Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > The Garage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2008, 08:36 PM   #1
OUCaptain
Golden Member
 
OUCaptain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,522
Default Lawn tractor engine won't run without the choke

So thats the issue. I've got a lawn tractor with a Briggs 14 hp ohv engine. It starts and runs fine with plenty of power but only if the choke is about halfway out all the time. I've changed the plug and installed new air filter. I pulled the carb, completely dissassembled it, and soaked it one of those paint cans of cleaner but no change. The only thing I haven't done is adjust the valve clearance as I don't have a spec manual. There is a small bit of clearance between the valve and rocker though. I'm at a loss. Any ideas?

Edit: tried re-tuning the mix. Richening nor leaning had any effect. It ran the best the way I found it.

Edit2:

We bought the tractor used. It didn't appear to be very well maintained which prompted the general tune up. Engine runs exactly the same as before I touched it, maybe a bit better minus the choke issue. When I began playing with mix, I wrote down the exact number of turns it was already out so I could return it to it's original position. Float was clean and moving freely. Didn't have a filter to begin with (it does now though) which is why I pulled the card and cleaned to begin with. Gaskets were in good shape and everything was reassembled perfectly(I double checked twice).

This isn't the first small engine I've worked on btw. I've been rebuilding them for about 10 years. This one just has me baffled. I'll check the muffler once it warms up a bit outside.

Thanks for the suggestions. If nothing else, it's confirming that I haven't missed anything (except whats causing the problem of course).
OUCaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:12 PM   #2
cardiac
Golden Member
 
cardiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ask Your Mom..
Posts: 1,937
Default Lawn tractor engine won't run without the choke

Most definitely some sediment you missed in the carb. I do a a half dozen lawnmowers/tractors for the neigbors every spring. They never drain the gas or stabilize it during the winter. You need to run a welding tip cleaner through the main jet. I'm sure it will be clogged. Soaking probably didn't get it....
__________________
My Heatware
cardiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:23 PM   #3
OUCaptain
Golden Member
 
OUCaptain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,522
Default Lawn tractor engine won't run without the choke

Quote:
Originally posted by: cardiac
You need to run a welding tip cleaner through the main jet. I'm sure it will be clogged. Soaking probably didn't get it....
Thanks but did exactly that. Jets and ports are completely clean as far as I can tell. The bowl was clean when first took it off, i.e. no sediment or evidence of gas sitting in it for long.
OUCaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 07:14 AM   #4
M2008S
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 535
Default Lawn tractor engine won't run without the choke

you shouldnt have to adjust and valve clearance or whatever. id say it sounded like the mixture screw (little one with a spring) is off. just get the engine warm somehow and fiddle with it so it runs with the choke off..

but since you say you worked with it id say you messed something up when you took it apart. left something off, etc.

-take the bowl off the carb and make sure the float isnt stuck or bad, it may have a hole therefore filling with gas, fing up. might just get a new one for a couple bucks and change it neways

-double check for any loose/missing parts

-gas filter? check. it should have one in the gas line.

also make sure you have the gasket between the carb and engine, did you forget it?

some had restricter plates between the muffler and the block too. id try the other things before that though. theyre little metal plates.

try that then come back w/ edit
M2008S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 10:22 PM   #5
Mulish1
Junior Member
 
Mulish1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Monee, Illinois
Posts: 1
Default problem with throttle and choke

Hi folks,

Just a short note to thank those of you who put me on the right track to fix my garden tractor. I stumbled upon your site and this string that led me through stripping down the carbuerator on my craftsman tractor. It took a while for this mechanically challenged retiree, but when all was said and done, the problem was eliminated.

There happened to be some gunk (junk) that got past the fuel filter and was obstructing the flow of fuel in the needle valve at the bottom of the carbuerator bowl.

Thank you one and all,

Doug Chapman
Mulish1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 01:14 AM   #6
skyking
Lifer
 
skyking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 15,967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mulish1 View Post
Hi folks,

Just a short note to thank those of you who put me on the right track to fix my garden tractor. I stumbled upon your site and this string that led me through stripping down the carbuerator on my craftsman tractor. It took a while for this mechanically challenged retiree, but when all was said and done, the problem was eliminated.

There happened to be some gunk (junk) that got past the fuel filter and was obstructing the flow of fuel in the needle valve at the bottom of the carbuerator bowl.

Thank you one and all,

Doug Chapman
Welcome to the forums, Doug. I think this is the first time I've seen someone join for finding the answer to a mechanical problem here. It is better known for the computer-related information
__________________
Heat

skyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 06:30 AM   #7
EightySix Four
Diamond Member
 
EightySix Four's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skyking View Post
Welcome to the forums, Doug. I think this is the first time I've seen someone join for finding the answer to a mechanical problem here. It is better known for the computer-related information
I won't go near the hardware side of AT anymore. Those guys take fanboyism to the extreme.
__________________
Formerly CrazySOB297.
EightySix Four is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 07:19 AM   #8
boomerang
Lifer
 
boomerang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 13,764
Default

OU, One of the mods here was having similar problems with a full sized tractor and I suggested he had a vacuum leak. If there is a manifold that bolts to the block you may want to remove it and see if the gasket is in good shape.

However, what the mod ultimately found was that he had rust in the gas tank that was restricting the flow of gas to the carb. Without enough gas it was running lean.

Check for a vacuum leak and if not, make sure the fuel is flowing well. Could be water in the fuel filter, a pinched or collapsed fuel line, etc., too. Sounds as though you've gone through the carb pretty well. Did you need to change the float level? Do you know how to set the float level? Is it an old style brass float that has sprung a leak and now has gas in it?
boomerang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 07:24 AM   #9
EightySix Four
Diamond Member
 
EightySix Four's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boomerang View Post
OU, One of the mods here was having similar problems with a full sized tractor and I suggested he had a vacuum leak. If there is a manifold that bolts to the block you may want to remove it and see if the gasket is in good shape.

However, what the mod ultimately found was that he had rust in the gas tank that was restricting the flow of gas to the carb. Without enough gas it was running lean.

Check for a vacuum leak and if not, make sure the fuel is flowing well. Could be water in the fuel filter, a pinched or collapsed fuel line, etc., too. Sounds as though you've gone through the carb pretty well. Did you need to change the float level? Do you know how to set the float level? Is it an old style brass float that has sprung a leak and now has gas in it?
Look at the date on OU's post, he's hopefully fixed it by now
__________________
Formerly CrazySOB297.
EightySix Four is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 08:18 AM   #10
boomerang
Lifer
 
boomerang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 13,764
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazySOB297 View Post
Look at the date on OU's post, he's hopefully fixed it by now
OMG, I would hope so!
boomerang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 07:35 AM   #11
bourbon mo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EightySix Four View Post
Look at the date on OU's post, he's hopefully fixed it by now
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomerang View Post
OMG, I would hope so!


If so , hopefully OU might give us a update on this???? And yes I see how old the last post is BUT......
I've gotta White riding mower with a 15.5 hp. Tec. eng. doing the same thing. Got to have the choke on before it will run. I have tore down the carb , replaced fuel filter & lines , spark plug,cleaned the gas tank. I also have worked on many of lawn mowers/tractors/weedeaters in my day and still run into a "head scratcher" like this. Any suggestions are welcome!!!
bourbon mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.