Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2008, 06:32 PM   #1
RussianSensation
Elite Member
 
RussianSensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 14,317
Default In a dual monitor config can you use 1 monitor to play a game and the other to browse the internet/office work?

Do either ATI or Nvidia cards allow you to play a game on 1 monitor while the 2nd monitor is simultaneously used for other tasks such as browsing the internet, word/excel documents, etc?

My friend has mentioned that with his GF7 card, the 2nd monitor turns off when he launches a game.
__________________
i5 2500k | Asus P8P67 Rev.3 | Sapphire Dual-X HD7970 1150/1800 1.174V CFX | G.Skill Sniper 8GB DDR3-1600 1.5V
SeaSonic Platinum 1000W | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + HITACHI 7K1000.B 1TB | Windows 7
Westinghouse 37" 1080P | X-Fi Platinum | Logitech Z5300E 5.1
RussianSensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 07:05 PM   #2
Adam8281
Platinum Member
 
Adam8281's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 2,173
Default In a dual monitor config can you use 1 monitor to play a game and the other to browse the internet/office work?

Yes, I'm pretty sure that almost every modern card lets you do this. I don't do it personally, but I've watched a lot of friends play WoW on one monitor while they browse on the other.
__________________
My Rig:
[ Core i5 3570K ][ Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo CPU Cooler][ Gigabyte GAZ77MX-D3H mATX Motherboard ][ Sapphire HD 6950 OC to 6970 specs ][ G.Skill Ares Series 2x8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3-12800) RAM ][ OCZ StealthXStream 600W PSU ][ Samsung 830 Series 256 GB SATA III SSD ][ WD Blue 640 GB HDD ][ Toshiba 1TB HDD ][ Silverstone Tek-Micro-ATX Case ][ ASUS VW266H 26" Monitor ][ Logitech Illuminated Keyboard ][ Logitech G9X Laser Mouse ]
Adam8281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 07:14 PM   #3
ROEHUNTER
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 110
Default In a dual monitor config can you use 1 monitor to play a game and the other to browse the internet/office work?

Correct me if I'm wrong , but to do this you have to be playing the game in windowed mode as full screen mode will take the cursor control away and if you click on your second monitor it will minimize the game.
ROEHUNTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 07:55 PM   #4
Jakeisbest
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 376
Default In a dual monitor config can you use 1 monitor to play a game and the other to browse the internet/office work?

Quote:
Originally posted by: ROEHUNTER
Correct me if I'm wrong , but to do this you have to be playing the game in windowed mode as full screen mode will take the cursor control away and if you click on your second monitor it will minimize the game.
totally correct!

I am using GeForce 7800gt and 2 monitors. One of the main games I still play is Warcraft 3. If I run the game in full screen mode you still have to alt+tab to be able to access the other monitor. However, my second monitor does not turn off, it just displays what ever window I left open on it. When i play WoW I usually leave the guide I was reading open on one screen and then play on the other.

The only way to be able to have access to both at the same time is to run the game in a windowed mode. OR you could have a 2nd computer running the 2nd monitor, then use a mouse / keyboard switch. You just have to hit the switch to access the 2nd monitor then hit it back to go back into you game.

Hope this helps.

Jakeisbest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 09:15 PM   #5
RussianSensation
Elite Member
 
RussianSensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 14,317
Default In a dual monitor config can you use 1 monitor to play a game and the other to browse the internet/office work?

Thanks guys.

I realize that once the game is on, then that screen become the active screen. I was just concerned if you can still view the information on the other screen (even if it remains static - i.e. reading a webpage).

__________________
i5 2500k | Asus P8P67 Rev.3 | Sapphire Dual-X HD7970 1150/1800 1.174V CFX | G.Skill Sniper 8GB DDR3-1600 1.5V
SeaSonic Platinum 1000W | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + HITACHI 7K1000.B 1TB | Windows 7
Westinghouse 37" 1080P | X-Fi Platinum | Logitech Z5300E 5.1
RussianSensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 11:34 PM   #6
wbynum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 302
Default In a dual monitor config can you use 1 monitor to play a game and the other to browse the internet/office work?

The only thing you have to deal with is if you run the game a different resolution than the 2nd monitor, the windows will be oddly shifted around on the second monitor.
wbynum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 12:00 AM   #7
LOUISSSSS
Diamond Member
 
LOUISSSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,361
Default In a dual monitor config can you use 1 monitor to play a game and the other to browse the internet/office work?

i have a dual monitor setup and play CS:S on the primary monitor while using the second to monitor my system temps, CPU/ram/network/disk usage, and read IM's.

but to switch out to send IM's i'd have to ALT-TAB out of the game as usual
__________________
Intel 4570 || GA-Z87X-D3H || 2x4gb G.Skill RipjawX
Samsung Evo 120gb || WD 640gb Blue || Noctua DH14
Sapphire 7950 || 2x Asus VN248H || 1x Viewsonic VX2025WM
M-Audio LX4 || Shure SRH840 || Senn HD555

Lenovo X200 w/ Samsung 840
LOUISSSSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 09:46 AM   #8
Pantlegz
Diamond Member
 
Pantlegz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: KS
Posts: 4,203
Default In a dual monitor config can you use 1 monitor to play a game and the other to browse the internet/office work?

I've been running dual monitors for a while now, you do not have to alt tab, just run the game in windowed mode and maximize it. I have yet to run into a game that can't be run in windowed mode. This also helps with resolution differences, the game could be at 1920x1200 and your desktop could be 1280x1024(?). The only types of games I dont' like to run windowed are shooters, sometimes I get a lil mouse crazy and end up getting out of the window and end up dead .
__________________
“If what you did yesterday seems big, you haven't done anything today.” - Lou Holtz

Obsessed is just a word the lazy use to describe the dedicated
Pantlegz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.