Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2005, 06:08 PM   #1
aphex
Moderator
All Things Apple
 
aphex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 38,548
Default Turn a patch cable into a crossover?

Rather than go out and spend $10 on a crossover, i have like 15 patch cables... Whats the easiest way to accomplish this?
__________________
Heatware (149-0-0) | eBay (363-0-0)
aphex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 06:41 PM   #2
Quino
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 4,759
Default Turn a patch cable into a crossover?

swap the orange and green cables on one end and that is a crossover cable. Clor goes like this:
White orange, orange, white green, blue, white blue, green, white brown, brown. So only change the order for the orange (both white and solid) for the green ones
Quino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 06:47 PM   #3
bob4432
Lifer
 
bob4432's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: PHX, AZ
Posts: 11,316
Default Turn a patch cable into a crossover?

buy a crimper, some rj45s, a cheap tester and buy the cat5e by the foot. initial investment will be more than $10 but if you make a lot of cable like some of us do, this is the best way to do it, got a 1000' spoool sitting in the closet, probably will never have to buy a cable again
__________________
Main Rig:
i5-2500K, Asrock Z77 Extreme6, 8GB DDR3-1600, ASUS GTX560 Ti DirectCU II TOP, 250GB 7K2 / 500GB 7K2, Antec EA650W, Soyo MB24W - 1920x1200
bob4432 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 07:06 PM   #4
ShadowBlade
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,264
Default Turn a patch cable into a crossover?

google for a crossover adapter...ive seen them before
__________________
B=bytes b=bits
Official Member of the ShadowBlade Crew

A64 3200+| Chaintech VNF4 Mobo | Corsair VS 1024MB | XFX 7800GT | SB XFi ExtremeMusic | WD 250GB HD | Samsung 80GB HD | Fortron AX500-A || Sceptre X20WG-Naga 1680x1050
// Desktop
-------
Dell Inspiron e1505 || WD 320GB HD
// Server
-------
Asus Eee PC 900HA
// Daily use
ShadowBlade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 07:17 PM   #5
EyeMWing
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 15,673
Default Turn a patch cable into a crossover?

Quote:
Originally posted by: bob4432
buy a crimper, some rj45s, a cheap tester and buy the cat5e by the foot. initial investment will be more than $10 but if you make a lot of cable like some of us do, this is the best way to do it, got a 1000' spoool sitting in the closet, probably will never have to buy a cable again
1000ft doesn't go as far as it sounds like it does... Especially when your house has several 300ft runs in it.
EyeMWing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 07:21 PM   #6
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,423
Default Turn a patch cable into a crossover?

http://www.ezlan.net/faq#coupler

There are copuplers for around $3.

:sun:
__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.