Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2006, 06:31 PM   #1
mwmorph
Diamond Member
 
mwmorph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairbanks
Posts: 8,883
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

jsut got the game and when i play it, the frapgics glitch, it;s not artifacting but while I walk, the textures will switch to different colors and patterns along the same wall. lighting is also off and when i turn on my light aug, the surface that is lighted will completely switch textures. odd really. all settings/resolutions highest.

9800xt
cat 5.13
amd64 3300+(2.4ghz, 256kb cache, cut down newcastle)
1gb ram
mwmorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 06:37 PM   #2
sandorski
No Lifer
 
sandorski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: coquitlam, bc
Posts: 57,336
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Have the Game Patched to latest version?
__________________

FX 8320@4ghz||Zalman LQ310||AsusM5A99X EVO R2
||XFX 5870 1gb||16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3||Seasonic M12 II 500watts||Zalman Z9 Plus||Asus MS238H

Science inspires us towards a better tomorrow, Fundamentalism wants us to die.
sandorski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 06:45 PM   #3
HamburgerBoy
Lifer
 
HamburgerBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 22,604
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Can you take pictures of the changes in patterns?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by theflyingpig
muckah muck mah muckah paddah pah pah sucka suck sah sucka saddah sah sah
HamburgerBoy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 07:38 PM   #4
BFG10K
Lifer
 
BFG10K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 20,423
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Patch the game and run it under OpenGL.
__________________
4790K | Titan | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Z97-K | 128GB Samsung 830 | 960GB Crucial M500 | 1TB VelociRaptor | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Seasonic X 560W | Fractal Arc R2 Midi | 30" HP LP3065
BFG10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 07:45 PM   #5
mwmorph
Diamond Member
 
mwmorph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairbanks
Posts: 8,883
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

here. sorry it's image shack but my bbzzdd account is full

arch
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/258...archway0zt.jpg
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/277...archway6oj.jpg

floor
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/596...x1floor9dg.jpg
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/752...x2floor3tz.jpg

ceiling/pipe
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/835...andpipe7vu.jpg
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/763...andpipe2fv.jpg

wall
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/719/deusex1wall2st.jpg
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/496...ex2wall9ja.jpg

ramp
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/169...ex1ramp1gr.jpg
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/183...ex2ramp1kd.jpg


tell you the truth this is incredibly annyong. think of this happeneing all the time and it;s constantly shifting when you move. It happens most during the training level but sometimes, but less often happens in missions. settings are as high as i can set them. can anyone take a screen shot of what it should look like?
mwmorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 08:32 PM   #6
Frodolives
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,190
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Just to verify, as has been asked, did you apply the patch?

Looking at those screens, my first instinct had it been my system was to make sure my card wasn't too hot or that a fan had failed. Probably not the case for you, but just making sure.

I may have some troubleshooting references around here that I can look up if you don't find a solution soon.
Frodolives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 08:34 PM   #7
mwmorph
Diamond Member
 
mwmorph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairbanks
Posts: 8,883
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Frodolives
Just to verify, as has been asked, did you apply the patch?

Looking at those screens, my first instinct had it been my system was to make sure my card wasn't too hot or that a fan had failed. Probably not the case for you, but just making sure.

I may have some troubleshooting references around here that I can look up if you don't find a solution soon.

nope no artifacts in any other game like bf2 or need for speed most wanted.

waht patch? i installed the GOTY version, does that have the latest patch?
mwmorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 08:53 PM   #8
sandorski
No Lifer
 
sandorski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: coquitlam, bc
Posts: 57,336
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Patch the game, but you may want to back off the High settings as an experiment. It's very possible that the High settings turn on some funky thingy that's no longer supported in DirectX or Vidcards(perhaps ATI cards specifically). It wouldn't surprise me at all if the High settings use a feature specific to 3DFX cards that no other card supported, since 3DFX was THE card to use(for Deus Ex) when Deus Ex came out.
__________________

FX 8320@4ghz||Zalman LQ310||AsusM5A99X EVO R2
||XFX 5870 1gb||16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3||Seasonic M12 II 500watts||Zalman Z9 Plus||Asus MS238H

Science inspires us towards a better tomorrow, Fundamentalism wants us to die.
sandorski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 10:57 PM   #9
Frodolives
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,190
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Oh. Having the GOTY edition I don't think you require a patch. I recently installed a GOTY edition on an XP pc without problems just to check out the pc.

I can't find any saved info on the subject so I'm having a look here: http://forums.eidosgames.com/archive....php/f-28.html

Yes, so far I see verified that you shouldn't require patch, but I've already seen reference that you'd need this one if you have an audigy soundcard. EDIT: Darn, looks like that link is dead for the creative patch.

Maybe you'll find something useful on that board, but I'll follow your thread here in case you have some more feedback.
Frodolives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 11:06 PM   #10
MTDEW
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Central PA
Posts: 3,944
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Just installed GOTY edition also.
It has the latest patches.

All i can say is its not that the games advanced features only supports 3DFX as mentioned it "might" be above.

