Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Highly Technical

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2004, 04:48 PM   #1
Bulldozer2003
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 93
Default Can you put voltage regulators in parallel?

I have a bunch of 1.5A rated LM317 positive voltage regulators. If I want to provide more than 1.5A, can I put two in parallel to provide up to 3A? Do i need any diodes or anything on them to do this?

Thanks
Bulldozer2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 05:59 PM   #2
FrankSchwab
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 212
Default Can you put voltage regulators in parallel?

see Page 20 for an example circuit. Not as simple as you might have hoped. It's just not clear to me how to do the feedback necessary for voltage regulation with multiple LM317's.

You might check some of the earlier pages of the PDF; they show how to do higher currents with parallelled high-power transistors doing the driving.

/frank


FrankSchwab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 11:49 PM   #3
PottedMeat
Lifer
 
PottedMeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,540
Default Can you put voltage regulators in parallel?

the more current you draw out of the regulator the more power is wasted, especially when youre close to its limit - youre gonna need a kinda beefy heatsink.

and as frank said take a look at the circuits with the pass through transistor to handle high currents
PottedMeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 11:51 AM   #4
harrkev
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 658
Default Can you put voltage regulators in parallel?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Bulldozer2003
I have a bunch of 1.5A rated LM317 positive voltage regulators. If I want to provide more than 1.5A, can I put two in parallel to provide up to 3A? Do i need any diodes or anything on them to do this?
Thanks

Yes, and no.

The problem comes in when one wants to supply, say, 8.03V, and the other wants to supply 8.05V. The 8.03V one will do most of the work and then overheat and shut off. So simply hooking them up in parallel is not really a good idea.

But there may be a way around this. I would try the following (just as an experiment)

1) Put a small series resistor on the output pin of each regulator. One ohm or so should be OK. Just makse sure the resistors can handle the power.
2) After the 1-ohm resistor, tie the outputs together.
3) Give each voltage regulator its own feedback circuitry, but put an adjustable resistor (potentiometer) in each pack.
4) Crank up the amps with a load of some sort, and adjust so that each regulator drives the same current.

It still might not work, but this stands a chance of working.
__________________
My wife's business: Enhancing married romance.
May be very slightly NSFW.
harrkev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 04:23 PM   #5
Jeffyboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 276
Default Can you put voltage regulators in parallel?

You could use an LM350 which supplies 3A up to 33V or so.
But then again, if you already got a pile of LM317's...yes, run them in parallel.
Jeffyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 08:18 PM   #6
davesaudio
Senior Member
 
davesaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 350
Default Can you put voltage regulators in parallel?

in practice , it does seem to work , have seen numerous examples
however
I would do the series pass (pg16) or the switching configuration

__________________
TSCENTER:"The good thing about being older is that you've been around to see more stuff. The bad thing is that you can't friggin remember all the particulars."

davesaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.