· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Old 07-11-2005, 10:10 PM   #1
puppykitten

Default How to talk to my boss to change job function?

Hi, I am a newbie in software industry, working in software testing.

I have been working on some boring and non-important job part of testing for almost one year, and in the plan my boss sent me recently, she still wants me to work in this field for next year. I am really tired of it. What's more, this part of testing is by no means the core part of our group, and I can learn nothing if continue working on this.

I am very eager to learn more skills in various part of testing, working on more core parts in my group, and build my "own brand". My boss will soon talk to me about the plan for next year, and I would like to talk to her about changing my job function. However, I am a newbie, and really don't know how to talk to her about this, and not make her unhappy about this ( I guess if I don't want to do this part, she needs to find someone else working on my current part.). I really want to hear advice from your experienced guys. Thanks!
puppykitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 10:24 PM   #2
beer
Lifer

Quote:
Originally posted by: puppykitten
Hi, I am a newbie in software industry, working in software testing.

I have been working on some boring and non-important job part of testing for almost one year, and in the plan my boss sent me recently, she still wants me to work in this field for next year. I am really tired of it. What's more, this part of testing is by no means the core part of our group, and I can learn nothing if continue working on this.