Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2006, 06:38 AM   #1
daweinah
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 41
Default Motherboard has 2 digit LED display, displays "FF"

Its in the bottom left on this picture, near the IDE slots.

The computer boots fine (check sig for stats) but this thing displays "FF" while the computer is on, booted and running fine in Windows.

I probably just missed the part of the manual where its described, but a friend said its for monitoring the CPU temp, but I find nothing of the sort in the manual. Does anyone know what this actually does, and what it means?
daweinah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 09:55 AM   #2
Crescent13
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,793
Default Motherboard has 2 digit LED display, displays "FF"

I have that mobo, it says in the manual what it means. AFAIK it means that the computer is working properly.
Crescent13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 03:37 PM   #3
compcons
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Algonquin, IL
Posts: 1,011
Default Motherboard has 2 digit LED display, displays "FF"

Those would be the BIOS POST codes. You can look through the BIOS manufacturer's website and find the PDF. If I recall, FF (Hexidecimal code) means more or less, all the functions have completed, and the BIOS is done booting. i'd recommend downloading it for future reference (when stuff breaks, this is a really helpful feature).

EH
__________________
PLEASE indicate SOLD status when all contents in your thread are GONE. Thanks

My Heat
compcons is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 05:26 PM   #4
RideFree
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,433
Default Motherboard has 2 digit LED display, displays "FF"

Codes are listed in an apendix in the back of the manual.
RideFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 11:35 PM   #5
MDE
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,147
Default Motherboard has 2 digit LED display, displays "FF"

I'd guess that it means fully functional. Mine shows FF and it's working fine so I haven't bothered to look (same board).
__________________
Take a bag of Doritos
Pound it with your fist a few times
Stick a label on the outside saying "now 50% more chips inside!!"
Tada, you've got a Celeron!
-mechBgon
MDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 07:33 AM   #6
grooge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 542
Default Motherboard has 2 digit LED display, displays "FF"

FF for Fonctionning Fine..
grooge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 12:27 PM   #7
Podunk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 23
Default Motherboard has 2 digit LED display, displays "FF"

Did you ever get any insights on this?

I am getting FF code on my 9NPA+ Ultra with Opteron 170. It throws the code seemingly immediately on power on even when there's no RAM (which doesn't seem right??) No action on the video so can't even get to bios. I've tried with various value RAM sticks (2100, 2700, 3200) in various sizes, various manufacturers (Kingston, Crucial). Board shows the 3 blue lights for power to RAM, CPU, and chip set (i.e., OK power to all ). I started out with board fully configured with HD, etc and got same thing.
Podunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 12:28 PM   #8
Podunk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 23
Default Motherboard has 2 digit LED display, displays "FF"

Make that Opteron 146. (Freudian slip dreamin?)
Podunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 04:27 PM   #9
strummer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 208
Default Motherboard has 2 digit LED display, displays "FF"

Quote:
Originally posted by: daweinah
Its in the bottom left on this picture, near the IDE slots.

The computer boots fine (check sig for stats) but this thing displays "FF" while the computer is on, booted and running fine in Windows.

I probably just missed the part of the manual where its described, but a friend said its for monitoring the CPU temp, but I find nothing of the sort in the manual. Does anyone know what this actually does, and what it means?


FF can mean two things. If it is after the POST has cycled it means fully functional (or everything is okay). If you got it immediately upon turning the power on it means there is a problem. I had this same exact problem about 2 months ago, and it was the impetus for me to register here (to ask the question). My problem was an apparent short due to the motherboard screws being too tight. I highly recommend taking all the parts out of the box and assembling there first. When I did this, I got the board to cycle through the POST codes.

When doing this, put your mobo on top of the box it came in - do not put it on top of the anti-static bag. Also make sure to plug in your keyboard and mouse - if you don't the POST is going to hang on the last or second to last instruction.

Let me know how it goes. I have been through it, and have built with Epox boards.

regards.
strummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 04:58 PM   #10
nJett
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 77
Default Motherboard has 2 digit LED display, displays "FF"

my 8rda3I (and 8rda+ before it) both have this - on both boards it cycles through a series of codes as it boots up, as soon as it starts loading Windows it it goes to FF and stays there. If anything is wrong with it is puts up a different code (C1 and 25 are the most common). It's a pretty cool feature and has helped me diagnose a few problems - as others have suggested just look up the codes in the manual if you are worried but in your case FF should mean everything is running fine.
nJett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.