Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2005, 12:29 PM   #1
duragezic
Lifer
 
duragezic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 11,074
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

I have a very large circuits assignment to do from problems in about 10 PDFs. Each PDF however, is a whole chapter. I only need the last 10 pages or so from each PDF that has the problems. Using Acrobat Reader, the PDF is completely locked. I can't even print anything. It is a real pain to have to copy every problem down (over 100). So I, eh, am demoing Adobe Acrobat Pro 7.0. But I can't figure out how to select only a few pages from the original PDF and save it as a new one. Then I can send that PDF to the school to print. Is this possible to do?
duragezic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 12:31 PM   #2
wkinney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

Document, Extract Pages...
wkinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 01:45 PM   #3
duragezic
Lifer
 
duragezic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 11,074
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

That option as well as others near it are greyed out. So is the PDF totally locked down and there's nothing I can do about it??
duragezic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 01:51 PM   #4
wkinney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

You cant use the Select Text button and highlight the text that you need? Or are there graphics that you need? If not then can't you just copy, paste it into word...
wkinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 02:27 PM   #5
duragezic
Lifer
 
duragezic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 11,074
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

Yes there are diagrams that I need. The select tool will grab voltages, resistance numbers etc but not the circuit diagrams. I can't seem to do anything with the PDF. Crap.
duragezic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 02:33 PM   #6
wkinney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

screenshot ? :Q
wkinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 02:37 PM   #7
NuclearNed
Raconteur
 
NuclearNed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,892
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

If I recall correctly, the author of a PDF has the ability to lock (i.e. password protect) a PDF from printing and text selection, just like the OP said.

I don't think there is any way to get around this security feature, unless you can find some sort of crack on the net.
__________________
Not only do I feel stupid, but I also feel contagious.
NuclearNed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 02:46 PM   #8
WobbleWobble
Diamond Member
 
WobbleWobble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,867
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

NuclearNed is right. It's because of the security features of Acrobat that prevents you from doing any editing/printing. I'm pretty sure there are work arounds for these protections on the net.
__________________
What the F prompt?
WobbleWobble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 03:13 PM   #9
duragezic
Lifer
 
duragezic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 11,074
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

Bah. I found a cracker that worked cept with the trial it only does the first 5 pages of the PDF. And I read on another board that anything not Adobe (i.e. Ghostscript) can open and do whatever with a locked .pdf. So I got GS but it seems complicated and not worth the time to have to do to 10 separate PDFs. Someone in my class apparently took screencaps of the problems but it took her about 4 hours. Anything nearing that long I may as well just copy the problems down on a piece of paper.
duragezic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 03:35 PM   #10
bersl2
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,617
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

You might want to make this known to your teacher that the locked-down nature of the documents is not very conducive to learning, and that if an unprotected version cannot be obtained, a new source for materials should be considered. This kind of problem is the poster child of why DRM sucks.
bersl2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 03:44 PM   #11
LASTGUY2GETPS2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,274
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

http://www.verypdf.com/pwdremover/index.htm

I use this.
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.
LASTGUY2GETPS2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 05:22 PM   #12
duragezic
Lifer
 
duragezic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 11,074
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

That PwdRemover would be good except that it has the limitation of only doing the 1st half of the pages in the pdf. The 2nd half is what would have what I need.

edit: We've already asked our prof about the locked pdfs. Basically he didn't really care since he wants us to copy every friggin problem by hand.
duragezic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 05:26 PM   #13
Concillian
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 3,654
Default Editing a "locked" PDF

Quote:
Originally posted by: duragezic
edit: We've already asked our prof about the locked pdfs. Basically he didn't really care since he wants us to copy every friggin problem by hand.
Lol, I loved college :disgust:
Concillian is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.