Im running it on a 7800GT with evrything maxed with no glitches at all in D3D or OpenGL.

So i'm assuming its a Radeon/driver thing, but not sure.

1st thing i'd do is make sure AA and Aniso settings are disabled or set to "application controlled" in the ATI control panel, make sure desktop is in 32bit color and have the latest Cat drivers. (which you most likely tried all that)

Did a search of the Eidos forum for ya without much luck.
Theres alot of post on the Eidos forum about graphic glitches though, and i didnt read them all, so the answer is probably there and i just missed it.
(most of the posts were about Nvidia cards and graphic glitches which were resolved with updating drivers)
__________________
Win7 64bit / 2600k @ 4.6ghz / Asus P8Z68-V Pro / 16gb GSkill DDR3 1600 / Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X / Corsair HX850w / Samsung 830 SSD / WD Black HDDs / CM HAF X / YAMAKASI CATLEAP Q270 SE 27" 2560X1440 + Tempered glass
MTDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 12:15 AM   #11
Schadenfroh
Elite Member
 
Schadenfroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 38,418
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

That game looked great on my voodoo5 5500 in GLIDE.
__________________
"how we live is so far removed from how we ought to live, that he who abandons what is done for what ought to be done, will rather bring about his own ruin than his preservation"
- Niccolò Machiavelli
Schadenfroh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 01:05 AM   #12
sandorski
No Lifer
 
sandorski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: coquitlam, bc
Posts: 57,336
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Schadenfroh
That game looked great on my voodoo5 5500 in GLIDE.
on mine too. everything(then) looked great on it.
__________________

FX 8320@4ghz||Zalman LQ310||AsusM5A99X EVO R2
||XFX 5870 1gb||16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3||Seasonic M12 II 500watts||Zalman Z9 Plus||Asus MS238H

Science inspires us towards a better tomorrow, Fundamentalism wants us to die.
sandorski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 01:58 AM   #13
MTDEW
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Central PA
Posts: 3,944
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Any high rez texture packs for this game?
Located a few unfinished projects, but nothing i could install yet.

Would rather have high rez textures before i play the whole game again for about the tenth time...LOL
__________________
Win7 64bit / 2600k @ 4.6ghz / Asus P8Z68-V Pro / 16gb GSkill DDR3 1600 / Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X / Corsair HX850w / Samsung 830 SSD / WD Black HDDs / CM HAF X / YAMAKASI CATLEAP Q270 SE 27" 2560X1440 + Tempered glass
MTDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 02:19 AM   #14
Frodolives
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,190
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Check out this project for high def mod for Deus Ex. At least that's the only one I'm aware of.
Frodolives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 02:24 AM   #15
MTDEW
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Central PA
Posts: 3,944
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

yep, thats the one i've been looking at.
Hope its done soon.

Seems a shame that there is a high rez texture pack available for Invisible War and not the original Deus Ex.

IMO the original is a far superior game.
__________________
Win7 64bit / 2600k @ 4.6ghz / Asus P8Z68-V Pro / 16gb GSkill DDR3 1600 / Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X / Corsair HX850w / Samsung 830 SSD / WD Black HDDs / CM HAF X / YAMAKASI CATLEAP Q270 SE 27" 2560X1440 + Tempered glass
MTDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 04:20 AM   #16
BFG10K
Lifer
 
BFG10K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 20,423
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Quote:
i installed the GOTY version, does that have the latest patch?
Yes. Now are you running under OpenGL?
__________________
4790K | Titan | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Z97-K | 128GB Samsung 830 | 960GB Crucial M500 | 1TB VelociRaptor | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Seasonic X 560W | Fractal Arc R2 Midi | 30" HP LP3065
BFG10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 08:31 AM   #17
mwmorph
Diamond Member
 
mwmorph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairbanks
Posts: 8,883
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Quote:
Originally posted by: BFG10K
Quote:
i installed the GOTY version, does that have the latest patch?
Yes. Now are you running under OpenGL?
D3D which looks a lot worse than Half Life 1 which was released earlier. The charter textures look like garbage, I can barely make out a face.

There was a option for software and a option for D3D(when I first start the game and it rn the tests) no OGL for my card for some reason.(9800xt) I've installed nothing, no packs, nothing just a full install of the game.

I;m runnig ati tray tools.

AA is app control
Ansio is app controled
Truform is on
Texture preference is Quality
MipMap Detail level is Quality
Wait for Vsync is always off
Ansio Filtering optomization is off
Trilinear optomization is off
DXT texture format support is on
Bump mapping support is on
Cat AI is low(minimum optomizations)
Texture LOD adjustment is 0
Geometry Instancing on

In other words, auto balanced settings in Ati Tray Tools.
mwmorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 10:33 AM   #18
mwmorph
Diamond Member
 
mwmorph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairbanks
Posts: 8,883
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

alright,m i went to safe mode, changed it to ogl and though it does look better, lighting is now all borked.

room texture? lighting? Ion Storm is haunting me from the grave?
http://img454.imageshack.us/img454/4...rettydecen.jpg
http://img454.imageshack.us/img454/5...rdpatchesw.jpg
http://img454.imageshack.us/img454/6...aspatchaft.jpg

ay least when i turn on a light now, the whole wall dosent change color(D3D), just a circle of the wall. I truied software too but it flashes too, tried to force savage 3 and glide but wont work

This happened on performance texture filtering, quality filtering, high quality filtering, aa. af is set app control mip map tried quality and high quality, in other words turned off all optomizatinos, set everything to highest quality and still nothing,
mwmorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 11:12 AM   #19
LiekOMG
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,362
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Odd. I run the game on the exact same video card and it looks just fine. Make sure you are running under DirectX.

