Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2008, 02:56 PM   #1
shamus8888
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 78
Default Distance to TJ Max

Hi,

I have recently noticed a thing called Distance to TJ Max (using RealTemp). However I have no idea what are they for and the safe ranges.

I am currently @ 3.5GHz and around 41oC (Celcius) idle and around 67 under full P95 stress test.

My distance to tj max is between 51-55 for all cores.

Am I in danger of frying my chip?

edit: Ambient room temp is around 27oC(Celcius).
shamus8888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 03:05 PM   #2
Accord99
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,872
Default Distance to TJ Max

It's roughly the point where the CPU begins to automatically throttle itself.
Accord99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 04:13 PM   #3
pm
Elite Member
Super Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 7,248
Default Distance to TJ Max

I'm surprised - no jokes about using Google maps to figure it out?
pm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 05:14 PM   #4
error8
Diamond Member
 
error8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,194
Default Distance to TJ Max

Quote:
Originally posted by: shamus8888

My distance to tj max is between 51-55 for all cores.

Am I in danger of frying my chip?
No, you're not. Most people prefer to keep T-junction distance over 30 degrees so 55 is perfectly safe.
__________________
Q6700 @ 3.6 ghz
Xigmatek S1283 + Antec tricool
MSI P35 Neo 2-FR
4x2048 A-data
WD 640 gb
Gigabyte 4870 1GB
Antec EarthWatts 650W
Antec 300
BenQ FP202WA (20 inch)
error8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 05:40 PM   #5
bryanW1995
Lifer
 
bryanW1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 10,916
Default Distance to TJ Max

this sounds counter-intuitive, but distance to tjmax is a more-correct temperature measure than "temperature" for core2 based cpus. intel has decided for reasons unknown to NOT give users the true tjmax temps, so makers of temperature monitoring programs are forced to guess. most programs guess that tjmax is 95c for a q6600. When the temperature monitoring programs display a load temp of, say, 65c, they're actually reading a "30c to tjmax" temp from the thermal diode on the cpu. You can set coretemp or realtemp to display distance to tjmax as the primary display.
__________________
4770k, Noctua nh-d14, 2x256gb m4, xfx 850w, 7970, HAF-x, Asus z87-pro, 2x8gb Hyper X
2500k @ 4.54, hyper 212+, ga-z68ma-d2h, wd20ears, 2x4gb ddr3 1600, gtx 480, antec 900
i7 920 @ 3.95, TRUE, evga x58 sli, 9600 gso, wd6400aaks, hx 620, 2x2 ddr3, antec 900
MSI GT 70 2oc, i7 4700 mq, gtx 770m, 8gb ram, 240gb crucial m500, 750 gb, bd reader, win 8
HP dv7tqe, i7 2670, 6670m 1gb, 8gb ram, 160gb intel 320 ssd, 750 gb 7200 rpm,win 7 x64
bryanW1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 05:46 PM   #6
zfooz
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 44
Default Distance to TJ Max

I would try, at all costs, to keep the delta to TJmax over 35C, especially if you are putting a lot of volts into it..
I really wanted mine to be at 40 but I'll have to lap the HS and probably IHS to get it there.. I have Tuniq 120 and @ 1.4volts and 4.1ghz it gets down to 30C to tjmax sometimes 29C which I don't like so It's back at 3.8ghz at 1.31v and around 38-40C to Tjmax, granted that the TJMAX temps I'm giving you are the absolute highest that my cpu hit while running at maximum load under orthos or occt. Normal temps even running 3d games and such are going to be less.
zfooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 06:04 PM   #7
HOOfan 1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,033
Default Distance to TJ Max

Quote:
Originally posted by: pm
I surprised - no jokes about using Google maps to figure it out?
When I read the threat title, I thought, "what the hell does a discount clothing store have to do with computers?"
__________________
Ipsa scientia potestas est

The microprosessor is mightier than the cluster bomb
HOOfan 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 07:07 PM   #8
shamus8888
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 78
Default Distance to TJ Max

rofl From UK too?

edit : and thanks to the rest for clearing it up. I did use google but I got conflicting answers and no "official" answers so I guess this is a better bet
shamus8888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 07:28 PM   #9
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,977
Default Distance to TJ Max

I would try to keep distance from TJMax at around 15 or more.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2008, 03:57 PM   #10
HOOfan 1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,033
Default Distance to TJ Max

Quote:
Originally posted by: shamus8888
rofl From UK too?
Me?

T.J. Maxx is a US store.
__________________
Ipsa scientia potestas est

The microprosessor is mightier than the cluster bomb
HOOfan 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 10:37 AM   #11
Tempered81
Diamond Member
 
Tempered81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,358
Default Distance to TJ Max

Quote:
Originally posted by: VirtualLarry
I would try to keep distance from TJMax at around 15 or more.
damn! you run em hot! Thats 80C in Realtemp or 90C in Coretemp on an E8400. (I've ran mine this hot before also, but would still recommend ~30C or more)
Tempered81 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.