Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Peripherals

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2005, 09:47 PM   #1
Googer
Lifer
 
Googer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost City of Atlantis
Posts: 12,547
Default Overclock your mouse.

Does any one know how to change the report rate for a PS/2 mouse? I want to increase it from 100Hz to 200Hz, does anyone know a utility that can do it? I have already downloaded one called "PS2Rate" and it does not work. Are there any other methods out there?
Googer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2005, 11:47 PM   #2
Chad
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 2,222
Default Overclock your mouse.

i believe you can do it in Device Manager. nosoftware is needed.
__________________
26 What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul? Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul?<BR><BR>Matthew 16:26 NIV<BR>My Heatware<BR>My Diesel!
Chad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 12:48 AM   #3
Googer
Lifer
 
Googer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost City of Atlantis
Posts: 12,547
Default Overclock your mouse.

The Device Manager only alows you to take It up to 100Hz, Other people have reported taking their PS/2 as high as 500Hz. What software are they using?
Googer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 11:21 AM   #4
dalmiroy2k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Default Overclock your mouse.

you can use "PS2Rate"

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download299.html
dalmiroy2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 12:35 PM   #5
Googer
Lifer
 
Googer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost City of Atlantis
Posts: 12,547
Default Overclock your mouse.

Quote:
Originally posted by: dalmiroy2k
you can use "PS2Rate"

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download299.html

Read the opening post, I said I have already tried It. I get an error message that says "PS/2Rate.VxD must be in the same folder as the .EXE". The program does not work. Are there any others out there, I would love to reach 250Hz.
Googer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 04:05 PM   #6
dalmiroy2k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Default Overclock your mouse.

It does work if you extract the Vxd file in your win system folder.
but anyway, try this other version, it should work:

http://cablemodem.fibertel.com.ar/dalmiroy2k/ps2.exe
dalmiroy2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 10:37 PM   #7
Googer
Lifer
 
Googer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost City of Atlantis
Posts: 12,547
Default Overclock your mouse.

I know, I extracted all the files to the same folder; thats what I always do with any zip file.

Thanks for the link, I will try it out and let you know how well it works.
Googer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 03:25 AM   #8
Chad
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 2,222
Default Overclock your mouse.

weird, in my device manager it lets me take it to 200. maybe because i have a logitech and they allow it also in their drivers? i never heard of being able to go to 500. i'm pretty sure 200 is as high as you can go due to the limitation of the ps2 connection itself.
__________________
26 What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul? Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul?<BR><BR>Matthew 16:26 NIV<BR>My Heatware<BR>My Diesel!
Chad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 04:36 AM   #9
Promethply
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,741
Default Overclock your mouse.

Quote:
Originally posted by: Chad
weird, in my device manager it lets me take it to 200. maybe because i have a logitech and they allow it also in their drivers? i never heard of being able to go to 500. i'm pretty sure 200 is as high as you can go due to the limitation of the ps2 connection itself.
That's true, AFAIK
__________________
Geliebte Erde ist unser einziges Heim.
Promethply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 09:20 AM   #10
dalmiroy2k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Default Overclock your mouse.

200Hz it the max you can reach using PS/2
On the other hand, you can get 1000hz if you use a high-end USB mouse like Logitech, but anything beyond 500hz it's insane.
use this program to "overclock" your USB mouse:

Only Windows XP/2k3:

http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail...r/1105183690/1
dalmiroy2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 10:10 AM   #11
imported_rod
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,788
Default Overclock your mouse.

Why does anyone need to overclock their mouse?

Once it's refresh rate is faster then your FPS or screen refresh rate, it's pointless isn't it? Especially if you have something like a Logitech which doesn't get itself confused easily. Couldn't you just use USB for a faster connection?...

RoD
imported_rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 11:30 AM   #12
dalmiroy2k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Default Overclock your mouse.

There is a great difference between stock PS/2 hz and 200hz.
Once set up, you won't need any special program to test it, just move your mouse around and you will feel it.
Stock USB hz is 120 if i'm correct.

dalmiroy2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 11:59 AM   #13
Peter
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 9,640
Default Overclock your mouse.

