Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2005, 09:51 AM   #1
TTM77
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
Default Ethernet keep disconnecting/reconnecting

my computer is on and it keep pop up that baloon saying the network is disconnected. And it does this a couple million times a day.

Here's the indication I see.. just sitting and not touching anything.. just sit still without moving my legs or anything (the pc is under the desk and my leg might touch the wire).

The baloon disconnect would come on saying network is disconnected, then within 1 sometime 2 second it reconnect. Sometime it does this really quick. This just start recently and I can't figure out what it is that causing this. It might be my network card is going bad.

When I disconnect the cable manually, then reconnect it would waits awhile and seem to do some scan then it reconnect.

What are my options?

Thanks.
TTM77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 10:16 AM   #2
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,052
Default Ethernet keep disconnecting/reconnecting

replace the cable with a known good one (like store bought).

Heck there have been store bought cables that were bad.

Make sure nothing is crimping or sitting on top of the cable (like a desk)

If after all that then the problem is with the NIC/switch.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 10:25 AM   #3
TTM77
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
Default Ethernet keep disconnecting/reconnecting

done, didn't help.
TTM77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 10:30 AM   #4
TTM77
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
Default Ethernet keep disconnecting/reconnecting

will run out to get a new nic card during lunch. This is work pc. nobody else getting this but me. There must be at least 5 PC connecting to this network. Just me getting it.
TTM77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 10:41 AM   #5
Aves
Lifer
 
Aves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 12,177
Default Ethernet keep disconnecting/reconnecting

Quote:
Originally posted by: TTM77
will run out to get a new nic card during lunch. This is work pc. nobody else getting this but me. There must be at least 5 PC connecting to this network. Just me getting it.
If you can, try temporarily swapping ports on the hub/switch. Plug into a known good port.
__________________
Everyday, the fluffy temptation of wheat
Aves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 10:44 AM   #6
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,052
Default Ethernet keep disconnecting/reconnecting

Well if your sure the cable is good - store bought, has worked without problems on other links.

Then I'd start looking at driver or try another switch port. Sometimes, rarely, a switch port can go bad. More than likely its cable/nic.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 01:34 PM   #7
TTM77
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
Default Ethernet keep disconnecting/reconnecting

Ok.. replaced the nic card.. seem to work ok now.

the old one seem to be Cnet brand. This new one is D-Link.
TTM77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.