Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2005, 08:14 AM   #1
Neos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 881
Default Adaware - a scam ??

I have had some probs with the changing of my home page, with a some mess-ups of certain programs (Chief Architect, mainly).

I downloaded Adaware. It says I have a virus 'backdoor.ryejet', and wants 29.00 to remove it. I done a google and saw many complaints on adaware - saying it is a scam.

What gives? There is something causing a problem with my PC. My AVG does not pick it up & Adaware looks to be out to fleece me.

Any idea how to fix this?
Thanks!
__________________
"No fear ..only power, love, and a sound mind"

Neos is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:17 AM   #2
spherrod
Diamond Member
 
spherrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Burnham, UK
Posts: 3,897
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Firstly, try downloading Microsoft's Anti Spyware beta. Secondly, is this where you got Ad-aware from?

http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/
__________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast
spherrod is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:26 AM   #3
Modeps
Lifer
 
Modeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 17,177
Default Adaware - a scam ??

I've never had AdAware ask me to pay money to do anything...
Modeps is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:32 AM   #4
49erinnc
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,095
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Quote:
Originally posted by: Modeps
I've never had AdAware ask me to pay money to do anything...
__________________
Heatware

Ebay Feedback
49erinnc is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:40 AM   #5
Megatomic
Lifer
 
Megatomic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 19,781
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Quote:
Originally posted by: 49erinnc
Quote:
Originally posted by: Modeps
I've never had AdAware ask me to pay money to do anything...
Same

__________________
Evals: 223-0-0 Heatware

OG Moto X
Megatomic is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:42 AM   #6
Bucksnort
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,062
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Quote:
Originally posted by: Megatomic
Quote:
Originally posted by: 49erinnc
Quote:
Originally posted by: Modeps
I've never had AdAware ask me to pay money to do anything...
Same
adaware is a very worthy and legitimate program.
Bucksnort is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:42 AM   #7
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,213
Default Adaware - a scam ??

There's a huge difference in ad-ware and ad-aware
__________________
i7-5820K@4.2Ghz + H100i| 16GB DDR4-2133Mhz | Asrock X99X Killer | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:20 AM   #8
imported_michealo
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Default Adaware - a scam ??

yeah, you downloaded a spyware-ridden spyware remover

you actually made the situation worse, sorry to say

http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/
is what you want
imported_michealo is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:49 AM   #9
datalink7
Lifer
 
datalink7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 16,327
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Quote:
Originally posted by: Megatomic
Quote:
Originally posted by: 49erinnc
Quote:
Originally posted by: Modeps
I've never had AdAware ask me to pay money to do anything...
Same
__________________
By the cold and religious we were taken in hand
Shown how to feel good and told to feel bad.
Tongue tied and terrified we learned how to pray
Now our feelings run deep and cold as the clay.
And strung out behind us the banners and flags
Of our possible pasts lie in tatters and rags.
datalink7 is online now  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:58 PM   #10
jadinolf
Lifer
 
jadinolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ojai, CA
Posts: 20,952
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Quote:
Originally posted by: Megatomic
Quote:
Originally posted by: 49erinnc
Quote:
Originally posted by: Modeps
I've never had AdAware ask me to pay money to do anything...
Same
Strange.
__________________
This post printed on 100% recycled bytes
jadinolf is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 01:15 PM   #11
Neos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 881
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Thanks, all.

You are right. It was noadware ..http://www.noadware.net/?hop=wintech. I also have the Ad-Aware SE Personal Edition form Lavasoft. I have used it and it has quanintened number of files. I do hope that it took care of this 'backdoor.ryejet'. That is the virus that was described to a T as far as what it was doing to my PC. Did not show up, though - through an AVG scan. It must have been a simular type problem virus.

Time will tell.
__________________
"No fear ..only power, love, and a sound mind"

Neos is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 01:18 PM   #12
49erinnc
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,095
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Quote:
Originally posted by: Neos
Thanks, all.

You are right. It was noadware ..http://www.noadware.net/?hop=wintech. I also have the Ad-Aware SE Personal Edition form Lavasoft. I have used it and it has quanintened number of files. I do hope that it took care of this 'backdoor.ryejet'. That is the virus that was described to a T as far as what it was doing to my PC. Did not show up, though - through an AVG scan. It must have been a simular type problem virus.

Time will tell.


You may also want to try Spybot Search & Destroy in combination with Ad-Aware. I'm pretty sure most people here, like myself, use both to combat spyware. It's a little more aggressive than Ad-Adaware. I tend to run both bi-weekly just to keep things in check.
__________________
Heatware

Ebay Feedback
49erinnc is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 01:57 PM   #13
Neos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 881
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Thanks
I have had Spybot for a spell, and will now run both that and Ad Aware often.