The D3D renderer in the deusex.ini should look similar to this:

[D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice]
Translucency=True
VolumetricLighting=True
ShinySurfaces=True
Coronas=True
HighDetailActors=True
UseMipmapping=True
UseTrilinear=False
UseMultitexture=False
UsePageFlipping=True
UsePalettes=True
UseFullscreen=True
UseGammaCorrection=True
DetailTextures=True
Use3dfx=False
UseTripleBuffering=True
UsePrecache=False
Use32BitTextures=True
DescFlags=1
dwDeviceId=20042
dwVendorId=4098
UseVertexFog=False
UseAGPTextures=False
UseVideoMemoryVB=False
UseVSync=True
Description=RADEON 9800 XT
LiekOMG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 11:20 AM   #20
mwmorph
Diamond Member
 
mwmorph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairbanks
Posts: 8,883
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

hmm multitexture was no for me. I turned to false, no i'll just go test it.

That fixed it thanks!
Turned off multitexture, texture shange stopped but chain link fences glowed gright green
turned on 32bit texturees and chain link looks fine
turned on trilinear for the hell of it.
mwmorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 11:23 AM   #21
LiekOMG
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,362
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

I edited my previous settings. They were some old ones. The new ones should work better, i think. Multitexture should be off though.

Also make sure "fullscreencolorbits=32"
LiekOMG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 08:11 AM   #22
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54,513
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

DAMN! This problem got fixed without me.
My suggestion was going to be the same as DOACleric.

The user.ini and Deusex.ini have a lot of neat little goodies hidden in there.
When I had similar problems moving from an 8500 to a 9700, I just disabled everything in the render section and then enabled them one at a time. Found out that trilinear was giving me issues occasionally. As well as triple buffering. Which is a shame, because those two things really improve the game. (Though that may have been in OpenGL and not D3D.)

Got them working again when I moved to an X800. I now have a 7800GT. Based on the previous posts it should run fine with no hacking.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lean L View Post
I'm getting sick of navigating this tech forum. Since when do nerds speak in parables and passive aggressive tones?

Say what your observation is or move on... I keep saying it and I'll say it again. These posts add absolutely no value besides a +1 to your post count.
shortylickens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 06:35 PM   #23
Frodolives
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,190
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Glad you got it worked out mwmorph. Very fun game, and I'm on the verge of starting another campaign
Frodolives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 04:23 AM   #24
Doc Uncanny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

Quote:
Originally posted by: shortylickens
DAMN! This problem got fixed without me.

Then you may enjoy this. (Sorry about the post bumping.)

Obligatory stats: My card is a "32MB Diamond Viper V770D Ultra NVIDIA". My machine has 512MB RAM and operates at 690MHZ.

I tried what was suggested here (i.e. UseMultitexture=False, FullScreenColorBits=32). Unfortunately, FullScreenColorBits=32 hangs Deus Ex occasionally, and the combination of the two is slightly unappetizing.

I attempted setting ColorBits back to false and Use32BitTextures=True, but it did nothing to the blacked-out mirrors and green safety glass wires. The other renderers don't seem to work well, and I've been experimenting with the various [D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice] options, few of which seem to help.

I don't like the idea of buying a new $80+ AGP (non-Pro) card for an $8 game, so how might this be fixed? Is there a patch of some kind for Unreal that could be streched to fit Deus Ex GOTY?

Incidentally, I never had this problem with the Deus Ex demo. :brokenheart:
Doc Uncanny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 09:31 AM   #25
apoppin
Lifer
 
apoppin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 34,903
Default Deus Ex odd graphics glitch?

http://www.ttlg.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=63

everything DE ralated
__________________
.


AMD’s Upcoming HD 7970 Exposed – a Short-lived Video card?


Core i7 920 @ 3.8 GHz
/Noctua NH-U12P SE2/3x2 GB Kingston KHX1800/GTX 590, GTX 580 SLI or HD 6990 + HD 6970 TriFire-X3/Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R/2xThermaltake ToughPowerXT-775W/OCZ 850W/Thermaltake Element G/Klipsch v.2 400w/128 GB Kingston VNow 100 SSD and 2x500 GB 7200.12 Seagate HDDs/640 GB WD USB 2.0/Win 7 64/HP LP 3065 2500x1600 LCD/3 x Asus VG236H 23"
- 5760x1080 120Hz
apoppin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.