Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2006, 10:27 PM   #1
fbrdphreak
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 17,549
Default Windows Update scanning forever -- how to fix?

I just did a Win2K Sp4 install on an old Gateway laptop. I manually installed IE6 SP1 and the Win2K Rollup Patch. I then proceeded to go to WinUpdate, it loaded the requisite files to use WinUpdate, and now whenever I try to scan for updates it just scans and scans, never proceeding.

I deleted the "SoftwareDistribution" folder under WINNT already, no go. I think I fixed this same problem a long time ago, but can't remember how....

Help!?
__________________
My old ride | My new ride | I am one of the few, proud Xbox One owners.
fbrdphreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 06:01 AM   #2
MrChad
Lifer
 
MrChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 13,497
Default Windows Update scanning forever -- how to fix?

Any errors in CWINDOWS\WindowsUpdate.log?
MrChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 07:27 AM   #3
fbrdphreak
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 17,549
Default Windows Update scanning forever -- how to fix?

I'll check that later today (at work), thanks
__________________
My old ride | My new ride | I am one of the few, proud Xbox One owners.
fbrdphreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 02:01 PM   #4
fbrdphreak
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 17,549
Default Windows Update scanning forever -- how to fix?

OK so I finally got to checking it out.

No errors in the WindowsUpdate log. I re-tried downloading updates from home here, the first try didn't work. I tried again, without closing IE, and it re-downloaded those three requisite files (Background Transfer, Genuine Advantage, and something else) and re-installed those for some reason. Rebooted, still no go. Checked the log again, no errors. The last entry from when it is just scanning forever says "AU setting client response for sessionID 0x0 to 'PENDING' "

How can I wipe out existing Automatic Update files/settings and force it to reinstall all? I also might try reinstalling IE6

I really don't want to have to reformat this old ass laptop, takes damn forever.
__________________
My old ride | My new ride | I am one of the few, proud Xbox One owners.
fbrdphreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 03:17 PM   #5
fbrdphreak
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 17,549
Default Windows Update scanning forever -- how to fix?

bump for help!
__________________
My old ride | My new ride | I am one of the few, proud Xbox One owners.
fbrdphreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 03:21 PM   #6
MrChad
Lifer
 
MrChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 13,497
Default Windows Update scanning forever -- how to fix?

Try clearing your Temporary Internet Files and make sure your that your date and time are set correctly.
MrChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 03:37 PM   #7
fbrdphreak
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 17,549
Default Windows Update scanning forever -- how to fix?

I'll wipe those up and see if that helps. The time/date is set properly, but the laptop's BIOS battery is shot and the time is not maintained when it loses power. i.e. I didn't use it for a few days, so the date was of the last time I had used it. Shouldn't affect it but I'll check that out, thanks.

Any other tips?
__________________
My old ride | My new ride | I am one of the few, proud Xbox One owners.
fbrdphreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.