I do wonder why my AVG did not catch this, though?? This 'backdoor.ryejet' that was/is supossed to be there is a trojon virus - according to Symantec.

AVG did not even list it. Makes me wonder if AVG might not be as good as I thought.
__________________
"No fear ..only power, love, and a sound mind"

Neos is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 02:10 PM   #14
8eg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Default Adaware - a scam ??

You downloaded one of the many disreputable anti-spyware programs that are floating around the net. To learn who you can trust, (and about spyware in general,) go to Spyware Warrior. You can see that noadware is listed on the Rogue/Suspect Anti-Spyware List.
8eg is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 03:00 PM   #15
montag451
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,587
Default Adaware - a scam ??

AVG is good for not have much of a footprint in terms of resources, but in some tests, only catches about 68%.
Kaspersky tops out at about 99% and is almost always the best of the bunch - BUT - on some systems, the latest version just seems to wallow in RAM.
montag451 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 03:06 PM   #16
Neos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 881
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Wallow in ram ?? Do you mean it uses too much - or needs too much?
__________________
"No fear ..only power, love, and a sound mind"

Neos is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 03:37 PM   #17
Concillian
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 3,654
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Quote:
Originally posted by: Neos
Thanks
I do wonder why my AVG did not catch this, though?? This 'backdoor.ryejet' that was/is supossed to be there is a trojon virus - according to Symantec.

AVG did not even list it. Makes me wonder if AVG might not be as good as I thought.
This is a backdoor, which may not technically be classified as a virus.

Virus programs often only look for viruses, which I think are not nearly as common as they were a few years ago. The bigger problem these days is spyware/adware/malware whatever you want to call it, which are much more difficult to protect against because often the user actually approves their installation, or they make use of loopholes in specific programs.
Concillian is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 03:42 PM   #18
n0cmonkey
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 42,936
Default Adaware - a scam ??

STOP USING AN ACCOUNT WITH ADMINISTRATOR PRIVS.
__________________
freakangels | HFC
n0cmonkey is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 04:42 PM   #19
Neos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 881
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Do you mean during log on? I am not even sure if I implement admin priv.
__________________
"No fear ..only power, love, and a sound mind"

Neos is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 04:49 PM   #20
n0cmonkey
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 42,936
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Quote:
Originally posted by: Neos
Do you mean during log on? I am not even sure if I implement admin priv.
Your user account probably had administrator privileges. STOP DOING THAT. It's a simple fix to almost all virus and spyware issues.
__________________
freakangels | HFC
n0cmonkey is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:06 PM   #21
Neos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 881
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Can you give me a few hints? I went to user accounts in the control panel, and the log on account is the main admin account. Do I need to create a password, or make other changes (IYHO).

By the way - I think the prob is still there. When I rebooted a while ago - the home page was changed.

Thanks for the input.
__________________
"No fear ..only power, love, and a sound mind"

Neos is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:25 PM   #22
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,699
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Quote:
Originally posted by: n0cmonkey
STOP USING AN ACCOUNT WITH ADMINISTRATOR PRIVS.


Create a new Administrator-class account and then switch your usual account to a Limited account. Are you on WinXP Home or WinXP Pro there?

Also, tonight before you go to bed, uninstall AVG and install/configure/update a 30-day trial of Kaspersky: http://www.omnicast.net/~tmcfadden/g...kaspersky.html Then fire off an exhaustive scan and call it a night, and see what it's found in the morning. If you use up your 30 days and don't want to buy it, it uninstalls ok and you can go back to AVG or AntiVir.
mechBgon is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:13 PM   #23
Neos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 881
Default Adaware - a scam ??

I have XP Pro.

OK - I have downloaded the Kaspersky. I will now take out the the AVG and put this in motion.

I presume that when I log on now - I would access the new account admin - right?
__________________
"No fear ..only power, love, and a sound mind"

Neos is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 05:44 AM   #24
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,213
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Quote:
Originally posted by: Neos
Thanks
I have had Spybot for a spell, and will now run both that and Ad Aware often.

I do wonder why my AVG did not catch this, though?? This 'backdoor.ryejet' that was/is supossed to be there is a trojon virus - according to Symantec.

AVG did not even list it. Makes me wonder if AVG might not be as good as I thought.
I've just changed to Antivir, since two of my computers and my parents computer got infected using AVG.
__________________
i7-5820K@4.2Ghz + H100i| 16GB DDR4-2133Mhz | Asrock X99X Killer | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 08:07 AM   #25
Neos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 881
Default Adaware - a scam ??

Well, the Kaspersky found the backdoor. That is great news here. Looks like I will be changing to this from AVG.

Gotta check it out further, but does the Kaspersky have a firewall built in ? I have Zonealarm also and they seem to be doing the same job.
__________________
"No fear ..only power, love, and a sound mind"

Neos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.