Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Peripherals

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2005, 12:52 PM   #1
Senior Member
JTalbain's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 279
Default Resetting ink levels on EPSON Stylus CX4600?

Hi I have an EPSON Stylus CX4600. Currently I am only printing out black and white and thus do not need color ink. However, status monitor reports my color ink cartridges as being empty and refuses to let me print out in just black and white. Instead, it just gives me a message that my color ink cartridges need to be replaced. The thing that especially pisses me off is that I took the "empty" cartridges out and was able to shake them and hear some ink swooshing around.

So does anyone know how to reset the ink levels on the Stylus CX4600 so that they appear full? I have a feeling EPSON is scamming me a lil bit and that there's still some ink in there. Plus, I'm not gonna be printing in color ink anytime soon so I would like to be able to print in just black and white, but Status Monitor has decided I should do otherwise and "go to the EPSON online store and purchase genuine EPSON ink."

Thanks in advance.
Baby Heat
JTalbain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2005, 12:22 PM   #2
Golden Member
Woofmeister's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,384
Default Resetting ink levels on EPSON Stylus CX4600?


Register your Epson printer at the Epson site if you've not already done so. I can't tell you why except to say that all will be revealed shortly.
Falcon Northwest Icon II Chassis
ASUS Rampage III Extreme X58
Intel Core i7 950
Kingston 1600 Mhz DDR3 12GB
Silverstone Strider Gold 1200 watt PSU
(2) EVGA GTX580
Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB
Dell U3011
Woofmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2005, 04:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 404
Default Resetting ink levels on EPSON Stylus CX4600?

All of my epson does that. I just have to install the extra color catridge even though I only use B&W printouts.
firerock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2005, 08:32 PM   #4
Rudee's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 11,182
Default Resetting ink levels on EPSON Stylus CX4600?

Same here. I'm forced to buy color ink for my Epson just to print in black. I'm even forced to replace the black ink even if there is still ink left in the cartridge. What a fvcking scam. Inkjet printers are such a ripoff. No wonder the printers themselves are cheap, they make the money off all the friggin ink you need to run them. Fvck Epson!!
<Insert witty signature here>
Rudee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 05:19 PM   #5
SKORPI0's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: I'm from the internet
Posts: 13,165
Default Resetting ink levels on EPSON Stylus CX4600?

Universal Chip Resetter for Epson Cartridges

Universal Chip Resetter for Epson Cartridges will reset the "smart chips" on almost all Epson cartridges (except for wide format Epson printer cartridges) multiple times. They can be used when you refill Epson cartridges yourselves or reset to show full ink levels to maximize ink output.
i7 3930k @ 4.3GHz @ 1.28v, Asus Sabertooth X79, 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 1866, Sapphire HD 7970 3GB Crossfire, CM HAF 932 Advanced, CM Silent Pro Gold 1kW.
NZXT Kraken X60 PULL, Samsung 830 128gb SSD (Windows 10), Kingston
SSDNow V300 120gb (OS X 10.10.5), Dual Yamakasi 2703, Logitech MK320/Z-5300.

SKORPI0 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.