Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2005, 08:52 PM   #1
Underwood
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

I had to change the CPU on my girlfriend's computer (long story). Anyway, I changed the CPU out without incident but now when I turn the computer on it doesn't boot up. Everything seems to turn on as normal but I can't hear the HD spinning etc. I've tried resetting the bios but that didn't help.

The CPU I changed is the same speed, model, etc of the one that was in there.
P4 3.0 GHz
1 gig Ram
120 GB HD
Elite Group mobo (from Fry's)
http://shop2.outpost.com/product/423...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG

If you need any more info let me know.
Underwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 09:16 PM   #2
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,697
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

What is the (drum roll) brand and model of the power supply, and what GPU does this system have? Thinking power issues here, it helps to know what the entire load is.
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 09:29 PM   #3
Underwood
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

Antec 350W PS...
128mb GeForce 4 (Generic)

I don't think it's a power issue otherwise it would have done this before... this just started happening after I changed the CPU
Underwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 09:29 PM   #4
jehurey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 16
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

did you connect the fan's power connection to the motherboard?, if so, then you have to verfiy that your connect the cpu properly in its socket, which is something you better hope you did right the first time, because if not, then you'll have another problem on your hands tonight.
jehurey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 09:45 PM   #5
boshuter
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4,141
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

All you did was replace a cpu with the exact same model of cpu? Maybe it would help if you explained why the swap was done in the first place? Was there a problem with the system when you had the other cpu in it? Will it boot with the old cpu now?
__________________
Heat

boshuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 10:02 PM   #6
daveybrat
Diamond Member
 
daveybrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 3,374
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

It may be a long story, but i think without knowing why you replaced the cpu in the first place, we'll never be able to troubleshoot this for you.
__________________
Heatware

Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II 960T@3.5GHz (CM Hyper 212+)| 8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3 | Crucial M500 240GB SSD | WD 640GB Black | MSI GTX 660 Twin-Frozer III | Asus Xonar DG | Windows 7 64-Bit
daveybrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 10:22 PM   #7
Underwood
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

The reason I changed out the CPU was because my girlfriend's computer was randomly shutting down. I posted on here and most people suggested that it was heat related. I went and bought a Zalman's heatsink to change out the CPU heatsink but when I removed the old heatsink it pulled the processor off with it bending a few corner pins in the process. One of the pins was bent to the point that it could not be bent straight and where the CPU wouldn't mount to the motherboard. I bought another CPU that was the same model, everything, and installed CPU checking everything multiple times to make sure it was mounted correctly, etc. Everything is connected as it should be and all the fans start up I just can't here the hard drive spinning and nothing comes up on screen.
Underwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 03:12 AM   #8
fuzzynavel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 629
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

CPU should lift out without using much force at all.......how the hell did you manage to bend the pins to the point of no return.......force like that will destroy not only your CPU but possibly the MOBO too.....
__________________
------------------------------------------------------------
AMD A64 3000 (Venice Rev:E3)@2.3GHz (256MHz x9)
1GB OCZ Value RAM
Gigabyte NF4 Ultra9 PCIE MOBO
40GB 7200 Maxtor
160GB 7200 8MB cache Maxtor
250GB 7200 Maxtor
Connect 3D X800XL 256MB PCIE(@435/528)
DVD +/- RW
Logitech MX 5000 Mouse/Keyboard
Vista 32 bit Home Premium
Ubuntu Linux Gutsy tester...
------------------------------------------------------------
fuzzynavel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 10:25 AM   #9
Underwood
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

It didn't use much force, the heatsink that was on there used 'springs' where you pushed down on two button/springs, tilted the heatsink in the opposite direction, then did the same thing to the other side to remove the heatsink. When I tilted the heatsink to the side it took the processor with it.... bending two or three pins on one corner.
Underwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 02:09 PM   #10
Genesis15
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 394
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

Yo underwood same stuff happened to me dog... Take everything out!! EVERYTHING, try replacing the PSU too that helped mine. And reset the CMOS. Play around with some wires for a little bit put everything back in and it should work.
Genesis15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 02:33 PM   #11
Genesis15
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 394
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

And BTW thats not a good way to get your heatsink off, take ur fingers and pull one part at a time.
Genesis15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 07:33 PM   #12
Laputa
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,767
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

Fan connector needs to be on and the 12v power connector needs to be connected. U probably yank them out when you remove the chip and forgot to connect it/them back.
__________________
Drop your hard drive!!! Doh!!! Rofl!!!My Heat
Laputa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 02:09 PM   #13
Underwood
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

The fan is connected correctly and runs, but I don't get noise from the HD, etc
Underwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 02:17 PM   #14
LTC8K6
Lifer
 
LTC8K6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under an American chemtrail
Posts: 17,280
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

Start removing things that aren't necessary for the computer to boot.

I'd start with that hard drive you can't hear.
__________________
no offense, but does he have some sort of mental dissability? -nick1985

Brainwashed, mentally unstable, and stupid Intel user, screwed by Intel and located directly under a chemtrail.

Don't be a moron! Buy AMD!
LTC8K6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 02:41 PM   #15
wseyller
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 822
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

When you say it doesn't boot what do you mean? Does anything output to the monitor? Can you get into the bios? Do you get any beeps from the pc speaker? Try Reset Cmos jumper. Did you apply the thermal compound on the cpu? Those prescotts get really hot. Make sure cpu is seated correctly and that no pins are bent. There should be no force needed to install the cpu. It should just fall in. Make sure heatsink is seated correctly. Make sure you plugged in the 12v 4-pin power connector from the power supply into the mobo (will not post without that). Try removing all components that you don't need to post. Remove any harddrives, cdrom drives, sound cards.
__________________
Superior Imaging Product
Network Recycling Systems
wseyller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 07:00 PM   #16
Underwood
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

I've tried resetting the CMOS jumper, nothing is output to the screen, no beeps... just the all the fans starting up
Underwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 07:36 PM   #17
sivart
Golden Member
 
sivart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 1,787
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

are you sure that the FSB of the new chip is the same as the old. In my experience a non-boot (with fans running) is most of the time a FSB issue (not set correct for the current chip). The P4 3.0GHz come in both 533MHz FSB and 800MHz FSB. If you bought the 800MHz FSB (more common now) and the mobo doesn't support it, it won't boot.
__________________
Heatware | eBay
sivart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 10:24 AM   #18
Underwood
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

Siliconhills,
That's a good point, when I get home today I'll double check it. The original CPU's FSB was 800MHz which the mobo supports so I don't think that's the problem.

I'm going to take the computer apart tonight and see if I can figure out what is causing the problem.
Underwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 11:36 AM   #19
HKSturboKID
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,816
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

Check the old cpu and make sure no pins broken off and got stuck on the cpu mount.
__________________
Diamonds are for Lovers and Friends are Forever....

HKSturboKID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 01:04 PM   #20
chachster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 16
Default Replaced CPU, now computer won't boot up

Also, make sure the heatsink is making proper contact with the CPU. I've had this almost bite me before and took the suggestion of removing the heatsink and putting it back on. I would have the light on the motherboard come on and the heatsink fan would spin, but would not POST. I did reapply some thermal compound after reapplying the heatsink. Just an idea.
chachster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.