Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2005, 09:55 PM   #1
2Xtreme21
Diamond Member
 
2Xtreme21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 7,045
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800 (nu/le/gs)

**Update**
- (4/11/06) Image hosting back online. Thanks RockHydra for the temporary space!

- HEAT ISSUES (3/10/06) I figured out why many of you are reporting heat increases. The latest versions of RivaTuner enabled the capability to slow down your GPU fan... unfortunately it defaults to "53%" on each: 2d, low 3d, and intense 3d. So if you guys are seeing heat increases, navigate to here and up the sliders to 100%. Your heat issue should go away.

- (1/17/06) This procedure can be followed for the unlocking of the pipes on a 6800GS, in addition to a 6800nu and 6800le.

- Changes made to reflect newest build of RivaTuner (16)

- 2nd method for unlocking pipes if this method is unsuccessful added. See bottom of this post.

VERSION 15.6 AND UP ENABLES 64-BIT USERS TO BENEFIT FROM THIS UNLOCKING

So you've been surfing these forums and everyone who has a 6800 seems to have theirs "unlocked" and you see that the performance benefit of unlocking is pretty good. You search and search for HOURS trying to look up information on how to do it... but you're out of of luck in finding a walkthrough. So you download RivaTuner, you check the settings and you start clicking on buttons that you THINK will do it but then you get an error that says "This may screw up your computer and your card entirely." So you stop.. and you wonder what the heck to do.

Sound familiar? Well wonder no more. Here is my step-by-step guide on how to work with RivaTuner to unlock those pipelines and vertex processor to help you get that performance boost you've been looking for.

NOTE: This, to my knowledge, will NOT work with the NV41 (PCI-Express) version of the 6800. The NV40 (AGP 8x) is the only version able to unlock.

Step 1:
Obviously, download and install RivaTuner RC 16. This newest release candidate will unlock many cards that were previously unable to unlock with versions 15.2-15.8. Make sure you get this one. Install it, and then move on to Step 2.

Step 2:
When you first run RivaTuner, you will probably get an error message that says something about your drivers not being supported. Don't worry, your softmod will work (provided successful) regardless of your driver version. Hit OK, uncheck the box if you'd like, and you should get to the main menu screen... which will look something like this. Go ahead and move on to Step 3.

Step 3:
Alright, now that you're at the main menu, click on the little arrow beside the word customize (pic). This will open a menu to which you should click on the first one to the left (pic). This configures the Low Level System Settings. Once you're at the next menu, move on to Step 4.

Step 4:
Okay, so far so good. Next, navigate to the NVStrap tab. On it, toward the bottom, you will see a check box that says "Allow Enabling Hardware Masks." Go ahead and check it, and you should get a warning box like so. Go ahead and hit Yes. Step 5 time!

Step 5:
Once you hit OK in the warning box, click on the dropdown box beside "Active pixel/vertex units configuration" and select Custom (pic). The "Customize" box below it should then become available. Click that and a new window will appear (pic). Next step!

Step 6:
In the next menu is where you will actually enable your pipelines and vertex shader. What you're going to do is look underneath the "HW masked" column for those that say "yes." There should be 2 of them. On the far left side of the row in which they say "yes," click once to make a check mark appear. (pic of whole process). Go ahead and hit OK. Final step!

Step 7:
After checking the rows that were masked and hitting OK, it should take you back to the previous screen. It should now say "custom (16x1,6vp)" in the dropdown box. (pic). Hit OK and it should prompt you to restart (do so). After restarting, open up RivaTuner again and your menu should now look like so.

Congratulations! You've now successfully enabled 4 more pipes and 1 more vertex processor on your 6800.

This doesn't however, guarantee they work properly. Run some graphics-intensive programs and look for artifacts. If there are, indeed, artifacts or any other corruption, just go back to the NVStrap tab and change the dropdown box back to "Determined by VGA BIOS." That will bring you back to normal.

