Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2005, 05:53 PM   #1
frankqfrank
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,040
Default Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

I would like to set up a thin client with a wireless adapter in my kitchen, along with a wireless keyboard and mouse, and a little 14" or 15" flat panel LCD monitor. I don't know much about these machines but it seems they will do Microsoft's remote desktop protocol. The goal would be to remote desktop to the computer in the office.

Could I install a wireless adapter in the thin client box and then just remote desktop to my computer in the office (which is wired to the wireless router) ???

To get decent performance does the thin client need to be new, or fast? I am looking at eBay and not sure what kind of specs to look for.

Finally, how hard is it to find a thin client that will work with a USB or PCI wifi adapter, or how hard is it to find an adapter that will work with a thin client??

EDIT: I just thought of something. Would I even need to install a wifi adapter if the box could do ethernet? I could just get a bridge, i.e. the linksys WET11 or simlar?

Thanks in advance for any responses, I would appreciate any information you could give me.
frankqfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 02:08 AM   #2
Goosemaster
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 48,770
Default Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

the part about getting it to work with wifi is what I'd be worried about.

in addition, those TC's require a termianl server, so at the very leat you would need windows XP pro, if not server. Not sure.

A bridge is a nice idea
__________________
The meaning of life is meaning.You strive to define it, and strive to have it define yourself.

It's all explained in my latest book: Fight the man.
Goosemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 06:18 AM   #3
nweaver
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 6,813
Default Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

use minimal resources, go with Linux and remote desktop client in full screen. Most people wont even know you are on linux.
nweaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 04:42 PM   #4
frankqfrank
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,040
Default Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

Quote:
Originally posted by: nweaver
use minimal resources, go with Linux and remote desktop client in full screen. Most people wont even know you are on linux.
I'm trying to avoid having to build a PC. Did you mean that I can use a thin client with an embedded linux OS in lieu of one with NT embedded, CE, or teh new XP embedded?

Goosemaster are you sure a TC requires a terminal server, and won't RD to a XP pro desktop?

frankqfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 06:44 PM   #5
Goosemaster
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 48,770
Default Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

Quote:
Originally posted by: frankqfrank

Goosemaster are you sure a TC requires a terminal server, and won't RD to a XP pro desktop?
Like I wrote, I am not sure
__________________
The meaning of life is meaning.You strive to define it, and strive to have it define yourself.

It's all explained in my latest book: Fight the man.
Goosemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 06:22 PM   #6
frankqfrank
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,040
Default Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

Anybody know if a thin client can remote desktop to a plain old windows XP computer?
frankqfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 11:31 PM   #7
nweaver
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 6,813
Default Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

yes it can....


you can get a thin client that is PXE bootable, I think there is a terminal server project for linux, google it.
nweaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 11:32 PM   #8
Goosemaster
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 48,770
Default Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

I just checked.

For the msot part the thin clients have either a Citrix ICA, RDP, or proprietary client. If it has an RDP client, then yes, you will be able to log in to an XP Pro machine.

That said, because the device uses only ROM in most cases, adding new devices and such would be compeltely up to the manufactuer. This like bringing sound and device management would be left to the hardware on the thin client.

My guess is that it'll give you basic authentication, basic to moderate Ethernet configuration, and that's it.


Just use a bridge if you want wireless.
__________________
The meaning of life is meaning.You strive to define it, and strive to have it define yourself.

It's all explained in my latest book: Fight the man.
Goosemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 09:00 AM   #9
daishi5
Golden Member
 
daishi5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,197
Default Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

Yes you can use RDP on any thin client that supports RDP to connect to your desktop.

I do this at work all the time. Just make sure it supports RDP and whatever network connection you wish to use.

Edit: You must have windows XP Pro, I am almost certain home edition does not allow you to remote connect. Also you rigth click on "my computer" and go to the remote tab to set up RDP connectivity.
daishi5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 11:14 AM   #10
kidtriton
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 39
Default Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

We use tons of HP T5500 and T5510's with optional built in 802.11b cards to do RDP.

BUT, if its going to terminal into XP, it will log out the console session each time, and if someone goes to the console of the XP computer, it will log out the thin client. If you want there to be a console session at the same time as the remote session, you will need 2000 or 2003 server.

kidtriton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 03:17 PM   #11
blemoine
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 312
Default Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

get an old machine with a cd drive cpu and ram and then just use knoppix. that should make your life easy.
__________________
The following sentence is true.
The preceding sentence is false
--Liar Paradox
blemoine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 01:25 PM   #12
frankqfrank
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,040
Default Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

Thanks for all the replies, and especially the model number kidtriton
frankqfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.