Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-28-2005, 07:10 PM   #1
Com807877
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 230
Default RG6/RG59 & Cable Modem

Hi all,

I currently have RG59 in my house, and my cable modem randomly loses it's connection to Road Runner. I also have ghosting and static on some channels so I figure it's time to do something about it.

I'm thinking about replacing the line to the cable modem with RG6 and getting rid of the old RG59. Does anyone know how likely it is this would fix the problem?

The cable wire is also spliced with old F-81 connectors. (they should be over 10 years old) The wall plates also use them. If I were to replace them with 3ghz rated F-81 connectors would this help any?

Thanks for any advice.
Com807877 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 07:53 PM   #2
Shogun
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 91
Default RG6/RG59 & Cable Modem

If you are getting ghosting/static on your TV, it sounds like you are suffering from some over the air bleed. Before you replace all the cable, I suggest you try removing and recrimping on decent Type-F connectors. Here's a link to a page I found with Google. If you look in the section in the left-hand pane there is a section on stripping coax cable.

As for the problems with your cable modem dropping out I can't say why it is doing that. It could be the signal strength, a bad splitter somewhere. I would call the cable company to come out and check it out.
Shogun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 11:11 PM   #3
The Boston Dangler
Lifer
 
The Boston Dangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Democratic People's Republic of Massachusetts
Posts: 13,671
Default RG6/RG59 & Cable Modem

Why not call the cable company and have them do it? The quality of hardware they should use (RG-6 quad shield cable, compression fittings, 1 GHz splitters, etc.) isn't usually available to most people. Besides, aren't you paying for decent service? Put in a trouble call. Ghosting can have 3 sources. Either broadcast channels are leaking into the cable somewhere (not necessarily in your house), there is a cable network problem, or your TV is all done.
__________________
If God had meant for us to walk, why did he give us feet that fit car pedals?

-Sir Stirling Moss
The Boston Dangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.