Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2005, 10:23 AM   #1
Steve's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 16,565
Default Acrobat 7.0 Pro can't find or create fonts

I'm a helpdesk worker trying to assist a user in my office who has Acrobat 7.0 Pro (upgrade from 6.0, not sure if Pro or Standard). When he opens a file he created to edit it some more, he gets a popped-up error message saying "Cannot find or create the font 'TimesNewRomanPSMT' some characters may not display or print correctly." The font name seems to vary depending what was used in a given document. All that can be seen then is anything non-text. However the documents appear just fine in Acrobat 6.0 Standard. This includes the 7.0.1 and 7.0.2 updates to Acrobat and reader.

This user has Windows XP with Service Pack 2 and MS Office XP (no SPs).
Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2005, 12:23 PM   #2
Elite Member
Super Moderator
corkyg's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 25,390
Default Acrobat 7.0 Pro can't find or create fonts

I have had some problems after upgrading Acrobat 6 to 7 plus the two patches. I've not run into that specific font problem, but I did end up uninstalling 7 and reinstalling 6. It also eliminated the "activation" problem.
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

"Ineptocracy- a system of government where the least capable to lead are elected by the least capable of producing, and where the members of society least likely to sustain themselves or succeed, are rewarded with goods and services paid for by the confiscated wealth of a diminishing number of producers." - Merritt Man, 2011
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.