Just as a reminder: It is highly pointless to have the machine compute mouse movements more often than the screen updates. If your screen operates at a frame rate of 85 Hz, then no more than 85 mouse movements per second will ever be displayed - regardless of whether the mouse just moves a pointer, or a character in an FPS game.

Yeah it "feels smoother". Just like with snake oil.
Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 04:37 AM   #14
Googer
Lifer
 
Googer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost City of Atlantis
Posts: 12,547
Default Overclock your mouse.

Quote:
Originally posted by: rod
Why does anyone need to overclock their mouse?

Once it's refresh rate is faster then your FPS or screen refresh rate, it's pointless isn't it? Especially if you have something like a Logitech which doesn't get itself confused easily. Couldn't you just use USB for a faster connection?...

RoD
USB OFFERS 125Hz max, PS/2 is capable of 200Hz. USB sucks at just about everything it does. 1394 and PS/2 rock, die USB and die a horrible death.
Googer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 04:42 AM   #15
Googer
Lifer
 
Googer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost City of Atlantis
Posts: 12,547
Default Overclock your mouse.

Quote:
Originally posted by: dalmiroy2k
you can use "PS2Rate"

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download299.html


Well, I had my old mx500 running at 200Hz using the logitech software on windows 2000. I just purchased the new mx518, when I took it out of the box and tried to install the software iit said that It would only work with XP. So I am now stuck with a mouse that runs at only 100Hz@1600dpi vs my old mx500 200Hz@800dpi.

Thanks for the link, but after setting the software to 200Hz and doing my reboot Mouse Rate Checker reports only 100Hz for my 518 . I need a setpoint software crack.

Does anyone know of any other ways, methods, or programs out there?
Googer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 04:46 AM   #16
Googer
Lifer
 
Googer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost City of Atlantis
Posts: 12,547
Default Overclock your mouse.

Quote:
Originally posted by: dalmiroy2k
200Hz it the max you can reach using PS/2
On the other hand, you can get 1000hz if you use a high-end USB mouse like Logitech, but anything beyond 500hz it's insane.
use this program to "overclock" your USB mouse:

Only Windows XP/2k3:

http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail...r/1105183690/1
I know you can push usb above 125Hz, but It places a heavy tax on the CPU (15%) when you do (all USB devices do, thats one reason why I dislike it). Plus any other UBS devices on the system will not funtion properly if you overclock your USB ports; so I won't be using this. PS/2 is still the best way to connect keyboards and mice. Long Live PS/2.

I have all USB disabled on my system.


Quote:
Originally posted by: Peter
Just as a reminder: It is highly pointless to have the machine compute mouse movements more often than the screen updates. If your screen operates at a frame rate of 85 Hz, then no more than 85 mouse movements per second will ever be displayed - regardless of whether the mouse just moves a pointer, or a character in an FPS game.

Yeah it "feels smoother". Just like with snake oil.
It's nice to have a close 1:1 ratio, 1 mouse transmission to 1 video frame. I can easly get 200Fps in Half Life.
Googer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 05:56 AM   #17
Peter
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 9,640
Default Overclock your mouse.

... of which your display device won't show more than 60-100 (your refresh rate) either. That is pointless in exactly the same way as a higher mouse update rate.
Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 10:20 AM   #18
Traire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 361
Default Overclock your mouse.

Quote:
Originally posted by: Peter
... of which your display device won't show more than 60-100 (your refresh rate) either. That is pointless in exactly the same way as a higher mouse update rate.
Add to that the fact that the vast majority of Human brains wont notice much of a difference above ~30 fps.
Traire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 12:12 PM   #19
Tuffrabbit
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 81
Default Overclock your mouse.

Yes USB is currently limited to 125, PS/2 200.

(1) On XP go to control panel.
(2) Select printers and other hardware.
(3) Select mouse.
(4) Select the "hardware" tab on mouse properties screen.
(5) Now click properties.
(6) On the PS/2 Compatibility Mouse Properties page click "advanced settings".
(7) Now you can select any sample rate desired, even as high as 200 reports/second and input buffer lengths up to 200 packets.

P.S. Be sure Fast Initialization is also checked... Good Luck !

The main reason that I prefer using the PS/2 port is to keep the USB buss resources as free as possible...
Tuffrabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.