Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2008, 02:42 PM   #1
Viper GTS
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 36,932
Default Creating bootable CDs in InfraRecorder?

I've been Nero free for quite some time now, but there's one nagging thing that I haven't been able to figure out how to do in InfraRecorder: Create a bootable CD. This is coming up again of course due to the release of Windows XP SP3, until SP3 VL media is available on MSDN I'll be using a slipstreamed copy.

I refuse to install Nero just to do this, so what the heck am I missing? I'm following one of the multitude of guides out there that have always worked in the past for me using Nero. The SP integration worked fine, and I've extracted the boot image from the MSDN ISO, but I can't get it all to burn correctly.

Project properties in InfraRecorder are set like this:

http://pics.bbzzdd.com/users/V...arecorder_settings.gif

Anything obvious I'm missing? I'm guessing it's something Nero defaults to when you choose bootable CD, but I'm not installing that bloated POS just to figure it out. I'm using the latest version of InfraRecorder (0.45 x64) on Windows XP x64.

Update:

After changing the settings slightly (Changed level to 2, and checked "Omit version numbers from ISO9660 file names") I have made a little progress. I now get this when I boot from the ISO:

http://pics.bbzzdd.com/users/V...TS/ntdetect_failed.gif

The system spontaneously reboots after that is displayed.

Viper GTS
__________________
Display shopping?
Viper GTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 01:00 PM   #2
nova2
Senior Member
 
nova2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 982
Default Creating bootable CDs in InfraRecorder?

infrarecorder better be able to make bootable media - i just burned a vista MSDN image to a dvd.

edit:
my vista 64 dvd boots OK. Perhaps older versions of infrarecorder had your problem, Don't know.

infrarecorder freaking rocks so far.
http://www.google.com/search?&q=infrarecorder
nova2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 03:49 AM   #3
GregANDTCH
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,370
Default

I know this thread is really old,
but did you finally get InfraRecorder to burn a bootable dvd correctly?
GregANDTCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 10:49 AM   #4
MegaVovaN
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregANDTCH View Post
I know this thread is really old,
but did you finally get InfraRecorder to burn a bootable dvd correctly?
I'm not an OP,
but it burns bootable ISOs just fine.
MegaVovaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.