Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > The Garage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2008, 03:49 PM   #1
SoulAssassin
Diamond Member
 
SoulAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 6,140
Default Viper car alarm - how to mute/lower volume on 2way remote?

So I have a Viper 771XV on my Wrangler....remote start, motion sensors, etc etc....anyways....I get horrible range on the 2way remote (1,000ft my ass). Today I was standing at the window at work looking at my car about 100ft away and it won't start. Every time you try to start it the remote makes a rather shrieking beeping noise to say that it didn't start. It gets annoying rather quickly to the people around including me.

Anyone know of a way to lower the volume or even mute the 2way remote? Asked my friend google with no good results.
__________________
Mundus vult decipi decipiatur ergo.

If you value your digital rights, please consider donating to the EFF.

SoulAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 05:51 PM   #2
fbrdphreak
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 17,549
Default Viper car alarm - how to mute/lower volume on 2way remote?

Well the manual would be your best bet, but I don't recall there being an option for that. You can set one of two loudness levels for the speaker in the car itself, but not the remote AFAIK.
__________________
My old ride | My new ride | I am one of the few, proud Xbox One owners.
fbrdphreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 11:01 PM   #3
MovingTarget
Diamond Member
 
MovingTarget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,505
Default Viper car alarm - how to mute/lower volume on 2way remote?

I don't have a 2-way remote, but do have a Viper system in my car. IIRC, their site has all the manuals available in pdf form for download. You might want to try that.
__________________
Insert signature here.
MovingTarget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 02:35 PM   #4
Homer Simpson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 581
Default Viper car alarm - how to mute/lower volume on 2way remote?

i thought the remotes could beep or vibrate. i leave mine to beep. doesnt bother me. i would check the manual or stop by your installer and ask them.

as for the range, did the installer put the receiver antennae up on the windshield or did he leave it burried in the dash somewhere. i have a 2-way in 2 different cars. one has it on the windshield where its supposed to be, the other is in the dash, who knows where. needless to say, the one hidden away has terrible range compared to the other.
__________________
Intel 4930K @ 4.4 | Asus Rampage IV Black Edition X79 | Gigabyte 780Ti 3GB SLI | Crucial Ballistix 16GB @1866 | Samsung 840 Pro 512GB | 2x WD Black 1TB RAID0 | Corsair AX1200i | Coolermaster HAF XB | BenQ BL2710 1440p
Intel 3770K @ 4.6 | Asus Maximus V Formula Z77 | Zotac 670 4GB SLI | Samsung 16GB @1866 | 2x Samsung 840 Evo 256 RAID0 | Corsair HX750 | Coolermaster HAF XB | BenQ BL2710 1440p
Heatware
Homer Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 03:19 PM   #5
HiTek21
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4,391
Default Viper car alarm - how to mute/lower volume on 2way remote?

I have a clifford matrix 50.5x 2 way page LCD (all made by directed), theres a programming button the back. Hold it down for 5 seconds to enter programming mode and press the lock button to switch between alert and vibrate mode. You can also hold down the 4 buttons on the remote for 5 seconds to enter programming mode (one long beep will be heard when it goes into programming mode). Press the Lock button to switch mode, once its done leave the remote idle for a few seconds to exit programming mode.

Your remote may or may not have vibrate mode so it'll either go to silent mode with LED alerts or vibrate.
HiTek21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.