by: KLin
Sounds like it's broken.

I am sorry but that made me laugh


Seriously tho, you might have a safety switch on the lid which is not making a connection which could be shutting off your washing machine.


Ausm
__________________
It's ok to eat fish, because fish don't have any feelings.

You know your're getting old when MILF'S look young
Ausm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:47 AM   #5
funboy6942
Lifer
 
funboy6942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dyer, TN.
Posts: 13,649
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Sounds like a busted belt for the spin cycle or even the transmission. Does it make any noise at all or just comes to a complete halt?
funboy6942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:47 AM   #6
funboy6942
Lifer
 
funboy6942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dyer, TN.
Posts: 13,649
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Sounds like a busted belt for the spin cycle or even the transmission. Does it make any noise at all or just comes to a complete halt?
funboy6942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:47 AM   #7
thereds
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,888
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Quote:
Originally posted by: Ausm
Quote:
Originally posted by: KLin
Sounds like it's broken.

I am sorry but that made me laugh


Seriously tho, you might have a safety switch on the lid which is not making a connection which could be shutting off your washing machine.


Ausm
Pretty sure thats not it as the machine runs with the lid open as well.
__________________
thereds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:50 AM   #8
49erinnc
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,095
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Quote:
Originally posted by: Ausm
Quote:
Originally posted by: KLin
Sounds like it's broken.

I am sorry but that made me laugh


Seriously tho, you might have a safety switch on the lid which is not making a connection which could be shutting off your washing machine.


Ausm

Beat me to the punch. I bought a used washing machine at a yard sale not too long ago. Really nice model and not used much but the people were relocating. I got it home and the damn thing did exactly what's happening to the OP's. I was close to going back over to their house to complain about a damaged washer. But it turns out that the little shutoff/safety switch just wasn't being pushed down enough from the weight of the lid. But I noticed that if I just pressed down firmly on it one good time, it was enough to keep the safety switch off. You can even set something a little heavy on top to help.

Make sure it's not the same simple problem before you replace it or pay for a repair.
__________________
Heatware

Ebay Feedback
49erinnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:51 AM   #9
Ausm
Lifer
 
Ausm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Madison,Wi
Posts: 25,152
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Quote:
Originally posted by: thereds
Quote:
Originally posted by: Ausm
Quote:
Originally posted by: KLin
Sounds like it's broken.

I am sorry but that made me laugh


Seriously tho, you might have a safety switch on the lid which is not making a connection which could be shutting off your washing machine.


Ausm
Pretty sure thats not it as the machine runs with the lid open as well.

I forgot to mention some machines are not that way and I think you are right in your assumption too.

Ausm
__________________
It's ok to eat fish, because fish don't have any feelings.

You know your're getting old when MILF'S look young
Ausm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:52 AM   #10
49erinnc
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,095
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Quote:


Pretty sure thats not it as the machine runs with the lid open as well.
So did mine but it won't run every cycle with the lid open. Mine ran fine that way which is why it took me a while to figure it out. But on the drain cycle, my lid has to be closed with the safety switch pressed in.

That may not be your problem but as I said, mine was doing the exact same thing as yours and it was definitely the switch.

If you want to be sure, when the machine is on the soak/drain cycle, just stick a flat-head screwdriver down the hole while the lid is open so you can manually push in the switch. When I did that, my water started draining instantly.
__________________
Heatware

Ebay Feedback
49erinnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:52 AM   #11
RayH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 937
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

If the water does not drain even when you try to start at the drain cycle, the pump is either burned out or has broken impeller blades. I had that happen last year when a nickel found it's way into the pump and broke off the impeller blades.
RayH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:56 AM   #12
thereds
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,888
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Quote:
Originally posted by: RayH
If the water does not drain even when you try to start at the drain cycle, the pump is either burned out or has broken impeller blades. I had that happen last year when a nickel found it's way into the pump and broke off the impeller blades.
That could be it. Water is not draining off.

Fsck me.
__________________
thereds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 12:08 PM   #13
GalvanizedYankee
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,986
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

I had a kerchief get between the tub & tank. It clogged up the suction pump.

There are diagnostic sites on line for appliances. Washing machines are a simple repair as long as the gear box, motor & seals are OK. Everthing else is a simple fix. The major timers & controlls can be expensive though.


...Galvanized
GalvanizedYankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 12:17 PM   #14
thereds
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,888
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Quote:
Originally posted by: GalvanizedYankee
I had a kerchief get between the tub & tank. It clogged up the suction pump.

There are diagnostic sites on line for appliances. Washing machines are a simple repair as long as the gear box, motor & seals are OK. Everthing else is a simple fix. The major timers & controlls can be expensive though.


...Galvanized
I"m subletting this apt., so I don't want to do sh|t that could fsck the machine up further.

My stupid roommate must have left some ****** in his pockets that cocked this appliance up.
__________________
thereds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 12:21 PM   #15
RayH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 937
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

I changed the pump myself and it wasn't too bad. If you're handy you can remove the access panel and listen for the pump motor. If it works but water's not draining, remove the plastic drain pipe at the back and have it drain into a bucket close to the floor by trying the drain cycle again.

Once you've got most of the water out, unplug the electricity, layout some old towels on the bottom and remove the pump. Pump will usually have a part number on it or it will be in your original manuals. Either lookup the part number or use the model number of the washer at various net appliance repair sites like RepairClinic

Cost me around $80 to fix myself.
RayH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 12:29 PM   #16
0
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,272
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Post your question at this forum:

http://applianceguru.com/forum2/

Great help there.
0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 12:39 PM   #17
CocoGdog
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 848
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

Common sense man... You've overloaded it with too much clothes - such as jeans and heavy towels. Reduce the load and restart the wash.

If it's not heavy clothes, then you've got a repair bill.
CocoGdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 12:49 PM   #18
MrBond
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 9,910
Default Washing Machine runs for a bit and then stops.

I doubt it was something in your roomates pockets. There's usually a screen before the pump to catch things like that.

I bought a used washer and had a similar problem. Turned out the clutch was slipping under load. It'd spin just fine if it was empty or with a very small load, but if I had a normal sized load in there, it wouldn't work. I took it back and spent the $300 on a new Kenmore and am very glad I did.
__________________
Choose, but choose wisely
MrBond is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.