Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2008, 01:16 AM   #1
Broadwater
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Default E3110/E8400 - 500x8?

What kind of luck are you guys having getting this thing to 4GHz using a 500MHz FSB and 8x multiplier rather than a 445MHz FSB and a 9x multiplier?
Broadwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 01:45 AM   #2
ShadowFlareX
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 150
Default E3110/E8400 - 500x8?

I may not have E3110/E8400, but i'm sure there's hardly any that can hit 500FSB stable or for 24/7 use. Besides, there's minimal gain between 500 x 8 and 445 x 9.
ShadowFlareX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 09:27 PM   #3
Zapper48
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 167
Default E3110/E8400 - 500x8?

Mine runs 500x8 24/7 no probs.
__________________
AMD 1090T CoolerMaster Hyper212+
Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
OCZ Agility2 90gb WD Element 2TB storage
4x2gb Crucial 1.5v
Palit GTX 460
Corsair GS600 psu
CoolerMaster Stacker 830 (silver)
Dynex 32" TV/monitor
Zapper48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 09:52 PM   #4
Broadwater
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Default E3110/E8400 - 500x8?

Awesome! What do you have overvolted and to how much?
Broadwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 12:02 AM   #5
Scottae
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 127
Default E3110/E8400 - 500x8?

I noticed much better Memory bandwidth results with 500x8 over ~445 x9 on my Q6600 but those are just benchmarks real world performance... well they are both damn fast.
Scottae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 03:35 AM   #6
Dadofamunky
Platinum Member
 
Dadofamunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,183
Default E3110/E8400 - 500x8?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Scottae
I noticed much better Memory bandwidth results with 500x8 over ~445 x9 on my Q6600 but those are just benchmarks real world performance... well they are both damn fast.
Scotty, that is one hell of an OC. Care to share some details?
__________________
i7 2600K@4.35 GHz, Asus Sabertooth Z77, 16 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24-1T 1.5V, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD , 2x1TB Spinpoint F3 Raid 0, Seagate 3TB external USB3 drive, Samsung BluRay, Corsair GS600, CM Hyper 212+ push-pull, EVGA GTX 570, 2x Samsung 2333T PVA panels, Win 7 64-bit

What's that chip you got, a Dorito?
Dadofamunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 07:05 AM   #7
Zapper48
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 167
Default E3110/E8400 - 500x8?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Scottae
I noticed much better Memory bandwidth results with 500x8 over ~445 x9 on my Q6600 but those are just benchmarks real world performance... well they are both damn fast.

Exactly. I use 1.375 in bios for 4.0ghz.Raised NB a bit for 2x2 gb sticks.SB was upped a notch too.I know it's got more headroom but 4.0 is plenty for gaming,yeah and wicked fast too.

__________________
AMD 1090T CoolerMaster Hyper212+
Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
OCZ Agility2 90gb WD Element 2TB storage
4x2gb Crucial 1.5v
Palit GTX 460
Corsair GS600 psu
CoolerMaster Stacker 830 (silver)
Dynex 32" TV/monitor
Zapper48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 07:30 AM   #8
Sylvanas
Diamond Member
 
Sylvanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,753
Default E3110/E8400 - 500x8?

As AT has mentioned many times in reviews, higher multiplier and lower FSB is generally better than high FSB low multiplier as high FSB straps are often to the detriment of performance as the TrD / Performance level latencies are raised much higher than need be.
__________________
Corei7 920 D0 @ 4GHZ || Gigabyte X58 UD3R || Gainward GTX 580 || ECS GTS 250 (PhysX) || 6GB Patriot 1600mhz 8-8-8-20 || OCZ Agility SSD 120GB || Antec Truepower Quattro 850w || Auzentech X-FI Forte || CoolerMaster Elite 430 || Alienware AW2310 120hz ||
Sylvanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 02:42 PM   #9
Broadwater
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Default E3110/E8400 - 500x8?

Well, I got my E3110 to 500x8 with total stability.
With room temperature at 24C core 0 runs at a max of 58C while core 1 stays around 54C.
Broadwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.