Most, however, have reported that if there were artifacts, you could usually lock back just the pipes and keep the vertex shader open and the artifacts will go away. If you'd like to try that, simply uncheck the pipe (labelled Pixel Unit x in the customize screen) and don't uncheck the Vertex Unit.

Much luck to you all!

Quote:
Originally posted by: imhungry
http://www.ocia.net/articles/6800/page4.shtml

Another way to unlock the extra pipelines even if there IS artifacting with extra pipelines. Increases your chances I guess.
2Xtreme21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 10:01 PM   #2
Formerly Radeon Guy
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Good Job :beer:
Formerly Radeon Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 10:11 PM   #3
Poop Shoe
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 54
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

If, after unlocking the final 4 pixel pipelines and restarting, all I get is a black screen with mouse cursor on it, do I assume that the 4 pipelines are non-functional? Or is there something else wrong, or that I can do?
I have the vertex shader unlocked, but if I unlock the pixel pipe lines, all I get when I restart is a blank screen.
Thanks
Poop Shoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 10:11 PM   #4
Gamingphreek
Lifer
 
Gamingphreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 11,666
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Excellent Job!

Sticky anyone?

-Kevin
__________________
"And 'lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age." -Matthew 28:20

Proud to be a Hokie :: neVer forgeT 4/16/07
Gamingphreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 10:25 PM   #5
Cdubneeddeal
Diamond Member
 
Cdubneeddeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 7,472
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Nice..but different for me. Pipes were good but the last shader would cause video curruption when overclocked and using any other drivers other than the 66.93's. I simply kept the pipes open but locked the shader. Now i'm able to OC. Almost 11k in 3dmark2k3.
__________________
Like Buttah
Cdubneeddeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 10:45 PM   #6
ELopes580
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,809
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

I vote for sticky.


Excellent Post!!!!
__________________
Heatware
ELopes580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 11:59 PM   #7
Machine350
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 537
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

I've got a question. I know doing this will void the warranty, but is there a risk of damaging the card? It's not really like overclocking where you can go up in small increments and monitor temps to avoid damage. It's on or off.
Machine350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 01:13 AM   #8
zakee00
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,949
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

no, no risk of damage as far as i know. if it fails, then u will just get artifacts in games and u can just quit out and turn the pipes off.
vote for sticky
zakee00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 02:27 PM   #9
2Xtreme21
Diamond Member
 
2Xtreme21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 7,045
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Quote:
Originally posted by: Machine350
I've got a question. I know doing this will void the warranty, but is there a risk of damaging the card? It's not really like overclocking where you can go up in small increments and monitor temps to avoid damage. It's on or off.
There is risk of it damaging your card, but the chances are slim to none. But props to Unwinder for covering his butt with the warning dialogs.

Quote:
Originally posted by: Poop Shoe
If, after unlocking the final 4 pixel pipelines and restarting, all I get is a black screen with mouse cursor on it, do I assume that the 4 pipelines are non-functional? Or is there something else wrong, or that I can do?
I have the vertex shader unlocked, but if I unlock the pixel pipe lines, all I get when I restart is a blank screen.
Thanks
Try another driver before assuming the pipes don't work. Though, that's odd. Usually if the pipes don't work there will be minor to significant artifacting and that's it.
2Xtreme21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 07:57 PM   #10
2Xtreme21
Diamond Member
 
2Xtreme21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 7,045
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

ttt
2Xtreme21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 08:25 PM   #11
Poop Shoe
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 54
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

[/quote]

Try another driver before assuming the pipes don't work. Though, that's odd. Usually if the pipes don't work there will be minor to significant artifacting and that's it.[/quote]

2Xtreme21,
Thanks for the reply. That is what I though too. If my pipelines weren't going to work, I would just get artifacts, but with the pipeline enabled I get a black screen at the start of windows and then the mouse cursor appears, but doesn't really move. I have to use system restore to go back before I switched the pipes on. I have tried 2 sets of drivers, the current 67.03 and 66.93. It didn't work with either driver set and I have tried the latest 2 versions of rivatuner.
Anyone else have any ideas?
Thanks,
Shoe
Poop Shoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 08:27 PM   #12
zakee00
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,949
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

