Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2005, 12:15 AM   #1
Renegade23216
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 416
Default Laptop screen has couple inches of black around the edges.

A friend of mine has a laptop in which the monitor displays the picture just fine, however, around the picture exists a black frame a couple inches wide.

How can he get the laptop to span the whole screen? With a desktop monitor you can play with the settings on the front of the monitor, but I don't believe his laptop has that.

Tried many different screen resolutions, but same problem. Using Win XP.
Renegade23216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 12:32 AM   #2
PurdueRy
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,831
Default Laptop screen has couple inches of black around the edges.

on any LCD display there are still settings...I use DVI so it does it automatically(DSUB connector might do that too not sure. DVI has some adjustment features over DSUB) anyway.....I would say there should be buttons on the LCD(I know its a laptop) to change this. I don't have much experience with laptops so that is all I can suggest
PurdueRy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 12:33 AM   #3
Renegade23216
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 416
Default Laptop screen has couple inches of black around the edges.

All I know is that it's a Compaq. Not sure of model number.
Renegade23216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 01:48 AM   #4
Bozo Galora
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 7,271
Default Laptop screen has couple inches of black around the edges.

http://forums.itweek.co.uk/thread.js...message=306947
http://www.guide-to-laptops.com/guid...p-screens.html
Bozo Galora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 02:18 AM   #5
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,977
Default Laptop screen has couple inches of black around the edges.

ask blackinches about black inches...
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.