MAKE THIS A STICKY DAMMIT jm, it would be nice though
zakee00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 08:35 PM   #13
Poop Shoe
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 54
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Yeah, another vote for stick!
Poop Shoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 06:31 AM   #14
2Xtreme21
Diamond Member
 
2Xtreme21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 7,045
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Thanks for the votes, guys.

Poop, the only thing I can think of that's causing it is the open pipes. If they work without them open, then the only logical explanation would be that the pipes are damaged and are causing this extreme corruption.

I'm glad you still got your Vertex Shader open, however.
2Xtreme21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 09:04 AM   #15
zakee00
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,949
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

S-T-I-C-K-Y+B-U-M-P=
zakee00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 09:17 AM   #16
Stack
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 34
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Sweet. Very nice write up. This is exactly what I was looking for. I would like to try this on my wife's 6800nu.
__________________
Stack
Stack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 10:51 AM   #17
OlDirtyRestaurant
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 25
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Great Job! I just got a 6800oc from Best Buy and am going to give rivatuner a shot tonite. My question, though, why would softmodding void a warranty? Doesn't it just affect performance at driver level, and if you were to take the softmodded card and plug it directly into a different computer wouldn't it show stock settings? I would really like to know this as BFG has a sweet lifetime warranty and I'd be pretty upset if I were to void that sucka.
OlDirtyRestaurant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 11:18 AM   #18
Gagabiji
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,460
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

STICKY STICKY STICKY!! BTW, excellent job on the guide. I might be using it quite soon.
Gagabiji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 11:23 AM   #19
Hikari
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 530
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

It isn't like they can tell you unlocked your pipes unless you do something really dumb like flash the BIOS. hehe
__________________
??????
Hikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 01:33 PM   #20
Machine350
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 537
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Excellent post 2Xtreme. Thank you so much for the guide and the quick reply on my question.
Machine350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 02:07 PM   #21
InlineFive
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 9,599
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Thanks for the useful guide!
__________________
:sun: & nbsp ; :sun:
InlineFive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 06:17 PM   #22
ShrikeAK
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 81
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Excellent post. Many thanks!

Unlocked my eVGA 6800 NU 128-A8-N343-DX with no problems.
ShrikeAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 03:32 PM   #23
CaptainY
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 14
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Hi, I was planning on buying a geforce 6800nu and unlocking the pipelines. However, I don't know which brand to buy, newegg has a Rosewill 6800 at $249, that's the cheapest, but I don't know how the quality of the card is. If anyone who has successfully unlocked their 6800 can tell me what brand you used and what drivers you used, that would be greatly appreciated.

CaptainY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 04:03 PM   #24
Cdubneeddeal
Diamond Member
 
Cdubneeddeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 7,472
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Quote:
Originally posted by: CaptainY
Hi, I was planning on buying a geforce 6800nu and unlocking the pipelines. However, I don't know which brand to buy, newegg has a Rosewill 6800 at $249, that's the cheapest, but I don't know how the quality of the card is. If anyone who has successfully unlocked their 6800 can tell me what brand you used and what drivers you used, that would be greatly appreciated.
BFG 6800oc here. Unlocked the pipes but the last shader unlocked would cause artifacts while overclocked. So I simply get the last shader masked and overclocked with the pipes open. Runs great and fast.
__________________
Like Buttah
Cdubneeddeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 04:32 PM   #25
2Xtreme21
Diamond Member
 
2Xtreme21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 7,045
Default How to unlock Pipelines and Vertex Shader on a 6800nu

Mine's eVGA, though any card using the NV40 core is able to be possibly unlocked. So your Rosewill should be good!
2Xtreme21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.